We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beautiful hotel with the great location”
Review of Alghero City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alghero City Hotel
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The hotel has the great location. It is ten minutes walk to the beach, ten minutes walk to the port and 15 minutes walk to the city center.
The hotel was very beautiful and clean with helpful staff. I have got singleroom with bathroom and the balcony. I had the balcony with the view behind the hotel, it is not so nice view like in front of the hotel, but the balcony is much more bigger.
For breakfast were mostly sweet pastries. There was only one type of ham or cheese and eggs.
There is the pizzeria in the hotel too, it is open only two hours in the evening, but the pizza was really very good.

There is a possibility to go to the "Grotte di Nettuno". You can buy the tickets in the port (the travel costs 15 € and the entrance to the cave 13 €). But it's worth it to see it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

By all means if you want to go to a hotel where the manager comes onto you ( who is never recheable or there at all during the day!!) the staff are incredibly rude as if it was in their nature, your room door left wide open during the day, being ripped off when you try to cancel one night in advance! the worst breakfast imaginable even if you are hungry that wont help you , no restaurant to speak of but honestly that must be a plus...then by all means go to this shameful excuse for a hotel.
sadly because of their location they always get tourists.. but PLEASE AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS!! it will just RUIN the otherwise lovely atmosphere in Alghero...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beep b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

we booked 2 nights in the Barcellona hotel in Algero Sardinia.

we have stayed at this hotel 3 or 4 times before. this time it was a disaster.

1 there was no remote for the TV (evidently someone had stolen it)
2 no air conditioning
3 the shower hose was broken therefore one could not shower
4 could not keep the window open because of the noise from the extractor next to the room terrace
5 no extractor fan in the bathroom so we got the smells from the other bathrooms
6 bathroom dirty not surprising and you could not wash the shower cubicle with the shower hose broken

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tre-gufi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

This hotel on a quiet street seemed like a good choice but the reviews about the spiky heels clicking above someone's room scared us away. But the hotel we wanted nearby was full (so much for off-season...) so we ended up staying here. And we were happy with our choice.
We were checked in by a very gracious, kind gentleman who appeared to be the manager/proprietor who ran a smooth ship. He worked much of the of time we were there.
The room was super clean, bright, simply-furnished.and mostly modern with a few nautical washes. Comfortable, big bed. Got the clikcing heels right away because the floors are tile (runners would help...) and it was daytime so weren't bothered by it. The bathroom was pretty good as well. But when the neighbors next door came back late from a rowdy night decided to use the shower, the pipes were loud. Old town, old building. Walls are thin.

Breakfast was the biggest we'd seen in all of our trip. Various pastries and breads, cold cuts, cheese, cereals, fruit, juice. And even a nice little automatic espresso machine. But they need to work on their coffee. I thought the Italians had that down....So considering how big the breakfast was and is included in the price of the room, (remember, a croissant and cappucino out can run 5-6 Euros), it was a great value of a place.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank finicky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

This hotel was the most dreadful I have ever stayed in. We were booked in B & B and we only had breakfast the first morning. The coffee was like tar, and there was very little to eat. Nobody spoke English and they treated us like something they stepped in. They didn't have a bar so you had to go out if you wanted drinks, food etc. The cleaner came in one morning and the only cleaning she did was to spray something from a bottle onto the loo and wipe it over.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Location
3  Thank Sarah9251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We turned up on spec in late September and were told that rooms were normally 98 euros but we could have them for 78 if we paid cash as it would be better for them and for us. Immediately set alarm bells ringing. We left the passports at reception so they could register us but when we asked for them back about 30 minutes later we were told they would not give them back until we had paid the cash. I insisted on getting them back as I was not comfortable leaving them - the reception desk had been unmanned when we had first arrived and there were other passports left out in full visibility - not at all secure. Later that night we gave them the cash but they refused to give us a receipt. All in all this made me feel vry uncomfortable about the place and would advise against it. Other than that, the room was ok, the bathroom too small and the breakfasts reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BexLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Although not all the reception staff spoke great English, they were all exceptionally friendly and cheerful. The reception is staffed 24 hours a day and the large restaurant where breakfast was served was always clean, well stocked and with a good selection of cereals, breads, cakes, fruit juices, including mineral water and teas and coffee. There were only processed ham and processed cheese but plenty of apples and preservatives for the bread. Alghero itself was wonderfully picturesque and the hotel's location was perfect, all flat and easy for walking, 5 minutes stroll took you to the gorgeous marina with a couple of minutes to the left leading to the long sandy stretch of beach and to the right the fantastic cobbled streets of the old town. Lots of top quality restaurants and cafes around all areas. Splendid views at night of the marina from many of the restaurants, albeit some were quite expensive with fresh fish sold by the weight which could end up with a hefty, unexpectedly high bill. We sometimes chose to dine at the outdoor cafes where we saw all the locals and young people dining - great value and fantastic selection. We took the boat trip (14 euros) to Neptune's caves, well worth going, Take good footwear so that you can climb inside, if you wish, but beware they charge another 12 euros for a guided tour inside the caves. It is worthwhile though if you are mobile and you spend about 45 minutes inside the mountain seeing the wonderful crystal formations and pools. The boat trip is about an hour there each way. Another trip we did easily was the bus into Sassari which took about 45 minutes and cost 11 euros return for both of us! Sassari is gorgeous but a lot bigger than Alghero, it also has it's own Old Town. Neolithic burial chambers are worth seeing too and are about 7 miles outside Alghero beside a dual carriageway with no buses on a Sunday. We had a taxi but were ripped off as it was booked by the hotel and cost 30 euros one way! Had we walked to the marina and got a local taxi it would have been about 10 euros. Not to worry, still a wonderful trip on a beautiful island and a perfectly located hotel. The maid service was exceptional with clean towels and bed linen daily. Of note, all the local people and young people in particular were friendly, well mannered and well behaved - nobody shouting or drunk and no apparent crime problem on the island. Even their driving is very curteous - everyone stops at the zebra corssings to let you safely cross. I hired a pedal cycle a few days and it only cost 4 euros per day - great way to see the full beach as the concrete promenade which runs alongside it has a seperate cycle area so very safe. Loved the holiday and hope you do too. We flew direct from Scotland but had to land at Olbia airport and hire a driver to take us the hour and half to Alghero - had we been able to get flying direct to Alghero the airport is only about 4 miles from the resort itself. Have fun!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BOBBYSPARKLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Piras
Hotel Villa Piras
#12 of 49 in Alghero
231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Soleado
Hotel Soleado
#29 of 49 in Alghero
358 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#25 of 49 in Alghero
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rina Hotel
Rina Hotel
#20 of 49 in Alghero
419 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Margherita
La Margherita
#46 of 49 in Alghero
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#14 of 49 in Alghero
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alghero City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alghero City Hotel

Address: Via Gallura 15, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: £55 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alghero City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-Star hotel located in a residential area in the heart of Alghero. Our hotel is the ideal choice for those who want to discover Alghero and seize everything that the city and its surrounding area can offer. The Alghero City Hotel is the perfect choice for the tourist visiting Alghero for the first time or for those who travel for business and have the opportunity to enjoy the charm, natural beauty, traditions of Sardinia, although they have little time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Alghero City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alghero City Hotel Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing