We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3rd Year”
Review of Hotel Portoconte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Portoconte
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“3rd Year”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Our 3rd year going to PortoConte and we still love it! Cannot think of a better holiday with children. Everything is brilliant and the staff make our holiday so special. Our children love it, grandmother loves it and we love it!! We will be back next year for sure!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allegra936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelportoconte, Dott. James Lubrano Direttore at Hotel Portoconte, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Good Morning Faith,

we are very pleasured your stay here was very nice.

We will be always here to make your Holiday special.

Thank you for dedicating your time writing about Hotel Portoconte.

Say hello to all the family, see you next year.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    243
    63
    18
    12
See reviews for
356
147
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a week. The staff were extremely kind and helpfull in any ways. We enjoyed the food at the hotel, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Entertainment during the day and in the evening. Fitness instructors have classes in the garden during the day for families, very funny. The italian families staying at the hotel gives a good atmosphere, it is not only tourists coming to the place. There is also a nice and very clean swimmingpool. We had 2 rooms on the ground floor with seaview. Nice to sit outside on the little terrace. Bus near hotel to Alghero city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therese m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelportoconte, Dott. James Lubrano Direttore at Hotel Portoconte, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear therese,

Thank you for your nice review.

We make our best to make your stay special. The Bay of Porto Conte is a special place.

We have many years of experience, and you will find surely the same staff next year and the same clients that keep coming and visiting us (70 % returns back).

Thank you so much for staying at Hotel Portoconte

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is in a lovely location and is a good choice for families with young children. As adults with no children and elderly relatives with us, it was not a pleasant stay. The music was very loud and the entertainment was geared for very young children. My elderly relatives were unable to watch television in the television area because of the load music and loudspeakers. There are no communal areas where you can sit in the hotel for some peace and quiet and conversation. The noise reaches all the room balconies as well. The best feature of the hotel is the swimming pool but children are allowed to jump in and play ball games so you have to wait till they come out to have a good swim. The hotel had several people in wheelchairs but there is no lift to the dining room and the wheelchair has to come in via a fire exit which staff keep closed so people have to wait outside the door until someone in the restaurant lets them in. The reception staff told us the hotel was built in the 1970s and has not been updated for disabled facilities. The hotel food was adequate but not brilliant. Their pasta was freshly made and the best course on the menu. The meat was overcooked on the whole. I would rate this as a two star hotel not three star.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia_gold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spent 14 nights (13th-27th July 2014 ) at the hotel and we could not have been happier. We have a son aged 9 and a little toddler of 2 years so our requirements were a little diverse.
The beach is safe with clear water and beautiful white sand and with an abdundence of fish to see if snorkelling.
The entertainment crew were absoluley fantastic, led by Andrea they could not have been more enthusiastic, remembering all our names after the second day was very impressive.
The evening shows are exclusively in Italian but they are great fun anyway (even if you dont know whats going on as my italian is quite limited!!)
We went full board and did not regret it, food was really good. This is not a buffet !! You are served with a menu as if in a good resturant...Nando, Emanualle, Nives, Davide looked after us so well, we felt there was no need to go anywhere else !!! Nando in particular was brilliant with our 23 month old...at dinner time he would arrange a nice soup made up of the days menu specially for him...
There are activities for the children pretty much all the time. 2 groups, up to 10 years and from 10 years and on...my boy was very happy and made a couple of friends very quickly.
For adults there is Aqua Gym / Yoga/ and Zumba ...Jacobo looks after all this and is again very enthusiastic and professional.
Rooms are a little old fashioned but very clean. I would have liked a good English speaker within the entertainment team which would be a great help to us poor non italians !
PS...Take the 3 hour excursion with the team on the 7.5 metre rib. €90 for the 4 of us and you get to swim and snorkel in the most incredible spots only accessible by boat.
People we met here said they have coming coming down for a numbers of years....now I know why....
Are we gong back next year ?? ...You bet we are....It was great......
Well done and thank you to James and Alesandra and all the team at Hotel Porto Conte !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelportoconte, Dott. James Lubrano Direttore at Hotel Portoconte, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Hello Richard,

it was very nice getting to know your beautiful family.
Now you discovered our big family in Porto Conte, be sure that you will find every year the same quality, the same people, the same little Paradise........
I'm very happy you , your wife and kids enjoyed your stay here.
Thank you for the time spentmaking your review.

See you next year and say hello to all the family.

PS You are a great singer......................everybody was so impressed........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have stayed in this area a few times before and love it. This time we chose this hotel for a change. We expected to hire bikes and kayaks, as advertised. There was only a motley choice of bikes, two with flat tyres. Could not change height of seats. There were only two plastic kayaks and you could only go out for 40 minutes max. (We are experienced kayakers)
The hotel is very clean, lovely spot. Beautiful swimming pool. Beach a bit crowded. But the worse bit is the entertainment. On website it mentions salsa lessons and games but the only entertainment was for children till late every evening. We like kids, don't have a problem, but it was the volume of the music and the presenters loudspeaker system blaring out various times of the day and late evening that really got to us. Turn it down! Not everyone wants to hear it when trying to relax. Ole, ole, ole, hot, hot, hot. NOT

Room Tip: As far away from bar areas as possible, perhaps in the nearby hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portoconte, Direttore generale at Hotel Portoconte, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Good evening Diana,

thank you for the time spent in making your review on Hotel Portoconte.

For the future , i kindly suggest that if you have a problem with the hotel , to try and solve little problems, it's better to ask the reception.If you don't have informatios ask for it, we are here to serve you.
You could have noticed that at 9.45 in the morning we have Muscle toning, at 11 in the swimming pool water aerobics, and at 17 in our back gardens in front of the beach we have salsa or zumba lessons (it depends on what our clients suggest).From 10 o'clock in the morning we have free tennis courses for adults and for children, and many other things you have not noticed.
The entertainment program is exposed near the reception.
We have 7 bikes, if 2 are with flat tires , take the other ones.
Kayak is free for all, you did not hire it, and in order to make everybody happy we must put a limit time.
Ok we will put music down, when you will ask us to put it down here in the hotel, now i think it's to late.............
Thank you so much for your compliments on beach, pool.
Did not notice how you slept in our room or if you liked the food, or if the staff was kind, how the bar was.People give much more importance to these things, not to a flat tyre.

Kind regards from the fantastic bay of Porto Conte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We spent 9 nights in this hotel at the begining of July, 2014. It was our first stay. We are really happy that we choose this hotel for our summer holiday in Sardegna. Everything was perfect. Our room Junior Suite was enough big for 4 persons with small balcony. Very clean . The airconditioning wasn't very strong but for us was ok. The food at the restaurant was exellent. Everyday different menu with lots of choses. The hotel's staff was very helpfull and welcoming.
We will deffinatly come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelportoconte, Dott. James Lubrano Direttore at Hotel Portoconte, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Hello Vika,


thak you for the nice review on Hotel Portoconte.

The weather in July wasn't so good, it will be better next time.

We will be always here to make your stay here special.

See you next year

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mons, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very pleased with all aspects of the hotel,
pleasant staff, clean, peaceful location .
Excellent beach, there were 3 or 4 hawkers daily
but a simple no and they left you alone.
We took a 3 hr excursion on the 7.5m rib and was
well worth the €30 .
We also took the local bus into Alghero €2.50 return
from right outside the hotel and found the old walled
town enchanting and well worth a visit.
I may well return to this hotel in the future

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thomas p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portoconte, Direttore at Hotel Portoconte, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hy thomas , thank you for your review.

We are happy your stay was nice in Porto Conte.

As you have noticed many of our guests keep visiting our Hotel for many years.

We wish you will be one of them

Kind Regards

J. Lubrano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#9 of 49 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#11 of 49 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#5 of 49 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sa Cheya Relais
Sa Cheya Relais
#1 of 49 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#2 of 49 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portoconte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portoconte

Property: Hotel Portoconte
Address: Loc. Porto Conte, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Portoconte 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Portoconte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portoconte Hotel Alghero
Porto Conte
Hotel Porto Conte
Hotel Portoconte Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing