We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little hotel in Alghero” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Piras

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Villa Piras
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Alghero
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel in Alghero”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2007

Have just returned from a week long stay at Villa Piras with my partner. We found the hotel to be true to the website - clean, simple and friendly.

Although there were only two of us, we had a family suite with two bedrooms, one with a small balcony. Our bedroom was spacious with simple furniture and comfortable beds - all the beds were single but they had put ours together to create a double, which was fine. The bathroom appeared to be newly fitted and towels were changed daily - the only negative was that it was a bit cramped.

Breakfast was continental in style and served in a pretty floral terrace area. Although not particularly exciting, it was enough to start the day with yoghurts, apples, juice, coffee, fresh bread, croissants and biscuits. There is also a supermarket (Pellicano) about 15 min walk away.

We found the owners helpful and friendly. Sandro responded to my pre-arrival email enquiries promptly and helpfully (in English) and we often saw him at breakfast and in the evening.

All in all, it was a good base for visiting Alghero and the surrounding area - about 20 mins walk to the old town and at 80 Euros per night very reasonable. We will definitely be returning to Alghero in the future.

  • Liked — Floral terrace area
  • Disliked — Cramped bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cam_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    58
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
19
67
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2007

My girlfriend & I booked a double room at this hotel 5 months in advance but upon arriving we were told we had to have a twin room. The twin room was very small and our beds couldn't be pushed together. Coffee at breakfast was the worst I have tasted in Italy. Its a 20 min scenic walk into the old town, on reflection I wouldn't recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidays101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2007

We've just returned from Villa Piras and had a truly wonderful and memorable time. The hotel was excellent and Alghero is a charming town with many excellent restaurants. Although the breakfasts may not be to everyone's liking, it is always possible to pick up a few items in a supermarket. The Villa Piras restaurant (beside the hotel) is not owned by the hotel owners but the food was marvellous and service was at all times professional. All in all, we can't wait to return!

  • Liked — The friendliness of the family and staff of the hotel.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2007

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Villa Piras this early May, and had a lovely time! Sandro, the evening manager, spoke English very well, and was very friendly and helpful.

We used Alghero as a base to explore some of the area. The drive down to Bosa was spectacular, and the town of Bosa itself is quite beautiful, and worth walking around to explore its backstreets. We also drove to Neptune's grotto, but as the seas were choppy that day, the caves were closed. Call ahead first [--] before you drive out there as we did, only to find it closed. We were less excited about old town Alghero. Though picturesque, we found it a bit touristy and the shops/restaurants overpriced.

That said, we really liked Hotel Villa Piras. We had a room on the third floor (2nd floor in the Italian manner). The room was huge, spotless, and had a balcony with a sea view. Very nice!

Breakfast was fine...on the better end of typical for a continental breakfast.

It was a short (15 minute) lovely walk along the seaside to the main historic downtown area of Alghero, past the unnecessarily security gated Hotel Villa Las Tronas.

The Hotel Villa Piras itself showed great care went into it. With bougainvilleas in bloom, palms and plants everywhere, a nice fish pond/fountain in the entryway, it had a very comfortable, inviting feeling. The pictures on their hotel website are true to our experience as well (google: "villa piras" .it ). Parking was quite easily found along the street in front. Both nights we just parked right outside the hotel.

All of this, and at very reasonable rates! Definitely a great place to stay if you are staying in Alghero!

  • Liked — Great value for money! Very comfortable and homey. Handy to downtown.
  • Disliked — nothing really.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karlitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2007

We have just returned from a wonderful week at the Villa Piras,we were staying on the second floor of this family run hotel. The bedroom was spacious and there was a large balcony with views of the sea and over looked the beautiful garden. We enjoyed a leisurely breakfast in the garden which was more than adequate with various pastries and bread and jam.The walk into town took about twenty minutes but was very scenic.The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Liked — Friendly family run hotel
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank janeLiverpoolEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2007

Spacious rooms but poorly adapted furniture for storing of clothing.
Because of the adjacent, very noisy restaurant, it was impossible to sleep before 2 a.m. !.
The hotel itself is very noisy too (water conducts ).
We will forget this hotel for our future visits to Alghero !

  • Liked — clean hotel and rooms
  • Disliked — Noise !!!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2007

We have just returned from a 5 day break in Alghero, staying at the Hotel Villa Piras. I have nothing but praise for this fantastic family run hotel. I have visited many different parts of Italy but never have i recieved such a warm welcome as i did at the Villa Piras, the family who run the hotel are the most freindly people you could ever wish to meet and nothing is too much trouble. Some of the staff speak excellent english but some do not this was not a problem as we still managed to have as good of a conversation as was possible.
The room we had was on the 2nd floor and was nice and clean and spacious with a nice sunny terrace, the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was small but very adequate for our needs and nice fluffy clean towels were supplied daily
The island is larger than you think we hired a car for three days and only managed to see the top half of the island. The coastal road leaving Alghero going towards Bosa gives some breath taking views and the sea is the most amazing colour of turquoise, the country side is green and lush and given the time of year we seemed to have the roads to ourselves for most of the time.
The walk from the hotel into town down the promenade takes around 15 miniutes and is a very nice walk taking in the lovely views out to sea.
We took a boat trip to the caves of Neptune at Capo Caccia which was well worth the visit and scenery is beautiful, the view from the top of the cliffs is amazing also .
The old town of Alghero is very quaint and the narrow streets are nice to wander around though some of the areas where very run down and in need of repair. Again the people in the shops bars and restaraunts were extremely freindly and helpful.
I will definatley be retuning to Alghero and will definatley be staying at the Hotel Villa Piras. This is the first time i have taken time to write a review but i feel that this hotel definatley warrents an excelllent review.

  • Liked — location , staff
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank starmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alguer
Hotel Alguer
#14 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alghero City Hotel
Alghero City Hotel
#30 of 51 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rina Hotel
Rina Hotel
#21 of 51 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Residence Europa
Residence Europa
#32 of 51 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#13 of 51 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Soleado
Hotel Soleado
#33 of 51 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Piras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Piras

Property: Hotel Villa Piras
Address: Viale della Resistenza 10, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Piras 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the finest areas in Alghero, the Hotel Villa Piras offers spacious rooms with balconies, many of which overlook the Mediterranean Sea, with background the imposing promontory of Capo Caccia. All have air conditioning, LCD TV, minibar, private bathroom with toiletries. Inside the hotel are available for guests a relaxation room, an internet station and a pizzeria restaurant that offers seafood specialties. The Hotel Villa Piras is 50 meters from the Gulf of Alghero and about 800 mt from the historic center that can be reached in 10 minutes by a leisurely stroll along the waterfront. Just 20 meters there is a bus stop leading to the center and the beaches. Offering free Wi-Fi, Hotel Villa Piras serves in the morning a varied continental and international breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Villa Piras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piras Hotel Alghero
Hotel Villa Piras Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing