We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,Good location and helpful staff. Excellent!”
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Florida
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We travelled with Thompson, who were on the whole very good and organised. The hotel Florida is situated a 30sec walk from the beach, just be careful crossing the road as zebra crossings do not mean the same in Sardinia as they do in the UK.
The hotel is very very clean, reception staff are helpful with good English speaking staff. Our room was clean, especially the bathroom! There are no tea/coffee making facilities, but it was too hot to drink hot drinks, average temp was 30degrees, however the room air-conditioning was excellent, and free during our stay.
Bed was comfortable and changed every other day, the room had shutters to keep out the road noise (which was minimal) and the sun, our room had a balcony, and sea view which was excellent!.
The pool was wonderfully warm and clean, with a lifeguard on duty all days and closed at 7pm.
The food was good quality, breakfast was continental with some hot choices, and Dinner was 3 courses, mainly local dishes, fish,veg and pasta. the waiting staff were helpful and friendly.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Alghero.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank airman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2010

Ideal hotel for a family break central location just across the road from beach with bars and restaurants close by. The pool area was spotless with plenty of sunbeds and parasols laid back atmosphere, kiddies pool great size my boys had a fabulous time. A leisurely 15 minute walk along the promenade takes you to the old town with its abundance of restaurants, bars and shops.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pingu009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We stayed there for one night and would have liked to have stayed longer but the hotel was fully booked. Parking on the street was easy to find and free. Nice room with a balcony that had a fantastic view out across the bay. Decent bed, especially for Italy, and a very good breakfast. Pool area outside was nice, and this is one of the few budget hotels on the island that actually has a pool. The staff was helpful and friendly. When we back again with the kids in tow, this is where we'll want to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cicignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

I staied one night at the hotel Florida as I didn't want to do the long drive back to Cagliari in one day. My colleague booked a double room with seaview for allegedly a special offer of 75 Euros per night including breakfast! I wa surprised as although not peak season yet it seemed a relatively low rate for Sardinia so I was expectig something of low quality too. In fact I was surprised as the room was sacious and very clean and on top of that a nice balcony wih an incredible view over the city and Cape Caccia, really breathtaking! For breakfast I was expecting the usual high glucose-caffeine Italian fare but again I was surprised by the buffet and the good choice of hams, cheese, eggs, cereals..
If you managed to get the special Internet fare as my colleague did you are up for a bargain, grab it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnricoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

Hotel is a 20-minutes walk from the old city and just a few meters away from the beach, you just have to cross the road. The interior is nicely decorated and clean. Rooms are good and very quiet (we were on a room facing the rear side, not the seaside); they even have a small safe for your values. The hotel has an internal parking which is also protected by a gate. We have been very satisfied with this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErnestHemingway8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

The Florida is well located on the shore road. It is a 3* hotel and provides a good base to explore this lovely town. The pool is excellent and kept spotlessly clean. Good loungers and no difficulty getting one at any time of the day. The rooms are exceptionally clean and our shower was very spacious. The breakfast isn't an example of fine dining and does need to be extended with the inclusion of fresh fruit and a toaster.
I am amazed that people are actually complaining about this hotel. When they book they know that it is 3* and won't be luxurious. You pay a lot more for luxury in Sardinia. This is a busy working hotel with no pretensions and an excellent location. It has the best pool on the Lido road and the balconies give an interesting view of the locals strolling along the promenade at the weekend. It is professionally run and the staff do speak to you nicely if you treat them with respect. I would recommend this hotel for an inexpensive holiday in this beautiful resort.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAM52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We stayed at Florida for 3 nights and overall I was very disappointed with this hotel given the plethora of good reviews. This was a rare occasion when I've questioned the Trip Advisor reviews. On the positive side, the hotel is located very close to the airport and just a 15 minute walk to the old town. It's also across from the beach (although the beaches up the road are far nicer). The staff were friendly at times but the people running breakfast were miserable and got upset if you sat down at a table without being seated (there was nobody at the entrance area to seat people). The breakfast itself was very very poor. Bad coffee, cheese, ham and pastries. No fresh fruits. No variety in three days. The room we had for 3 nights was ok. Spacious, good shower, good a/c and a very comfortable bed. The room however was noisy as the sound from doors opening/closing on the corridors could be heard clearly. Despite numerous reviews saying the rooms were spotless, ours wasn't. We seemed to have a colony of insects every night, from where I don't know. Overall we were very disappointed with this hotel. A 2 star at best I'm afraid. Also note the early check out time and no safe areas for bags if you leave them for the day (they’re just put in a room near reception).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diarmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
706 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#11 of 49 in Alghero
697 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#7 of 49 in Alghero
891 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#21 of 49 in Alghero
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Address: Via Lido 15, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: £94 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florida 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Alghero
Hotel Florida Alghero, Sardinia
Hotel Florida Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing