We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel close to everything.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alghero City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alghero City Hotel
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Alghero
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel close to everything.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed 5 nights in June and the Alghero City Hotel was an awesome place to stay. We took the bus from the airport and the bus stop was about a 5 min walk to the hotel. Old town also 5 min walk from hotel. Staff was extremely helpful and attentive, and the breakfast wasn't bad either. The room itself was nice and fit all 3 of us with a lot of room to spare. A big plus was free WiFi and the working A/C! If we ever find ourselves in Alghero again we would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTAworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    210
    151
    54
    28
See reviews for
79
254
25
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We are just back from a weeks holidays in this Hotel. It was in a perfect location for exploring Alghero. Short 15 main Taxi ride from Alghero Airport.Reception Staff very nice. Our room was on the third floor and was a good size with bathroom and balcony overlooking the street. Very clean. Free WiFi. TV. Hairdryer. Mini bar. Breakfast was lovely each morning. Very friendly guy presiding over same. Lots of tasty things to choose from - juices,cereal,fruit,yogurts,rolls,ham,cheese,eggs,toast,croissants and cakes.Nice tea and coffee.
Five minute walk to bus stop where you can take the local busses to visit neighbouring beaches or towns. Nicer beaches than in Alghero itself. Highly recommended. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have spent 3 night in February. The room was big enough and comfortable, bathroom cleaned every day. Reception staff was very helpful, one night we needed medical advice and receptionist help use to locate chemist and hospital, he offered a taxi as well. Hotel in good location to old town of Alghero with free car park nearby (3 min walk).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dariusz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here for the majority of my trip to Alghero. I went for cheap and convenient, and that's exactly what I got. Felt and looked clean, spacious for a single room, and convenient location to the center and port. I had an issue with two things: the outlet in the wall, I nearly took out the socket trying to take out my charger. Second, the noise at night. The walls are thin and if it wasn't the neighbors dogs, it was the couple next door (arguing, unfortunately, or fortunately?). If you're a light sleeper and value your sleep above all else, either opt for a room on the street, that may help, or look around. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for those on a budget or staying for a night or two. It was a good value for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoolishWagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We ended up here for 1 night when our flight home was cancelled and we were in urgent need of a place to sleep. We got a room in a building at the back of the hotel. The room was very big and nicely furbished but also dark since the shutters were closed for the heat and it smelled a bit dank. Also as it was on the ground floor, it didn't have a place to sit outside as the other rooms with a balcony did, but there was a big sitting area outside in front of the hotel.

Staff is very friendly, the hotel is good value for money and located within walking distance of the old city centre.

We ate a pizza in the deserted restaurant (which only serves pizza) and this was also nice, the waiter was very friendly for our 2 small childeren who were getting very tired at the time.

At night there was some noise which made it hard te get a good night sleep.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josiewitchgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

IVery good hotel. We had a lovely room. It is easy to park the car in the street. The hotel is situated near the historical city on walk. The only problem was the noises in the night from occupiants in another room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed for one night while touring the island. We found the hotel easily using the satnav, and found free parking on the road just a street away. Checkin was easy and the staff welcoming, telling us everything we needed to know including giving us a map of the area and pointing out areas of interest. We had a big room on the third floor at the back of the hotel, plenty of space for the two of us and very clean. It was a little noisy with the window open, but had no problem with the window closed overnight - it wasn't quite warm enough to have to use the air conditioning but it was available if required. There was a mini bar in the room with reasonable prices, but there was no safe. The beach is a 5 minute walk, as are the majority of restaurants and bars at reasonable prices. Breakfast was the standard selection of hams and cheeses, fruit, cereal, pastries etc and we had no problem finding something. We had a great stay in Alghero and would certainly recommend this hotel. This was one of our favourite areas of Sardinia and would certainly return without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5n0wy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#13 of 50 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#6 of 50 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#3 of 50 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#26 of 50 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Piras
Hotel Villa Piras
#19 of 50 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Margherita
La Margherita
#46 of 50 in Alghero
3.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alghero City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alghero City Hotel

Property: Alghero City Hotel
Address: Via Gallura 15, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alghero City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-Star hotel located in a residential area in the heart of Alghero. Our hotel is the ideal choice for those who want to discover Alghero and seize everything that the city and its surrounding area can offer. The Alghero City Hotel is the perfect choice for the tourist visiting Alghero for the first time or for those who travel for business and have the opportunity to enjoy the charm, natural beauty, traditions of Sardinia, although they have little time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alghero City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alghero City Hotel Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing