We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Value For Money”
Review of Alghero City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alghero City Hotel
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Bad Value For Money”
Reviewed 19 June 2010

This Hotel has a great location. Just 5 minutes walking distance from the historical quarter of Alghero. But it's completely overpriced. Very basic and small rooms for EUR 130 a night.

I can't recommend for it for families with children. Obviously they don't like children, which is quite unusual in Italy.

Even worse the staff is extremely unfriendly and rude .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cnxmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    214
    151
    55
    28
See reviews for
79
256
25
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
176 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Good location, a few blocks from the beach and ten minutes from the Old Town. Small rooms (the bathroom was more spacious!) and a balcony with an godawful view to a messy backyard with a pack of intensely barking dogs in the house across from the hotel. Get early to the breakfast buffet if you want something else than toast or sweet cakes.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moffedillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

The room was sparse but clean, except the drape was hanging off the rod. The bathroom shower was very small and the shower head had water going everywhere except through the holes. the walls were very thin also and we heard our neighbors throughout the night. We could live with all that if the service was good. The staff was basically impolite and unhelpful except for one woman who spoke English. One staff member refused to give my husband ice and ice bucket unless he bought a bottle of wine from the hotel. Fortunately the woman who spoke English interjected and got him the ice bucket. I would describe the hotel was equivalent to a Days Inn in the US, which isn’t bad if that is what you are expecting. However it does a have a good location but we would never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamaraAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alghero hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

The hotel was in a great location, just 2 block from the boardwalk/beach and about 10 minute walk into the old town along the shore. Bus from the airport stopped 2 blocks away. The street its on is not the nicest (dog poo everywhere) but it didn't feel unsafe. Check in/out was painless. Very friendly staff. The lobby was nice. Room size was good ( we had 2 twin beds). We also had a balconey that was nice to have to dry our towels/bikinis. The AC worked well. Beds were good. The breakfast was good, coffee, tea, great juices, cereal, breads, yogurt. Could have been more meats and cheese but it did the trick . The walls were thin, but we really had no problems with noise unlike some of the other guests. Overall its a great choice for an afforable hotel with a perfect location. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday in Sardina but wanted to pass on a word of warning about this hotel. We initially were happy with the hotel but then we had a frightening experience there. We are quite certain that someone tried to force there way into our room very early in the morning. We luckily had the door double locked but there was a large deep groove scraped on the outside of the door right beside the latch, we awoke to hear heavy scraping at our door and pushing against the door. Sardinia as a whole felt so safe but this incident frightened us. Security was quite absent at the hotel and we were very uneasy there until we left and were gald to move on. Be warned.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niamhak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Called in at this hotel 'on spec' whilst touring the island. It is very nicely located on a back street, but close to the old town, harbour and beach.

Our room was on the second floor facing the street. This was okay, but I would not have wanted to be directly above the outdoor bar and eating area as the chatting and laughing went on well into the night, so if noise is a problem for you, ask for a high room away from the bar.

The walls are thin, as other reviewers have noted. Why do hotels not put pads on chairs which will be scraped over tiled floors? I was not kept awake, however, as I use earplugs in these situations!

We parked our car on the street outside (or just around the corner).

The staff spoke English and were quite helpful, the room was very clean and had pretty blue furniture. The towels were changed daily and the breakfast was adequate.

All in all a good hotel for a very reasonable price - we paid 85 euros a night - and Sardinia is an expensive island.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicestershireKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Hotel name is actually spelt 'Barcellona'. We chose this hotel based on the great comments about it's location and we were not dissapointed. I would say it's only 5-10 mins pleasant stroll to the old town in one direction and about the same to the beach in the other direction.

Very quick check in, spacious and very clean bedrooms. Any towels used were changed every day and I can't fault the cleanliness. Our room had a fridge (no contents) which was great for storing our own drinks. it had a small balcony which overlooked the street so not one to be chosen if you desire spectacular views.

The breakfast was absolutely fine (despite other peoples comments). As well as the coffee machine (which we didn't use as we prefer tea) I noticed there was also a pot of coffee on the side. Breakfast consisted of 3 types of cereal, variety of breads, jam, honey etc. Cakes, pastries, fruit salad (tinned) cheese & yoghurts. This was certainly adequate for us as with the temperature outside being 38 degrees we couldn't stomach a hot breakfast.

The main point I would agree with was the thin walls. Going to sleep at night was not an issue at all but the noise levels in the morning from other rooms was really obvious, doors shutting, people talking etc and if you're looking for a lie-in then this may annoy you. We only had 3 fulls days in Alghero so being woken early wasn't an issue for us and we booked this hotel knowing these comments had already been made.

Would we stay here again? Yes!

A good tip, at the bottom of the road you walk through a mini shopping centre, as you come to the main road there is a bus here (ALFA line) which takes you to the airport. We didn't realise this bus literally passed 2 mins past our hotel so walked to the main bus drop off point with our suitcases which is 10 mins away. It's only 70 cents to and from the airport, an absolute bargain and they run every hour on the hour from the airport and every half past the hour from Alghero back to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noswad292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Piras
Hotel Villa Piras
#14 of 49 in Alghero
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#12 of 49 in Alghero
661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#23 of 49 in Alghero
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Soleado
Hotel Soleado
#32 of 49 in Alghero
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Margherita
La Margherita
#44 of 49 in Alghero
293 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#5 of 49 in Alghero
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alghero City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alghero City Hotel

Property: Alghero City Hotel
Address: Via Gallura 15, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alghero City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-Star hotel located in a residential area in the heart of Alghero. Our hotel is the ideal choice for those who want to discover Alghero and seize everything that the city and its surrounding area can offer. The Alghero City Hotel is the perfect choice for the tourist visiting Alghero for the first time or for those who travel for business and have the opportunity to enjoy the charm, natural beauty, traditions of Sardinia, although they have little time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alghero City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alghero City Hotel Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing