We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best three star hotel we have stayed in”
Review of Hotel La Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Playa
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Just back from a wonderful week in Sardinia. The hotel was perfect, so clean and the family which run it are like faulty towers, two sisters are hilarious, they start rowing with each other when you ask them something. It is a good 20 mins walk into the lovely old town which does become a little wearisome so try a few restaurants near the hotel.Daps is good with fish tanks all around it.
Beach is lovely although try the pine beach 15 mins away , to the right of the hotel, We hired a car and went to Stintoni beach which is like the Maldives, then on day two went to Bosa inland road there and coast road back.
Def go to see the grotto, olvely caves with stalagmites and stalagtites, got the boat from the harbour.
I would def recommend this hotel, dinner is lovely bit weird they are almost trying too hard... and bring a fat wallet, it is really expensive on the island about 4euros for a beeer and about 12 euro for a pizza.
Have a great trip. watch out for the mossies though.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thecaravanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2009

Hi - We took 3 young children in the last week of aug/sep and really really enjoyed it.
Holiday Options were brilliant, highly recommended. Honest truths:

-Sardinia is not cheap for families
-Repeat, Sardinia is not cheap. But no chavs, so take your pick.
-If you are well travelled within Italy, Sardinians are not nearly as friendly as even the Venetians. However, most are fine but treat you like a tourist instead of a customer if that makes sense. and charge accordingly.
-nowhere is cheap to eat out. get used to it. lunch everywhere will be 10euros per head. and then there is 1.5euros cover charge. and they will charge you for bread.
-Dinner - about 15euros per head upwards, if you are very careful. Otherwise it is 30 euros per head easy peasy.

La Playa:
-Restaurant and food is undeniably brilliant. The reason we went, and the reason we are so happy. Just wonderful. Would go full board it is so good. Breakfast is a joy. I miss it all.
-Salvatore (mgr) runs a tight ship which means the place is spotlessly clean. Like really clean.
-His staff are really lovely people who bent over backwards for the children...awesome.
--you have to be aware about the pool rules. Oh yes, there are rules.
---even if you are walking past the pool, the children must have armbands on. In the main pool it is one adult to one child. He will let you know if you try with two, he will ask you to leave!
so, with two adults and three children, we couldn't actually all swim in the pool, based on these rules...hmm. Whilst I appreciate the safety aspect, this is OTT. Had we known, we would not have booked here, but actually, on reflection we applaude the attention to safety. It's just a little OTT.
-A/C is 27 euros a week, essential.
-don't bother with the pool view, not worth the extra (we had one room with, one without).
-noise is minimal, don't listen to the other reviews, they must have had all the windows open getting bitten by the mossies!
-surrounding area is tatty
-supermarket is 1min walk and fairly cheap
-allowed food in room
-bar in hotel is non-existent
-beach is ok, 30 sec walk across road.
--best beach is opposite The Oasis hotel, a 20m walk away...abfab.
---put La Playa in Oasis' position and you have perfection.
----oasis looked realllllly shabby in comparison.
-bus in to town is 70cent per person and runs 30/00 past hr. 5 mins into Alghero old town

Old town Alghero
-Go for the horse over the train (you will know when you go)
-Everywhere will take a strip off you. We sat down for coffee. 22 euros for five drinks. thanks.

Airport
-15mins drive, perfect.

so overall, beautiful holiday in a lovely family hotel that really cares for it's guests, best food in Alghero by a mile.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank harborne_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Hotel La Playa it truely an amazing place to stay. Staff could not have been friendlier and more helpful. The hotel was spotless and the food as good as any of the high end restraunts we tried in the main town.
Highly highly recomended

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aBristolgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Loved it!
The cats, the dog (14 year old Kika!), the wonderful sisters running the reception during the daytime, well almost everything and everyone.
The pool area was nice allthough we preferred feeling sand between our toes and the beach being only 100 metres away that was our choice for all days but one.
Lido Beach is ok, with great water. Maria Pia Beach is a bit far from the hotel but has nicer surroundings with trees and bushes on smallish sand dunes looking down on it.

Rooms ok, with so so sheets and bed, but quite alright for the price. Balconys on third floor have no walls between them and the next one so no privacy there.

Had dinner in the hotel restaurant once and it wasn't as good as many of the places in the old town or at Daps (one block away), but still ok.

The best thing though, was the FANTASTIC breakfast buffet. Never experienced such a good breakfast in this kind of budget hotel near the Mediterranean. Used to dry buns, some ham, jam and maybe som yogurt. Here they offer you:

- scrambled eggs (perfect)
- toast
- buns
- different kinds of marmalade
- three kinds of juices
- three or more kinds of meats (prosciutto and salami included)
- two kinds of cheese
- three kinds of cereal
- couple of yogurts
- watermelon and other fruits
- two kinds of cakes
- croissants

Bloody near perfect breakfast being the most important meal of the day...

All'n'all this would be the only hotel I would stay in if I was to come back. And then I'm not a creature of habit.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mozzer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Just returned from a most relaxing weeks holiday spent in a beautiful hotel with excellent staff and wonderful food. Great quiet pool, nice and peaceful, beach was only 200 mtrs away but not required. You don't even have to bring a book, the hotel has it's own "mini" book library which you can get an book and read and relax by a lovely pool.
Food here is excellent and served ny the friendliest taff you are likely to meet. Met lots of guests who keep coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryM33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

. We stayed at the Hotel La Playa in July 2009. We had visited Alghero once before and loved the via lido area and stayed in the Florida which was lovely. However the Hotel La Playa is a much more romantic and traditional hotel and is family run. Nestled nicely on a quiet road just a minute from the beach the rooms were very quiet, very spacious and immaculately cleaned every day. The staff were very friendly and the food was lovely. We had a really wonderful relaxing holiday, the pool is kept very clean and the gardens surrounding the pool and outside restaurant was beautiful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank LDH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

My wife and I stayed in La Playa previously in July 2007 and were so impressed we decided to return.
We could not fault the standard of the service and the food was better than we remembered.
The proprietor, Salvatore could not have made us more welcome and on several occasions prepared special local dishes for us which were not on the menu.
All the staff went out of there way to make our holiday special and Salvatore's sisters, Giulia and Franca were very welcoming.
Please try this Hotel if you would like to experience wonderful Sardinian cuisine and superb service.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philthesaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.2 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#9 of 49 in Alghero
883 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Piras
Hotel Villa Piras
#12 of 49 in Alghero
228 reviews
1.9 mi away
Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
989 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#13 of 49 in Alghero
750 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Il Gabbiano
Hotel Il Gabbiano
#25 of 49 in Alghero
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Playa

Address: Via Pantelleria 14, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: £88 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent 3 star hotel in Alghero, Sardinia. 150 mt. to the sandy beach and close to the Catalan Old town. Hotel facilites: 33 double rooms with private bath, air conditioned, restaurant, swimming-pool, jacuzzi, garden, ourdoor pool-side lunch and evening dinner. Good value for quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Playa Alghero
La Playa Hotel
Hotel La Playa Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing