We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Oasis
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just came back from my second stay at Oasis Hotel. I stayed there 4 years ago when my son was just a baby. He got ill then and we wanted to do the trip again. This time Tui fly nordic has taken all the apartments, so if you want to go to Italy and hang out with swedish and norwegian people you should stay here.
I had forgotten about the staff. The same people are still working here and they are so RUDE and unfriendly. They treat us all like some bunch of irritating rats.
The apartments are old and very poorly furbished. There should have been cleaning 3 times a week but this did not happen.You bring home a lot of sand and there is no cleaning facilities in the apartment. There is no TV, no radio, no soap and no dish wash detergent but still you are expected to dish wash when you check out. The walls are thin and you hear constant noises from banging doors and people talking. The local neighbor outside can sit and talk all night long.
If you want to use WIFI you should go to the reception area or bar. The Wifi does only work some times per day and when you ask for help the "rude staff" gets even more rude.
We checked out in the middle of the week and enjoyed a fantastic stay in a more luxury hotel in Alghero and hang out with more international and friendly people. I will never stay at oasis hotel again

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

What isn't there to like about this hotel!! The hotel it's self is spotlessly clean in all areas that we accessed. The staff are very friendly and speak good English, have to mention the restaurant staff, the restaurant manager ( sorry I didn't know his name) and Wanda and the other lovely ladies, always with a smile on their faces. The food was phenomenal, so much choice and always beautifully presented. Breakfast and evening meal were buffet, so you could eat as much or as little as you wanted, if you're like us you wanted to try everything!! Some might say the rooms are basic but we found them very comfortable with everything we needed for our holiday. There are 2 pools, 1 by the apartments and a larger 1 by the hotel both spotlessly clean with plenty of sunbeds. The hotel's beach is a short walk away through a pine forest, you do have to pay for the sunbeds, 15 Euro for 2 and an umbrella in high season but this is for all day. Alghero town is approx a 2km walk along the coast road, with plenty of places to stop for a drink and to admire the view on the way. Highly recommend the boat trips from the marina. The old town it's self is lovely, an old walled town with cobbled streets, plenty of little shops and pavement cafes. We can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: We had a pool view room, you could hear noise from the entertainment, but it didn't bother us.Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank marg3917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I'll start from the conclusion of this review -the service is hurrific. Most of the staff is rude and unfriendly.

Room - the hotel is divided to small apartments and a hotel each part with an adult and kids pool. We stayed at the apartments so will keep my review to that. We arrived late at night and received our apartment which was dirty and stinky! When we asked to change the apartment we were first offered to sleep in another room and come back to our the following day. Only after I insisted it's not an option with two small kids we were given a different apartment.
The apartments are very basic. Think about hostels in Europe in the 70s. There are no regular towels but fabrics that in North America will be considered as summer blankets...

The pool - great, very clean and organized

Beach towels are available through the hotel for a deposit and every cage costs money.

Basic groceries - there is a supermarket on the property, not expensive and very nice staff. We got everything we needed for breakfast.

Lunch - the pool bar provides lunch and dinner. Food is not very good. The service is even worse: slow and impolite. The only available bathroom at the pool area is through the bar but when we run with our daughter to the bathroom we got scolded because her bathing suite was wet??? Also, you are only allowed two packs of ketchup per portion of food according to the manager??? Crazy.

Beach- the "resort" does not have a beach. It takes about 10 min walk to get there. The hotel will let you think that you can only rent umbrellas and chairs through them. But you can also get them directly at the beach or just stay in the public area at no cost.

Town - you can get to town by walking about 20-30min or you can take a bus or taxi. The hotel sells the bus tickets buy adding 10% to the price of the bus ticket!!!

Kids - they do have three options for kids menues and there is a playground which is well maintained.

Internet exists only at the hotel lobby and even that is VERY slow.

I have no clue how this hotel has 3 stars.

Room Tip: If you are staying at the apartment try to get the top level. Ground level means everyone passes nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank smb187855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The bad bits first:

1, We were charged 6 euro a day for the use of the air conditioning.
2. No iron, or ironing boards apparently available.
3. No tea/coffee maker in room.
4. WiFi could have been better - and, available in room rather than in the foyer and outside bar area.



The good bits:

1. A very good restaurant in our opinion, punching above its weight we felt.
2. Excellent Customer service.
3. Very well cleaned and maintained rooms ( 312 was ours )
4. Good location for the pineda/beach.
5. Views to the countryside.

We'd definitely have no problem recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotel should be ranked at two stars maximum. They do not even give you towels but basicaly white table cloths with which to dry yourself. The rooms are dirty. The reception team was ok apart from the manager on duty which was the worse service industry person I ever met. Rude cocky and lying. Expect to have to pay extra for everything and assume you get the service of an urban hotel in northern India. The location is great though.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here recently for one week and wished it was for longer. Hotel is very comfortable with friendly, helpful staff who made you feel really welcome. Hotel, gardens and pool area all spotlessly clean and just a short walk to the beautiful white sand beach. Alghero itself is a beautiful old town, but the beaches nearer the town are not so good. Can thoroughly recommend the Taste of Sardinia excursion to Bosa, the Nuraghe and the Bread Museum - very interesting thanks to Franchesco our brilliant guide. A great holiday - would happily return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stoupalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed in the beginning on June 2014 with a family on two adults and two teenagers at the apartment of the Hotel Oasis. There we're also many families with small children. The staff spoke English very well and they were so helpful. The janitor came on his day off to solve our problem.

Both the apartments and the hotel have their own pool area. It seemed that all the apartments we're booked but still the pool was not too crowded. The beach is really few minutes away from the hotel. Beach is very beatiful with white sands and clear water. It was crowded only on sunday when also the locals have a day off. There were a lot of wandering salesmen, but all you have to say is no, and they walk away. The hotel is about 40 minutes walk from the old Alghero, but that was not too far for us. There are also nice restaurants closer for the dinner ( La Pergola for exemple) and you can get a good meal from the hotel too. The hotel area was quiet. On a couple of evenings we could hear some music, but it didn't disturb our sleep.

We could go to this hotel again. It might not be a good place for a partier, but if you are travelling with children it's ecxellent. If you enjoy swimming and beaches, this is a hotel for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank maru34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,095 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#15 of 49 in Alghero
490 reviews
1 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#5 of 49 in Alghero
994 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#10 of 49 in Alghero
697 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis

Address: Viale 1 Maggio, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: £63 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oasis is a modern three star hotel situated on the Alghero-Fertilia Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oasis Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing