We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, clean, friendly staff and amazing food!”
Review of Hotel Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Oasis
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, clean, friendly staff and amazing food!”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Oasis in the first week of August. and I am quite shocked at the previous negative review because we found the hotel to be quite to opposite! Clean, friendly, convenient and incredible food!

Check-In
We travelled with Thomson on a half board basis. The transfers from the airport were fast (we were the first drop off) and check in was fuss free. I found the staff to be very helpful for example, you can buy the use of the beach loungers from the hotel at a discounted rate (15 euros for 2 loungers and an umbrella for the day). After we checked in we asked to buy a weeks worth. The helpful hotel staff advised us that the weather the coming week may be unpredictable, and in order to save our money we should buy them daily, just in case - she was right.

The Room
The rooms are basic, which you would expect for an Italian 3 star hotel. We had a twin room overlooking the car park/tennis court. It had a small balcony, air conditioning, en-suit facilities and a television. Although it was basic it was clean. The shower was powerful, plenty of hot water, towels changed everyday. We did not see one insect!

My only problem was the bed was a little hard for me, but that is personal preference, and I coped for the week.

Food
We stayed half board and to be honest, and considering we are all proper foodies, everyone in my party have said that they would come back to the hotel purely for the food! It was amazing. The food was traditional Italian/Sardinian, and every evening you would begin with antipasti, which changed daily e.g. local cheese, bread, hams, olives, veg etc, then next you would have a choice of 3 pasta or risotto dishes - cooked al dente and perfect. Then was the meat or fish course, being a fish lover I was happy enough to have a whole seabass one day, or giant king prawns the next, whilst my friend was happy with the meat choices. There are locally prepared vegetables to go with this, one thing you must be prepared about though is that the Sardinians do like to fry their veg, which was tasty, but healthy options were also available. Then to finish off, there was always a nice dessert.

I have to make a note about the hotel restaurant staff. They were absolutely lovely, from the manager (who made an effort to talk to us each day) to the chef (who soon learnt how much I loved my seafood and before long would just put it on my plate without asking) and the waitresses, who used to always talk to us, and one night even helped us when we got splashed with prawn juice - they saved our clothes! If you want a bottle of wine with your meal, the staff would hold it for you for the next day if you don't finish it, where it would sit on your table ready for you.

I have to say that we actually joked that we were disappointed that the food was so good, as it discouraged us to eat elsewhere, and we ate every night at the hotel.

Breakfast was good for Italian hotels. I enjoyed the scrambled egg and the bacon in lovely fresh bread buns, but there was plenty of other choice too. I have to agree with the previous review about the coffee though. I stuck with tea.

For lunch we would often eat at the pizzeria at the hotel or could get a cheese toasty from a beach bar. The pizzas were not the best and neither was the beach food. If we were staying longer, there is a shop at the hotel selling cheese, bread, hams etc to make up your own cheaper lunch.

The Pool
Being beach people we don’t use the pool but it seemed popular. There are 2 pools, one for the hotel and one for the apartments. The apartment's pool (next to the pizza restaurant) seemed less busy, and was still to use by hotel guests.

Local Amenities
The hotel is situated in a good location on the road between Fertillia and Alghero. It is opposite a small forest area, with the beach on the other side.

The beach was beautiful, sandy and clean. We used the Dolphin loungers. The only advice is to bring your ipod, there is a kids swimming club in the morning run by dolphin beach and they are noisy, but are only there a couple of hours.

On the evening, after dinner we would walk (20-25 mins) or get the bus into Alghero (the bus was always late so don't rely on it). We also one night got a taxi in, around 6 euros, and often got a taxi back - 12 euros.

We had such a good time that we are looking forward to going back again. I would highly recommend the Hotel Oasis to like-minded beach loving foodies.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the car park are nice and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank beachgirlstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    253
    110
    36
    19
See reviews for
195
199
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The hotel needs an update. It proudly displays a gold award it won....in 1986 from Thomsons! and that was for its apartments, not the hotel itself. We did not see evidence of any other awards since despite checking the walls.
Rooms are dated, furniture is old. The air con works but is noisy. The small bathroom had been renovated and was nice apart from the ants. There is no fridge so we filled the bidet with cold water to keep our wine cool. The safe is small and only takes two wallets and a couple of passports at a push.It does not have a combination lock so you have to carry a key around with you. There was a good sized balcony for our quadruple room but it was stark with just 3 basic chairs and a table. Bird droppings decorated part of the balcony.
The staff did respond quickly to the two infestations of ants (we were on the 3rd floor) by spraying the area but clearly ants are well established probably via the ventilation system. The repair guy Angelo dealt promptly with the broken light switch and the wardrobe door which got stuck.
The Mon to Fri 'entertainment' was unavoidable because our balcony overlooked the poolside bar so we got it whether we liked it or not. We didn't like it. The singer and songs were dire. I mean really awful. The guy (Renzo) only stopped singing at midnight so we got through it with double gin and tonics bought from the local supermarket.
The breakfast? Pretty awful especially the 'tea' and 'coffee' making facilities really undrinkable as they use tepid water. There is no toast but plenty of unripe green bananas. And no you cannot take the banana out with you and place it somewhere to ripen. There is notice forbidding you from taking any food from the dining room. The eggs were unpleasant but if you like cakes, there are plenty. The orange juice fails any trade descriptions legislation. Tinted sugary water would be a more accurate description. There are some really awfully paintings of nude women in the dining room which put me off my sludgy coffee. We ate out every night and I would suggest if you come have B&B not half board. There's a great restaurant a 10 minute walk away called the Pergola where you can eat dinner for the same price as the hotel. We went there three times. Fab pizzas and other great sea food from the A La Carte. The rest of the time we ate in Alghero where there is loads of choice although some of the waiters are not the friendliest people in town.
The hotel reception staff were barely polite and occasionally surly when they spat our 'Prego' with a menacing look. Maybe by mid August, some of them had just run out of patience and energy. The cleaners on the other hand were always friendly and pleasant.
Several parts of the pool area were usually occupied by wasps as the pool guy never cleaned the loungers or side tables with a damp cloth nor swabbed the pool area. He did clean the pool itself though every morning. Many of the pool side loungers by the way are old and rickety and they need to dump them and get some new ones for 2012. The poolside showers were covered in wasps so you could not shower before or after a swim. Wasps also dominated the mini golf area which is pretty neglected and sad looking. As for happy hour; what a scream. You can only buy two of the same drink if you want the happy hour discount and there is always just one person serving behind the bar and the two who job share can look pretty scary when under pressure. If you don't act quickly when the happy hour bell rings, you could be waiting up to 20 minutes to get served. The 'fitness centre' comprises two fixed bikes under a canopy by the pool.
There is a tourist 'train' that takes you to town twice a day 5 Euros return. He goes at a fair lick even over the speed bumps.
Okay it is a 3 star hotel and you only get what you pay for but I have stayed in much better 3 star places. I suggest the management have a big refurbishment programme and get rid of the outdated stuff including those bad paintings and put all the staff (except the cleaners) on a customer service training course. They also need to learn how to make tea and coffee. Sorry to be so negative. We did meet a few guests who quite like the place. There is no accounting for taste!

Room Tip: If you get the poolside rooms you will have to listen to the entertainment Mon to Fri until midnight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileendover32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This is one if not the best hotel for this budget we have ever stayed in the hotel is very clean and the rooms spotless with the sheets and towels changed every day. The pool area and gardens are lovely and well cared for with a large swimming pool and a small one for the children when we went in July there where plenty of both sunbeds and deck chairs. There is an attendant on hand all day, it is cleaned to a high standard every morning and is roped off over night so no after dark dips.
The staff there where all very helpful and friendly. We went half board and were so glad we did, the food was excellent with a great deal to chose from both hot and cold buffet for both breakfast and dinner. Some thing different every night of our 14.
The hotel is situated just outside of the old town of Aghero a very short bus ride and at 1€ each much cheaper then the train ride at 5€ each but not so much fun. You can of course walk it but in 40 degree heat and a good 40 mins walk I’d get the bus!
If you are looking for English food and nightly Discos than this is not the place for you.
The beach is beautiful with it’s soft white sand you can walk out a long way and still only be knee deep perfect for children. But be warned Sardina is very expensive 2 sunbeds and a brolly will set you back 16€ a day! And it goes up to 18€ in August.. Even so Sardina is a lovely island and the people are nice to. I hope we go back one day.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 51loveholidays2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

we just came back from 2 wks holiday! we've stayed at Oasis in 2 rooms apartment. For 3 of us big enough and with a nice terrace. The beach is max 10 min far away... very nice nd beautiful- the water clear nd clean...
we've tried also the hotel pizza-goooooddddd!!!! nd yummy!
From the hotel u hv every evening a train to old town- if u don't want the public bus...
Overall nice experience,we will recommend the place!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c_galle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Customer service was very good at this hotel. We were able to check in at 11am - more time to relax and sun bake by the lovely pool. Rooms are small and beds were uncomfortable but on the good side they had newish and clean bathroom and balcony for drying your clothes.

Old town is more like 45mins+ walk but beach is directly across the road.
Nice little restaurant - l'intollerante on Viale Europa is 20mins walk.

Cab from Alghero airport was EUR18 & EUR20 from the hotel. Only 10mins.

Room Tip: Get to the pool early to hold the best sunbed. And bring your own beach towel or pay EUR3 per use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank precinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Just returned from Alhero staying at Hotel Oasis on a B&B basis for 1 week. Location fantastic, only a very pleasent 30 min wlak into the Old Town, Located directly opposite some fantastic beeaches (3 mins acrocc the road). The Hotel pool an dbar facilities very clean and staff very friendly. Food and drink available in poolside bar expensive (€3 for a coke, €4.50 for a Beer 500ml) but all the hotels and bars in the tourist area ar charging about the same. On th eplus side the pool area is very clean and the staff are all very friebdly and ensure you have a great holiday. Our double room was basic, but again very clean, bed very comfortable and had air conditioning. Its true the walls are very thin but we slept great every night. So it really served its purpose well. We had a small 14" TV but we never turned it on. Breakfast was buffet style and always more than you can eat with a great variety to suit all tastes.

Room Tip: We bought 1.5ltr of water in local supermarket and left in room with air conditin on so had a consta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OBCLAN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Just got back from a family holiday staying at hotel oasis alghero.Just a few point,s to direct family,s and couples from staying at this hotel.Very overpriced food and drink,quality of the drink,s very poor.The nightime entertainment is the same 7 night,s per week.A key-board player playing some shambolic music.Kid,s have to leave the pool by 6.30pm everynight.A mini-supermarket with rip off prices on site.To get to town you have to get a bus or suffer a 45minute walk everynight.
In term,s of alghero i would consider going all inclusive as opposed to hotel or self-catering.Very expensive to eat out and for drink,s..
I booked this holiday through [JUST SARDINIA] when the only time i seen him was to pick me up/drop me off at airport.JUST SARDINIA say,s it all

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fegsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
609 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#10 of 49 in Alghero
627 reviews
5.6 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#4 of 49 in Alghero
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#2 of 49 in Alghero
504 reviews
4.9 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#11 of 49 in Alghero
630 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#5 of 49 in Alghero
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis

Property: Hotel Oasis
Address: Viale 1 Maggio, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Oasis 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oasis is a modern three star hotel situated on the Alghero-Fertilia Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oasis Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing