We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay - clean rooms and good location”
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Florida
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay - clean rooms and good location”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed here for a week with my girlfriend. The hotel is across the road from the beach and about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Alghero. For us this location was perfect.

The hotel has a private car park with space for I think 11 cars. You need to book in advance and pay 10e per day.

The rooms were clean. There is a free safety deposit box. The rooms were cleaned daily. There was no fridge or tea/coffee making facility.

There is a fair sized pool out the front of the hotel with plenty of chairs and sun loungers which are free to use. There was never an issue with the area being too crowded. I would imagine that a fair proportion of guests go across the road to the beach.

There was wifi available in the lobby for free. This didn't extend to the rooms.

Staff were friendly and helpful. There is a bar open until midnight every day.

The one downside was breakfast which I wasn't mad on. The coffee in particular was terrible. We got around this by getting coffee at the café just down the road.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rovingrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    184
    81
    25
    9
See reviews for
56
239
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Florida Hotel. It started well - we had an early flight so arrived at the hotel at 10.30am, and our room was ready. By the time we had settled in and unpacked it was 11am, and when we went down to the pool, there were still sunbeds available, which was a bonus. The hotel is situated across the road from the main beach. Sunbeds on the beach cost around 10-14 Euros a day (for 2 sunbeds and a parasol), so we stayed by the pool, and when we wanted a dip, we just wandered across the road and into the sea!
The food was good - 4 courses for dinner - a starter from a good selection of cold food on the buffet table, then a pasta dish, then a meat/fish dish and dessert. We never left feeling hungry! There wasn't a big choice of dishes and you had to chose your dinner at breakfast, but this was not a problem for us. There was always something on the menu that we liked. The service in the restaurant was impeccable. The wine list was not extensive, but supported locally produced wine.
Our room was great, we did pay extra for a sea view, but it was worth it.
The location of the hotel was a plus - it was a 15minute stroll into Alghero Old Town which was a great place to wander round in the evening. There was a lovely cocktail bar opposite the hotel which was buzzing in the evening. However, once you closed your balcony door, there was no noise from the bar. The room had air conditioning, so there was no need to leave windows open.
We were made to feel welcome and all the staff were always helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redhill
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

With the good reviews we felt 136 euros a night would be good value. On the plus side, we found this hotel to be very convenient for both the lovely beach area across the road, and Alghero town. The room was perfectly clean, and adequate for a night's sleep. Great to have insect net over window so could have open, and hear the sea at night. Nice shower room. Air con fine. Great views over Alghero towards the South East, however our view was restricted towards the South West. Arriving in the late afternoon, the room seemed slightly small, and quite dark.The pictures should help explain. Strangely, our bed cover was removed after the first night, so left with a single white sheet. The terrace was a little grim, slightly small, but fine in the morning sun. The plastic chairs were not conducive to sunbathing on the terrace, and too small for a table. Staff were perfectly friendly. Wifi only worked in the reception area. Breakfast was clearly on a budget, somewhat unimaginative, typically canned fruit, long life juice, cereals, meat, egg, and cheese, cheap white bread/jam; cakes etc. No salad/beans/mushrooms. If you are avoiding meat, eggs, dairy it was inadequate, although probably similar elsewhere. The next day, the menu was exactly the same. For us, it was somewhere to sleep, and handy for the amenities, but was pricey for what we had. We subsequently moved on and paid 84euros/nt at a lovely B&B with a room twice the size! Sardinia is an exceptional destination for amazing beaches and coastline, relaxed atmosphere, culture, and much more. Great if you like pizza too, but apart from meat and fish, pizza and pasta is often the only alternative.

Room Tip: Ask for a good seaview room, with a nice terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summersunshine48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Florida. A nice small hotel, very clean. Nice pool area and just across the road to the beach. The only thing we found that let it down was the main evening meal, we thought it was below average. We don't normally go half board, but there was no bed and breakfast option. The breakfast was good as was the starters and sweets in evening. We're not fussy eaters but the main course was either bland, over cooked, never hot, no sauces so just dry meat. Very unappetising. Such a shame as we had no problem with anything else. But it was enough to make us want to eat out. So many lovely restaurants in the stunning old town. A good half hour walk, but a lovely walk along the promenade. Mind you they are all quite expensive. We haven't holidayed in Europe for a while so maybe we are a bit out of touch. The hotel I would recommend for sure if you can get a deal where you just have breakfast. You maybe how to do this if you do it independently and not through a holiday company. We paid extra for a sea view and it was lovely. You have to pay for sun beds on beach. The nearer the sea the dearer they are. We walked to the San Marco hotel, another thomson hotel just few minutes to the right from hotel. And booked there beds they were the cheapest. 8 euros for two beds and a brolly but in middle. 10-12 at front! Nice boat trip to caves from the harbour. Just paid on the day and got straight on boat. 15 each then 13 each to get in caves. You pay for that when you get there. But worth it. So all in all, a nice week. But expensive. Especially drinks and food and even more in the hotel!.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank leanneEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed for one week in June. Alghero a lovely resort and this hotel is right on the beach with an easy walk into town. Pool area, rooms and restaurant all fine and staff very friendly. Evening meals food portions a little on the small side but otherwise fine.
A good hotel - would recommend to others

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leixlip, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have just returned home from a one week stay in Hotel Florida, Alghero. I stayed here with my best friend. This is simply a fantastic hotel, a solid 3 star. Rooms are spotless, we requested a sea view as it was our first time in Sardinia. We walked into the room and opened the blinds and we had the most perfect sea view. The breakfast is delicious with a fantastic variety of things, cereals, fruits, breads, bacon/eggs, juices/water, delicious cakes/ fresh croissants, tea/coffee.

The location of the hotel is perfect, walk-able distance to the old town of Alghero. Lido beach is across the road from the hotel. It's a lovely, clean beach with beautiful views, perfect for a swim. The hotel pool is also perfect but we chose to swim in the sea across the road daily due to how close it was to the hotel. A local man told me he swims there daily with his child and that the water is perfect. We booked an excursion out to Spiaggia Della Pelosa in Stintino. It was the most beautiful beach I have even seen in my life, pure paradise, white sands with crystal clear water. The hotel kindly booked this trip for us and it's only an hour away from Alghero, I would highly recommend booking this trip. The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful, really friendly and genuinely interested in talking to us and making our stay enjoyable. The rooms were cleaned daily, beds made, fresh towels and the house keeping staff don't normally do this until about 11 30am/12pm which I feel is a very decent time for guests.

I lost my credit card on the morning of check out and I would like to thank the lady at reception for her kindness, she even offered to help me look for it in the room. I found it of course in my suitcase when I returned home, typical! ;) I will definitely be recommending this hotel to family and friends and hope to return next year. I completely fell in love with the place and the people. Alghero is magical. I would like to thank all the hotel staff at Hotel Florida for making our holiday a relaxing and enjoyable one, hope to see you all soon! :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pennylanelibra84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I think it is expensive for what you get. Everything is just a little bit dated and old. The pool is not as nice as the photos.

The staff are really friendly, and very helpful.

Its not a bad hotel at all. location is very good, and overall its nice. clean - just not really amazing. I expected a little bit more.

our room overlooked the beach, but also the main road, so noisy at times.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xBiancax13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#18 of 49 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#4 of 49 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#9 of 49 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#5 of 49 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#2 of 49 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Property: Hotel Florida
Address: Via Lido 15, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florida 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Alghero
Hotel Florida Alghero, Sardinia
Hotel Florida Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing