We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Marco
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Alghero
alicante, spain
Level Contributor
141 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed here almost by mistake (didn't book anywhere in Alghero, and didn't think it would be so difficult to find somewhere). The hotel is basic, and the four stars look a little suspect (well, unless you get a room at the last minute for one night, then the bill looks like one for a four star hotel). Rooms are average but clean, breakfast is average (poor coffee) and although you can't really complain, it's all a little so-so (staff are professional and friendly, though). Saying this, if the weather's good, the beach is just outside, and the town centre a 20-minute stroll away. If the sun isn't shining, though, it all looks a bit bleak.

Be warned that this is only a summer hotel- this year (2012) it closes its doors on 5th October until next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grooverjlazerus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    54
    71
    57
    28
See reviews for
50
133
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

The overall feeling over the hotel is plainly; decent. I stayed at Hotel San Marco for two weeks and got a pretty good feeling how things worked.

There are a few things that actually were good and I'll start with them:

* The location of the hotel is right at the Lido beach and there's a ~20min walk to the old town.
* Supermarket around the corner.
* The cleanliness and the cleaning ladies! Tip them well.
* Staff being helpful without that fake enthusiasm that you tend to get at hotels.

There are however a handful of negative, close to awful things regarding this hotel:

* San Marco themselves claim that they're a 4star hotel with their forth star glued on their own sign, says a lot eh.
* The overall greed regarding this "4star" hotel is beyond me. When you take a cheaper hotel you tend to have a understanding that the standard will be what you pay for. On Hotel San Marco they will charge you for everything, including the change of room towels and bed sheets if you want it changed more than once a week. Being 2012 you assume that the WiFi will be free of charge, but no. Their private beach sun beds? No. Air condition? No. There were times when I wondered that when checking out I would receive a bill for breathing the hotel's air or flushing the toilets to many times.
* The breakfast at hotel San Marco is something that equals a child's vague standards with heartburn cereal, chocolate spread and, some sweet bread like croissants and ... that's right, that's all. I understand that Italian breakfast culture can be compared to a child's, but I would assume a hotel that hosts plenty of Scandinavian guests would take it into consideration. Again the greed comes to mind. I do not demand a breakfast worthy of a king, I do however want a broader selection of edible food. What amazes me is that you got Italy, where the food is insanely awesome. Then you got San Marco that can't afford to offer all those wonderfully good cheeses, bread, ham and salami that's right there around the corner.

Our overall experience of hotel San Marco is decent, the location makes up some but not all negative things. The hotel's restaurant is decent, you can and will get 10 times the food for the price in the old town. (I've made plenty of reviews regarding Alghero restaurants.) I would also recommend just going to the supermarket and picking up local cheese, hams, bread, olives and wine for lunch on the balcony (which of course, depending on location can be horrible and small) if you have one.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mikebike_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

This was my second time in this hotel -and I like it mostly due to its location next to the (private) beach where you get to keep your sunbed for the entire day. The hotel also have a swimmingpool although with only just a few sunbeds available. If you book a seafront room, you´ll have great views across the Alghero bay. The downside is that you also get the noise from the beach bars & traffic. However it did not bother me that much. With windows closed, shutters down and the aircondition on I slept like an angel. My room was quite spacious, around 30 sq. mt. and I will ask for the same room next time I return, because I sure will! The biggest issue for me was that wi-fi is only available at the ground floor (incl. restaurant) and at € 2/hour. In 2012 I expect free wi-fi all over , especially in a 4-star hotel. I only met friendly staff and was well pleased with the cleanliness. Breakfast was OK (standardish hotel-).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea have the best views (but may also be more noisier at night)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ullert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Don't be fooled.
The hotel is filthy, bad service, staff with a bad attitude and rats are running around ind the lounge and around the pool.
And pool that has sides with running black oil. The beds are like boards. A guy is hammering on a horrible organ eeeeevery night til 00.00 so if you dont book with a direct sea view you will not sleep at all!!!!!!!
The beach is ok but there are better beaches alle over the island.
I have travelled a lot - this is the worst hotel EVER.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jumme67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomenicoC65, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel San Marco, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
I am really sorry to see that some people do anything just to recieve a discount on prices in to day travelling.

This Client stayed in the Hotel omn High Season with more than 230 clients in Hotel.
How come with an full Hotel only this Client see this fantomatic Rat in the lounge on the day on his departure when he was going to pay for his nights and extras.
He was for a long time disputing with the Receptionists of prices discounts ecc.........
After not reciving the dicount he would like he go on trip advisor writing about Rats in an 4 star Hotel. It is sad that the client always have right this is absolutly correct but in some cases like this, persons who go on vacancy and holidays only to recieve discounts and money should stay home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alghero hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Landstuhl, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

A little above an average typical beach hotel - with private beach access, piano player, huge lounge area, and private Tui reservationist (for the Netherlands, I believe)... So in saying that, it does come with very nice things. Staff wasn't overly friendly (but I think that's more of an Italian thing? Not sure... It seemed like the majority of the people there were not very friendly, but I'm going to chalk it up to it being a different culture. Although the owner of the little restaurant next door gaffed about her people being racist. Which was a little awkward since she only addressed my boyfriend who is white and I'm very brown). Anyway... the prices for Alghero hotels can be a bit steep so the money we paid was reasonable for this area. And I believe the hotel accomodations are all pretty much the same so shop around a bit because we saw loads of beautiful apartments which I thought may have been a better option since we weren't getting the great customer service anyway. Oh yeah... bed wasn't comfortable and there was one iron for the whole hotel? What is that all about?

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler_Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Buganvillea
Residence Buganvillea
#38 of 51 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Soleado
Hotel Soleado
#32 of 51 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#20 of 51 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rina Hotel
Rina Hotel
#21 of 51 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#27 of 51 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#6 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marco

Property: Hotel San Marco
Address: Via Lido 57, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#20 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel San Marco, situated directly opposite one of the best stretches of the Lido Beach. The white fine sand blends with the surrounding sea colours and gives all the emotions that one expects from the Mediterranean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Alghero
San Marco Hotel
Hotel San Marco Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing