We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel”
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Florida
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great location ,weather hot everyday .Lovely clean beach and promenade which is a nice walk into the old town on a night ,people are so friendly although a lot don't speak English.
Hotel was clean ,food very nice and varied .
Lovely pool area and always sun beds available .
Bar at hotel was quiet but a trendy bar right opposite which is great

Would definitely return again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    184
    81
    25
    9
See reviews for
56
239
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I am currently staying at Floridacasavacanze in Alghero, Sardinia. The apartment is clean and comfortable, not luxurious but adequate for our requirements. Alghero is a fantastic place to visit: vibrant, interesting; the old town is steeped in history and so much to do in the local area. The hotel reception staff have been fantastic as my travelling companions who had booked another apartment had to change plans/dates at the last minute, due to unfortunate family circumstances. Florida hotel and apartments were able to accommodate the changes and very kindly waived any additional fees. This was very generous at such short notice. If you want to explore this amazing part of the world, I would recommend this accommodation unreservedly. The pool is beautiful, all staff have been excellent, speak good English and make you feel very welcome. I have travelled extensively and find this is a really unique place to visit. Totally recommend it. Enjoy yourselves!!

Room Tip: Do yourself a favour and try this accommodation at Hotel Florida or Floridacasavacanze apartments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Florida for a week from 21st Sept. It was our first time in Alghero and our expectations were surpassed in almost every respect. Firstly, the weather: 28c and blue skies every day. The hotel was great value and spotless with a comfortable room, nice pool with loads of sunbeds, good breakfast and friendly and helpful staff. People have said it's a little dated but this misses the point - it's very homely so if you're looking for room service, ice machines and business facilities then go somewhere else! The location was fantastic just across the road from a sandy beach and a promenade bar called Bar Maracaibo that had a great vibe with sofas, cool music, great cocktails and fantastic views of the sunsets. The Old Town was a 20 minute stroll past the marina and a hidden gem, think Dubrovnik without the cruise ships or a more relaxed Sorrento. It was great to explore the ramparts and back streets and discover some nice restaurants. Best for pizza was Casablanca and we liked Mirador for fish. We had a car and visited Bosa and Sassari, again good to explore. The beaches in Alghero were nice but the best we found was Mugoni, around 15 mins away beyond Fertilia, fringed by pine tress and in a bay with beautifully clear water. We had a great time and only had one small complaint that 10euros per day in the hotel car park was a lilttle steep but there was free parking around. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Sea views at the front are great but those at the back are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Just back from a fantastic holiday in Alghlero and stayed at this hotel. We had a fabulous time. Yes the hotel is a bit dated decor wise but more than makes up for this with service. Rooms cleaned and towels changed daily. Breakfast was good - a little repetitive but fresh and the coffee was great. The pool area is spotless and very relaxing. Plenty of sun chairs for everyone. You can hire a beach towel for 3 euro but you are charged 3 euro every time you want to change it. The location is great-straight across the road from the beach. Sunbeds and umbrellas on beach range from €8-€12 euro so you could sunbathe by the pool and go for a swim in the sea no problem if you didn't want to pay for sunbeds.. There is a cocktail bar opposite which is a great spot-especially to watch the evening sun go down. Spectacular sunsets! All restaurants were great but La Romani in the Old Town was extra special. The Suckling Pig and Risotto were delicious. 15 minute walk to Old Town but you could hire a bike and go a little bit further on for great views and scenery. Average glass of wine and bottle beer 3 euro each. Most restaurants do Vino del Casa for 5 euro half litre. I've seen great reviews for OK Pizza but it is very difficult to find and yes the Pizzas were good but not worth the effort of finding it. 30 minute walk from hotel and all restaurants serve great Pizzas. Buses to Airport are 1.50 if you pay on the bus or 1 euro if you purchase ticket at a Tobacco shop. They are hourly on the half hour. Would highly recommend holiday here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PollyM20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was a perfect option for a relaxing beach break, despite it being very dated in terms of decor. The location is great (i.e. right opposite the beach), the staff were super friendly and helpful, rooms large and spotless, breakfast fresh and good and overall a very solid option. Advice for fellow travellers is that the airport bus (costing 1 Euro each) is really easy; the cocktail bar opposite is lovely; the loungers opposite are great (12 Euros for 2 for the day, and you can hire a towel for your stay for 3 Euros from the hotel, bargain) and the stroll into town is easy. We went to The Kings restaurant which we loved. We also went to Sa Mandra which we loved (such a lot of food!). We also did a day trip out on a boat run by marine biologists who study dolphins (we were lucky and saw 2 pods). So, a great idea for a half day. Only drawbacks are the limited lunch options (we were too lazy to walk much and the options at the beach bars were limited to panini and toasties etc, so nothing fresh, not even fruit). There are also a lot of hawkers who were friendly enough but you could (on the quieter days) find it a little much. We would certainly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Putney_resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Great location. Rooms are clean and quiet, get a sea view. Staff were helpful. Pool is clean and has plenty of sun loungers. Breakfast was good. Good bar opposite. If you are planning to stay for more than a couple of days then hire a car as there are some great beaches near by.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swilkie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We travelled as a family - parents and 2 daughters in their 20s - to this great hotel. Immaculately clean hotel and pool. Pool was a good size and temperature with a separate pool for children and there were always sunloungers available. The beach across the road is good and there are other beaches within a short walk.
Rooms were fine with excellent power showers. Would agree with others that the air conditioners could do with upgrading as they are noisy but I am sure the hotel is aware of this.
Breakfast was more than adequate and there is an excellent coffee machine now. You have to choose your evening meal at breakfast and if you like fish and pasta you will be happy.
The staff in the hotel were absolutely brilliant and always happy to help.
Alghero is a reasonably short stroll away and is a lovely old town with cobbled streets, a marina, fantastic restaurants and plenty of shops. There are also many pizza restaurants and bars en route from the hotel to the town.
All in all we had an excellent, relaxing holiday and could not fault the hotel in any way. Would definitely like to return.

Room Tip: well worth upgrading to a sea view - fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yourshopefully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#18 of 49 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#4 of 49 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#9 of 49 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#5 of 49 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#2 of 49 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Property: Hotel Florida
Address: Via Lido 15, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florida 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Alghero
Hotel Florida Alghero, Sardinia
Hotel Florida Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing