We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Holiday”
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Florida
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Just back from a fantastic holiday in Alghlero and stayed at this hotel. We had a fabulous time. Yes the hotel is a bit dated decor wise but more than makes up for this with service. Rooms cleaned and towels changed daily. Breakfast was good - a little repetitive but fresh and the coffee was great. The pool area is spotless and very relaxing. Plenty of sun chairs for everyone. You can hire a beach towel for 3 euro but you are charged 3 euro every time you want to change it. The location is great-straight across the road from the beach. Sunbeds and umbrellas on beach range from €8-€12 euro so you could sunbathe by the pool and go for a swim in the sea no problem if you didn't want to pay for sunbeds.. There is a cocktail bar opposite which is a great spot-especially to watch the evening sun go down. Spectacular sunsets! All restaurants were great but La Romani in the Old Town was extra special. The Suckling Pig and Risotto were delicious. 15 minute walk to Old Town but you could hire a bike and go a little bit further on for great views and scenery. Average glass of wine and bottle beer 3 euro each. Most restaurants do Vino del Casa for 5 euro half litre. I've seen great reviews for OK Pizza but it is very difficult to find and yes the Pizzas were good but not worth the effort of finding it. 30 minute walk from hotel and all restaurants serve great Pizzas. Buses to Airport are 1.50 if you pay on the bus or 1 euro if you purchase ticket at a Tobacco shop. They are hourly on the half hour. Would highly recommend holiday here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PollyM20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was a perfect option for a relaxing beach break, despite it being very dated in terms of decor. The location is great (i.e. right opposite the beach), the staff were super friendly and helpful, rooms large and spotless, breakfast fresh and good and overall a very solid option. Advice for fellow travellers is that the airport bus (costing 1 Euro each) is really easy; the cocktail bar opposite is lovely; the loungers opposite are great (12 Euros for 2 for the day, and you can hire a towel for your stay for 3 Euros from the hotel, bargain) and the stroll into town is easy. We went to The Kings restaurant which we loved. We also went to Sa Mandra which we loved (such a lot of food!). We also did a day trip out on a boat run by marine biologists who study dolphins (we were lucky and saw 2 pods). So, a great idea for a half day. Only drawbacks are the limited lunch options (we were too lazy to walk much and the options at the beach bars were limited to panini and toasties etc, so nothing fresh, not even fruit). There are also a lot of hawkers who were friendly enough but you could (on the quieter days) find it a little much. We would certainly recommend

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Putney_resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Great location. Rooms are clean and quiet, get a sea view. Staff were helpful. Pool is clean and has plenty of sun loungers. Breakfast was good. Good bar opposite. If you are planning to stay for more than a couple of days then hire a car as there are some great beaches near by.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swilkie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We travelled as a family - parents and 2 daughters in their 20s - to this great hotel. Immaculately clean hotel and pool. Pool was a good size and temperature with a separate pool for children and there were always sunloungers available. The beach across the road is good and there are other beaches within a short walk.
Rooms were fine with excellent power showers. Would agree with others that the air conditioners could do with upgrading as they are noisy but I am sure the hotel is aware of this.
Breakfast was more than adequate and there is an excellent coffee machine now. You have to choose your evening meal at breakfast and if you like fish and pasta you will be happy.
The staff in the hotel were absolutely brilliant and always happy to help.
Alghero is a reasonably short stroll away and is a lovely old town with cobbled streets, a marina, fantastic restaurants and plenty of shops. There are also many pizza restaurants and bars en route from the hotel to the town.
All in all we had an excellent, relaxing holiday and could not fault the hotel in any way. Would definitely like to return.

Room Tip: well worth upgrading to a sea view - fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yourshopefully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We spent 7 nights here. Great location on the beach and within 15 minutes walk to old town.
Rooms were very clean and were well supplied with towels. Breakfast was self service with a very good choice every day with beautiful views of the beach and sea. Nice pool with plenty of sunbeds.
Only negative is that wifi is only available in reception area and their is a small fee

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandCWmeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay here.Nice clean rooms with a/c, staff very friendly and helpful. Good pool with loads of recliners. Great location very close to the beach, but only a short walk to the old town.
Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoharisson96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

we spent 6 nights in the hotel and had a great time.the rooms are nice with a great power shower. they all have balconys but the view from my room was a car park.the hotel is in a fantastic location the beach is only ten steps from miles of beach.and has a great pool with lots of sun beds. the walk to the town from the hotel was a nice 20 min along the beach promenade.we did not need a taxi again until we went to airport there is a great cocktail bar across the road at the beach that opened late .we went half board and the breakfast was a buffet and very good with great coffee..the dinner was not as good.we had great food only one night (there was a festival on ) and an extra effort was made.another thing about the dinner was they do not serve tea or coffee after dinner which i found very strange.it would have been ok if they even charged for coffee or tea but we were told no coffee at dinner.the staff in the hotel and the restaurant were fantastic and could not do enough for you.

Room Tip: choose rooms in the front with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saltyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,095 reviews
6.2 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#5 of 49 in Alghero
994 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
901 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#10 of 49 in Alghero
697 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Soleado
Hotel Soleado
#30 of 49 in Alghero
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Address: Via Lido 15, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: £93 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florida 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Alghero
Hotel Florida Alghero, Sardinia
Hotel Florida Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing