We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but not a 4* hotel in my opinion.”
Review of Hotel San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Marco
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice but not a 4* hotel in my opinion.”
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is alright and the same for their service.
It's walking distans from the old town, like 20 minute.
Beach bed in front of the hotel is from 6 euro and up (2 beds and umbrella).
Breakfast is typical Italian hotel breakfast not stunning but eatable and their coffe is really a disappointment..!!
Cleaning at the rooms, well in my oppion a 4* hotel need clean sheets more than 1 time in one week and the same goes for towels, I was very dissatisfied with it. But otherwise the room was nice and clean.
People at the bar where friendly and the same was the service at the beach.
All in all its an alright hotel, but does not deserve 4* in my book.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisfeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    56
    73
    57
    28
See reviews for
51
136
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Myre
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The hotel is nicely located by one of the nice beaches in Alghero. The hotel looks in pretty good condition and kept nice and clean. The breakfast was under pari (they got ok fruits but no eggs or any warm food. just some cold slices of meat, cheese, artificial jam, youghurt and dry white bread and you had to keep asking for everything as they were empty of most of the things). The rooms: Unfortunately its very noisy! There cant be any kind of isolation between the floors or in the walls. You hear absolutely everything from the rooms beside, under and above and for that reason we stayed there only 4 night and got our selves another hotel instead. Its really not worth staying in Hotel San Marco cause of the noise that keeps you awake all night. The hotel also charge you for absolutely everything you can imagine! 2Euro for 1hour wit wifi where you have to sit in the lobby in order to get decent signal (wifi 7Euro for one day). Novadays most of the hotels around thw world gives you good wifi for free. They change the towels only ONCE a weeks which must be new record of being cheap/unclean! 7Euro for changing the towels if you need clean ones. On top of that they EVEN charge you 5Euro for use of the aircontition each day!!... I cant understand were this hotel has got their 4 stars cause they are lightyears away from even 2stars (we stayed at another 3stars hotel that was far more better, got free wifi, excellent breakfast and new clean towels every day)This Italians at San Marco really know how to get rid of customers and we will never reccomend this hotel to anyone. Stay clear

Room Tip: Extremely noisy rooms! Choose another hotel unless your deaf cause here you really cant get any slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balsam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alghero hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
alicante, spain
Level Contributor
148 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed here almost by mistake (didn't book anywhere in Alghero, and didn't think it would be so difficult to find somewhere). The hotel is basic, and the four stars look a little suspect (well, unless you get a room at the last minute for one night, then the bill looks like one for a four star hotel). Rooms are average but clean, breakfast is average (poor coffee) and although you can't really complain, it's all a little so-so (staff are professional and friendly, though). Saying this, if the weather's good, the beach is just outside, and the town centre a 20-minute stroll away. If the sun isn't shining, though, it all looks a bit bleak.

Be warned that this is only a summer hotel- this year (2012) it closes its doors on 5th October until next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grooverjlazerus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The overall feeling over the hotel is plainly; decent. I stayed at Hotel San Marco for two weeks and got a pretty good feeling how things worked.

There are a few things that actually were good and I'll start with them:

* The location of the hotel is right at the Lido beach and there's a ~20min walk to the old town.
* Supermarket around the corner.
* The cleanliness and the cleaning ladies! Tip them well.
* Staff being helpful without that fake enthusiasm that you tend to get at hotels.

There are however a handful of negative, close to awful things regarding this hotel:

* San Marco themselves claim that they're a 4star hotel with their forth star glued on their own sign, says a lot eh.
* The overall greed regarding this "4star" hotel is beyond me. When you take a cheaper hotel you tend to have a understanding that the standard will be what you pay for. On Hotel San Marco they will charge you for everything, including the change of room towels and bed sheets if you want it changed more than once a week. Being 2012 you assume that the WiFi will be free of charge, but no. Their private beach sun beds? No. Air condition? No. There were times when I wondered that when checking out I would receive a bill for breathing the hotel's air or flushing the toilets to many times.
* The breakfast at hotel San Marco is something that equals a child's vague standards with heartburn cereal, chocolate spread and, some sweet bread like croissants and ... that's right, that's all. I understand that Italian breakfast culture can be compared to a child's, but I would assume a hotel that hosts plenty of Scandinavian guests would take it into consideration. Again the greed comes to mind. I do not demand a breakfast worthy of a king, I do however want a broader selection of edible food. What amazes me is that you got Italy, where the food is insanely awesome. Then you got San Marco that can't afford to offer all those wonderfully good cheeses, bread, ham and salami that's right there around the corner.

Our overall experience of hotel San Marco is decent, the location makes up some but not all negative things. The hotel's restaurant is decent, you can and will get 10 times the food for the price in the old town. (I've made plenty of reviews regarding Alghero restaurants.) I would also recommend just going to the supermarket and picking up local cheese, hams, bread, olives and wine for lunch on the balcony (which of course, depending on location can be horrible and small) if you have one.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mikebike_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This was my second time in this hotel -and I like it mostly due to its location next to the (private) beach where you get to keep your sunbed for the entire day. The hotel also have a swimmingpool although with only just a few sunbeds available. If you book a seafront room, you´ll have great views across the Alghero bay. The downside is that you also get the noise from the beach bars & traffic. However it did not bother me that much. With windows closed, shutters down and the aircondition on I slept like an angel. My room was quite spacious, around 30 sq. mt. and I will ask for the same room next time I return, because I sure will! The biggest issue for me was that wi-fi is only available at the ground floor (incl. restaurant) and at € 2/hour. In 2012 I expect free wi-fi all over , especially in a 4-star hotel. I only met friendly staff and was well pleased with the cleanliness. Breakfast was OK (standardish hotel-).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea have the best views (but may also be more noisier at night)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ullert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#21 of 49 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Buganvillea
Residence Buganvillea
#37 of 49 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Soleado
Hotel Soleado
#33 of 49 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#22 of 49 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rina Hotel
Rina Hotel
#20 of 49 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#4 of 49 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marco

Property: Hotel San Marco
Address: Via Lido 57, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#19 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel San Marco, situated directly opposite one of the best stretches of the Lido Beach. The white fine sand blends with the surrounding sea colours and gives all the emotions that one expects from the Mediterranean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Alghero
San Marco Hotel
Hotel San Marco Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing