We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog and Clock Alarms”
Review of Hotel La Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Playa
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Family hotel close to the beach area. The rooms are basic but have everything you need. We could not find any English TV programs, though this was not a problem for us. Don't expect fluffy towels as they resemble large tea towels, but do dry you in the end. Same selection at breakfast every day, but good quality and plenty of it. We did not eat in the restaurant because we thought it a bit expensive. The pool area was not very big, but very clean and the garden was colourful and shady. Hotel staff very helpful and friendly. The title refers to the owners pet dog which began barking at about 6.30 every morning and the chiming of their clock at 7.00, so no chance of a lie in without earplugs. Caught the local but from the airport (cost 1 euro) which dropped us off at the train station which was about a 5min walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SFLVLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I spent a week at the Hotel La Playa in September and would say that it is one of the best value holidays we have had. We booked 7 nights B&B directly with the hotel and found the owners really helpful and easy to deal with.

We booked a pool side room which had a nice balcony, a comfortable bed and a decent shower. The breakfasts are on a buffet basis and had a really good choice of food. We only had the evening meal once, but this was because we liked to explore the town at night rather than anything to do with the food itself, which was excellent.

The town is about 20 minutes walk from the hotel and is full of interesting shops, good restaurants and Italians parading!

The hotel was really clean and beautifully maintained, as was the pool area and the gardens. Some of the fittings in our room were showing some signs of age, but all worked well throughout our stay.

The staff were all really friendly and helpful and at only 100 euros a night, the hotel is fantastic value.

We would definitely recommend the hotel and Alghero to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roman049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed at La Playa 2nd to 9th September and had a fantastic week. This is a lovely hotel in a great spot for the beach and a reasonable walk to the old town. The room was lovely and the pool and gardens great to chill out in. We ate 3 times at the hotel restaurant and can honestly say the meals were second to none.

All the staff are very friendly and welcoming and we will be certainly visiting again!

Room Tip: Request a room on the top (3rd) floor facing the gardens and the pool, you will then have good views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LesPoultney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We have now stayed at this hotel three times and have never been disappointed, in fact, we are going back again in July. We are impressed by the friendliness of the staff, they are always helpful despite their limited English. The hotel is very clean, if you are looking to stay in a luxurious room this hotel is not for you, but if you want cleanliness, clean towels every day and showers that never run out of hot water, then you will probably like La Playa. The food is of a very high standard and very reasonably priced. There is always a cold buffet to start followed by the three choices you have made from the menu that is waiting on your breakfast table. Fish is expertly filleted at your table and it is worth paying extra for Salvatore's crepes, they're delicious! The hotel is a stone's throw away from a very clean beach where you can swim and sunbathe. It's about a 20min walk into old Alghero which is walled and has lots of places to eat. We would recommend this hotel unreservedly and if you do go, we hope you enjoy it as much as we have!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We are just home from Alghero and Hotel La Playa ( May 23 -May 30 2013). We were very impressed with the the Hotel. It exuded understated professionalism. The management and staff provided a real service and had a superior attention to detail. The food was of a very high standard. We went B&B with a view to eating out in Old Town but only ate out twice and felt the hotel dinner was not surpassed for quality or service. There was excellent chat among the guests and this was an added bonus. The hotel has a nice pool, lovely garden and is proximate to the lovely white sandy beach which unfortunately was not , as yet cleaned of seaweed ( austerity in Alghero ?). We heard the hotel has a 70% return rate and we can understand why. A very nice experience and thank you Trip Advisor for helping us pick Hotel La Playa.

Room Tip: We had a room looking out onto pool and garden and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leeark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a second visit last June. We love it. Efficiently run by Salvatore and his two sisters who man the Reception area, take the bookings etc. No they are not unfriendly, maybe a little reserved but we found them charming, real characters, who want all of their guests to have a good time. They will supply pool towels and gladly get you a drink from the small bar area. (Good selection of books here to borrow).
The whole hotel is immaculate and well-run. Rooms cleaned thoroughly, towels and linens perfect, gardens and pool beautiful, a peaceful oasis.
The food is fantastic, especially the dinners, highly recommend the half-board option which is good value. And the wine list is amazing, Salvatore really knows his wine and it is very good value too.
Yes as a previous reviewer stated, the pool is closed in the evening, this is because the dinner tables are set in the gardens overlooking the pool, fine dining, linens, service, nice music, overall a charming place to dine. I certainly would not want children or adults jumping in and out of the pool and making a rowdy noise at this time!

Probably is a hotel best suited to couples and older people rather than young families with children.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are best but the ones at the back are cheaper and interesting if you like to sit on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maeveGlos_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The attention to detail and customer service are better than you can dream of. La Playa is a unique family run hotel just two minutes walk from the best beaches in Alghero. The care and attention to detail demonstrated here are not often found and a hotel could not be cleaner or more well looked after than La Playa. The pool and environs are beautiful, and the quality of food served and service second to none. Should be four star rated. Will definitely go back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah_Londra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#20 of 49 in Alghero
638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#15 of 49 in Alghero
490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Soleado
Hotel Soleado
#31 of 49 in Alghero
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rina Hotel
Rina Hotel
#21 of 49 in Alghero
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#25 of 49 in Alghero
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Playa

Address: Via Pantelleria 14, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: £96 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent 3 star hotel in Alghero, Sardinia. 150 mt. to the sandy beach and close to the Catalan Old town. Hotel facilites: 33 double rooms with private bath, air conditioned, restaurant, swimming-pool, jacuzzi, garden, ourdoor pool-side lunch and evening dinner. Good value for quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Playa Alghero
La Playa Hotel
Hotel La Playa Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing