We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant & helpful staff”
Review of Alghero City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alghero City Hotel
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant & helpful staff”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just returned from a week long stay at Algero City Hotel. Good location as it presents 5-10 minute walk to the old town (centro storico) and a 5-10 minute walk to the beach. Staff were always helpful and spoke very good English. The rooms were fine, only negative was a bit noisy in the mornings.. Thin walls so other guests moving furniture etc was annoying. Rooms cleaned every day and a good power shower. Breakfast was good too with a selection certainly better than expected..Although the earlier you get down the better the selection! We would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jw4dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    214
    151
    55
    28
See reviews for
79
256
25
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely place to stay

Plus -

Great location 5 min walk to the centre
Free car parking outside the door
Very friendly staff
Decent breakfast choice
PC and printer available free if charge very handy for checking in online and boarding pass etc..

Negatives
Room could be updated slightly eg shower is just too small, plastic doors and a nicer colour on the walls than lemon
Wifi excellent then stops then starts..
Overall super value hotel and would def recommend, plus read allot if comments of loud neighbours due to thin walls. Didn't at all happen, you might hear the odd door closing but what do you expect in a city centre hotel!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mrkierans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel was well located for the old town and beaches and was also handy for catching local buses.
The airport is close by (25 minutes using the regular airport bus).
The hotel is clean and the staff helpfull. The rooms are basic but adequate and the breakfast is fairly limited but satisfactory. The wi-fi was intermittent.
A tour of the Neptune Caves is recomended (we used the local bus and descended the 652 steps to the cave. The ascent back to the bus could be exhausting for the unfit, elderly or disabled).
Our favourite activity of the holiday was an off-road tour by Land Rover which included visits to interesting wildlife and historical locations and also allowed for snorkelling and sun bathing.
Sardinia has many beautiful beaches, many of which were within a short journey from Alghero.
We would also recommend a short (1 hour) trip down the coast to Bosa, an attractive small town with a castle and coloured houses.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fjhfdhdfhrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We are just back from a week in Sardinia and we stayed at the Alghero city hotel for 3 nights. The staff was very welcoming and helpful at all time. Especially Alessia. The room was comfortable with hairdryer, air conditioning and free Wi-Fi. The breakfast was quite diverse and good. The hotel is located near the beach, the harbour and the old town. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the corridors are quieter and bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph6944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alghero
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Perfect location, close to the old city and city beach. Recommend to rent bikes, for easy access to the best beach (Maria Pia). Clean hotel with nice people. Did not like the Italian breakfast.........

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Nina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed 5 nights in June and the Alghero City Hotel was an awesome place to stay. We took the bus from the airport and the bus stop was about a 5 min walk to the hotel. Old town also 5 min walk from hotel. Staff was extremely helpful and attentive, and the breakfast wasn't bad either. The room itself was nice and fit all 3 of us with a lot of room to spare. A big plus was free WiFi and the working A/C! If we ever find ourselves in Alghero again we would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTAworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We are just back from a weeks holidays in this Hotel. It was in a perfect location for exploring Alghero. Short 15 main Taxi ride from Alghero Airport.Reception Staff very nice. Our room was on the third floor and was a good size with bathroom and balcony overlooking the street. Very clean. Free WiFi. TV. Hairdryer. Mini bar. Breakfast was lovely each morning. Very friendly guy presiding over same. Lots of tasty things to choose from - juices,cereal,fruit,yogurts,rolls,ham,cheese,eggs,toast,croissants and cakes.Nice tea and coffee.
Five minute walk to bus stop where you can take the local busses to visit neighbouring beaches or towns. Nicer beaches than in Alghero itself. Highly recommended. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Piras
Hotel Villa Piras
#14 of 49 in Alghero
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#12 of 49 in Alghero
661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#23 of 49 in Alghero
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Soleado
Hotel Soleado
#33 of 49 in Alghero
299 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Margherita
La Margherita
#44 of 49 in Alghero
294 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#5 of 49 in Alghero
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alghero City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alghero City Hotel

Property: Alghero City Hotel
Address: Via Gallura 15, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alghero City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-Star hotel located in a residential area in the heart of Alghero. Our hotel is the ideal choice for those who want to discover Alghero and seize everything that the city and its surrounding area can offer. The Alghero City Hotel is the perfect choice for the tourist visiting Alghero for the first time or for those who travel for business and have the opportunity to enjoy the charm, natural beauty, traditions of Sardinia, although they have little time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alghero City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alghero City Hotel Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing