We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alghero Catalan B&B and Flat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alghero Catalan B&B and Flat
Ranked #27 of 257 Alghero B&B and Inns
antwerpen
1 review
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

I was with my girlfriend on a 8-day holiday in Alghero.
We rented the app. for 6 days and stayed in the B&B For 2 more days.

The app. was clean and perfect for 2 pers. with a big terras (butt no airconditioning it means you can not sleep in)
At night it cools down and you can enjoy the terras!

The B&B is very good! Nice rooms and airconditioning in the bedroom everything you can aspect from a good B&B.

Loredana and here mother are very good hosts i recommend this B&B to everybody!!!

Barbra & Bjorn
Antwerpen (België)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 44444444444444444444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    26
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
34
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

Me and my family had a nice seven days stay at this B&B. The room was nice and clean and the service was good. It was nearby the city centre but still quite and calm. The biggest pros was the AC. Furhtermore, we lived next to a very good supermarket for groceries and a couple of hundred meters away from fruit and fish markets as well as to the sea. The cons were that the beach was half an hour away (walking distance) and that the number of toilets and showers were a bit to few when the rest of the rooms were occupied by young women.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jonas_Collin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

Instructions to the B&B were quite good; once my paypal payment was accepted. Loredana is the owner of the B&B and she was very nice and spoke English on the phone well. Unfortunately we never saw her as it seems her mother runs the day to day operation. With the help of other guests we managed to understand the instruction given to us upon arrival. Everything was self service. The breakfast comprised of bread (which you could toast) water, packaged juice, coffee, processed cheese slices and triangles and some sweet buns. You are instructed how to use the coffee maker as no one is around during breakfast and you must help yourself. The room we had was reasonable and had a nice balcony. Although very noisy at night, when the window is closed you hear practically nothing. It is a short walk to the old town and an enjoyable walk to the beach. There is a washbasin in the room however there is only one toilet and shower shared by all. We were there for 3 nights however no one cleaned our room or changed the garbage. One negative point which sort of ruined out mood for a short while. On the day of departure we were asked to vacate at 10:00am. At 10:03 I opened the door to my room (bags packed ready to go) and was met by the mom who looked angrily at her watch and said ten and pointed her finger to leave. I pointed to the time and said it is 2 minutes after ten and she said it is 5 after. She left the room for a moment and there were new guest who had arrived who witnessed this. It was quite embarrassing and the new guests were quite shocked. I then asked if she could please call us a taxi which she replied (and interpreted by the new guests): They speak in English so you have to call. I tried to call and of course they understood nothing. I called Loredana who called the taxi for us. This made us feel that we meant nothing to them except the money we gave, which was 200 euros. I believe there is equally good accommodation with additional ammenities where we may have been treated us slightly nicer or at least with a smile.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tvdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VespaAlghero, Proprietario at Alghero Catalan B&B and Flat, responded to this review, 14 July 2010
Hello Rob,
I am really sorry for that review made me :-(
Unfortunately the days that you come you've had a big problem in mi job and unfortunately could not be present to be able to explain all of even better things.
So my mother help me too much in my B&B and I thank you for this!
But if I grant, I would react to certain things.
The breakfast is self service because each guest can calmly wake up and have to breakfast until 10:00.
The breakfast room is fully equipped: toaster, kettle, microwave and espresso machine with Lavazza pods.
The machine is Lavazza, one of the best and it is easiest to use, it just put the pod and turn the knob and the coffee is ready! There isn’t a machine too simple than this.
The Breakfast is all packed because the Italian laws require that the B & B have all packaged food.
The breakfast consists of everything a guest could wish for, I think.
In fact consists of jams, honey, chocolate (Nutella), biscuits, cakes, cereals and brioshe. Also you can be found in the big fridge: milk, juice, butter, 2 types of cheese, yogurt and water.
The room with terrace has a large window facing the main street, it is normal to keep it open generates noise, in fact in all rooms there are the air conditioners , that to serve to close the windows, keep cool and stay in absolute silence.
The rooms are to clean every 3 days like of the regulation of the B & B.
To have daily cleaning, breakfast served and more, is recommended to go in the Hotel where you pay in July minimum 105€ per double room per day and not 65€ per night for a double room like in my B&B!
The check out must do maximum at 10:00, as in most of the hotels, because you must clean the room for the arrival of the others guests.
However is possible to leave your luggage in the breakfast room and take this when you want in the evening.
Also I was very sorry that I called a taxi for you, as you asked you, and you were gone!!
The taxi waited you and then was forced to leave because you were already gone!!
This is a behaviour not correct and of not respect for the people that working all day!!!!
In the B & B there are the taxi card and every guests with your mobile can call one without necessarily help me, all taxi speak English and can be contact directly by the customer.s
Anyway, I apologize again if your short holiday in my B & B is not liked, but at the same time I'm glad that many others guests who have written on Tripadvisor and in the guestbook of my B&B, were very happy with the service that I offer with seriously and simplicity.
Have a good day.
Sincerely.
Loredana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

This was really a great place. I stayed there three days in June '10 with my fiancée’. The room was huge. Finding the Catalan was very easy as it is located 5 minutes to the centre of Alghero. It's in a great location, just a quick walk to the end of the block and down some stairs to get to the action. It's far enough away that you don't hear the busy street noise, however. Breakfast was not served but was quite hearty. Loredana was great, quick helpful in getting us acquainted with the area as well as attending to our needs. Parking can be a bit of an issue as there is no specific parking reserved for Catalan Guests. Overall I'd definitely recommend the Catalan. They provided a great service, particularly given the location and price.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

We booked or stay at this apartment based on the views of other people's views from Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. On arrival we were made most welcome, and were given a lot of helpful tips about the area (which we mostly managed to understand despite a limited grasp of Italian!). The flat itself sleeps 4 which I suspect might be a bit of a squeeze but for 2 people it was a more than adequate size, especially when coupled with the enormous roof terrace. This is what really makes the flat. Since it is on the 5th floor there is an amazing view of the city, and is a perfect place to have meals and relax in the sun. The flat is well-equipped with all cooking equipment you might need and there is a supermarket 5 minutes walk away.
Alghero itself is lovely town, with lots of good restaurants, a very picturesque harbour and old town and an attractive beach a few kilometres away. It's nothing too exciting but an excellent place to get away from it all for a week. There are buses to all the surrounding towns but they are quite sporadic so it's best to plan in advance instead of just turning up to the bus stop and expecting there to be a bus in the next hour as there's a good chance there won't be! Having said this the buses were always prompt and very reasonably priced. We took a day excursion to Bosa which is also a lovely place to visit. We also travelled further up the coast to the beaches surrounding Porto Conte which were incredible.
We would definitely recommend both the flat and the apartment for anyone wanting a relaxing holiday in a lovely place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Led0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

A very clean modern 5th floor flat, fully equipped, with doors leading onto the terrace from the bedroom and living area, This was a first class place to stay, very secure ,10 min walk to the old town and harbour and 30 min walk to the best part of the beach. Excellant value for money, could not fault our stay and would definately go there again. Perfect for 2 people, ok for 2 plus child, any more i feel would be a squeeze. Supermarket 50 yds for all your needs. The owners/family were fantastic and friendly and provided us with a brilliant place to stay.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank podder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frigiliana, Spain
Level Contributor
187 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2007

the flat is situated on via agostino about a 10 or so minute straight forward walk to the old town/front on a good well lit road in a residential area of the new town.about 20 mins easy walk to the beaches.its around 10 mins or so away from the B&B the same family own. 2 supermarkets one large one small are situated within a few minutes walk so very easy to stock up on water etc. the owners of the flat live in the same building so they are there if you have any problems.they also collected us from the airport and returned for a lesser price than the planned taxi ride.

the flat is on the 5th/top floor ( has a lift) it has a living area with a mini kitchen, fridge freezer dining table.the one thing missing was a kettle which seemed strange. we used a pan on the stove.had a washing machine,iron tv. the one bedroom was large and had french doors that opened onto the terrace. there was also french doors and double windows in the living area.the bathroom was large and clean and contained a bath which was nice. also had double windows. the roof terrace was huge,as big as the actual flat. with table, chairs and an umbrella and sun loungers. you also got the sun all day long and had total privacy and werent over looked in anyway. the terrace was and is a huge selling point.

we had 3 people in the flat and the third bed was in the living area but it was next to the fridge which was very loud on and off all night and took a day or two to get used to.the website says upto 4 people could stay in the flat but tbh you would be struggling with more than 3. If its just 2 people who are staying there then its perfect as the bedroom is large and quiet but i wouldnt want to be the third person sleeping in the living area. only other downside was there was no airconditioning. but i cant complain as I knew about this before hand. there was a fan in the room and all the windows had shutters plus all the french doors etc but as we were there during 30 plus degree heat it did get pretty stuffy at night. if you plan to go later in the year then it shouldnt be a problem.

we paid around £17 a night each so it was very much a bargin and above average for the price.and it was good having all the xtra space that a hotel room doesnt give you. and the roof terrace was excellent. i would stay there again but only if there were 2 of us instead of the 3 and if it was at a cooler time of year.

  • Liked — huge roof terrace great outdoor space
  • Disliked — no air con
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
21 Thank ThewanderingLoiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Casa Tarragona
#107 of 257 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&b Babbai Giommi
B&b Babbai Giommi
#36 of 257 in Alghero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Wave
Blue Wave
#56 of 257 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Il Giardino degli Iris
Il Giardino degli Iris
#181 of 257 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Alghero Republic
B&B Alghero Republic
#1 of 257 in Alghero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B Panorama
B&B Panorama
#13 of 257 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alghero Catalan B&B and Flat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alghero Catalan B&B and Flat

Property: Alghero Catalan B&B and Flat
Address: Via Alessandro Manzoni no 41, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alghero Catalan B&B and Flat 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Alghero Catalan B&B and Flat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alghero Catalan B&B And Flat Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing