We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view and Excellent service”
Review of Hotel San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Marco
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing view and Excellent service”
Reviewed 9 December 2010

We had a sea view room , hotel is just at the beautiful beach, great service and cannot fault any thing. only thing if they can improve their breakfast will be another plus but over all it was very comfortable experience. we will go there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claredonnovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    56
    73
    57
    28
See reviews for
51
136
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gamla Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2010

The loccation is perfect and the beach is just across the road. The city is located just a nice 15 min walk. We can highly recomend the pizza at the restaurant La Terazza. Every Thursday they also have a barbeque evening. They had a pianist that played every night.
The room was cleaned every day.
Part of the staff could speak Swedish as well

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnersta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Nice, clean hotel with good location. The sea view room was much better than the regular one... Breakfast was a bit small but good.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennaa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

My boyfriend and I arrived on the morning that the hotel opened and we were very shocked when we got to the front door at 8am and it was locked. It would have been nice to have been notified of that- especially since we were not allowed in until noon (we usually drop off our luggage at the hotel before we walk around.) When we were finally let in, we had troubles getting into our room- the key card wasn't working. The man at the front desk was rather rude, and it took 3 times going down to the front desk to have the problem solved. Also, the pool was not open, since it was the first day, but other hotels in the area had theirs open, so it was a bit disappointing. Other than that, we had a great stay at this hotel. The hotel was very clean, and the cleaning staff was very friendly. Our room was very bright and spacious, and it also had a balcony, which was nice.
The breakfast was a typical Italian one; lots of bread and coffee. There was also fresh fruit and some cereals. Definitely not a huge spread, but satisfying. The walk to the Old Town is pretty long- about 15 minutes for us, and we have very long legs and walk pretty fast. Although it sounds bad, it really wasn't. The walk is on a nice sidewalk along the beach. The views make it enjoyable. If you're not at all into long walks, rent a bike for 10 euros. It came in very handy for us, especially since most of the other sights can be reached by bike. All in all, we had a very good stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaitmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

We stayed in this hotel for one week in June (me, husband and 20 month old baby). The room was nice and clean and we were glad we payed extra for a sea view balcony. We were on a half board plus package which included breakfast, lunch and an evening meal. We found it excellent value for money as we also had water, wine or beer with lunch and dinner. The waiting staff had limited english but we got by, they were very good with our son and very accommdating and kept him entertained! We spent the days on the beach which was just accross the road and found the sunbeds were cheaper than described by other people (6 euros a day for 2 sunbeds and a parasol), the only downside was the people selling things on the beach hassling us all the time.
We found the staff on reception very helpful and always had a smile on their faces even though we complained abouot the air con!
We ate out one night (birthday) and found we payed 50 euros for 1 starter, 2 meals and wine! So were very glad we had full board plus option.
For families we would recommend the park which is situated in the centre of town opposite the garage, our son also enjoyed the train which took us on a tour around the town. The buses were also good if you wanted to save your legs, but they were not always on time.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizzardcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Myself, husband and two friends returned for the 3rd time to the San Marco for the first two weeks in September. After reading recent reviews I was extremely worried that the hotel had declined badly from our visit two years ago but we were all once again very happy with our experience.
With regard to reports of problems with cleanliness in the hotel and rooms, I find it hard to understand how anyone can say this. The hotel is not brand new and the rooms are simple but it is spotlessly clean in the marble foyer, dining room (which we only used for breakfast a couple of times) all the public areas and the bedrooms. We received clean towels every day and our room was cleaned every day.
The staff - in particular Mimo on the front desk are friendly and helpful (a smile goes a long way to help) and we would have no hesitation in returning. The location in Alghero cannot be beat - cross the road to a beautiful sandy beach, there are lovely restaurants and a few bars around you and you can walk to the old town in 20 minutes if you want a bigger variety.
I'm not saying the hotel is 5 star with all amenities but it is certainly not deserving of the terrible recent reviews.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

The hotel was clean and it was on the beach and that is about all that was nice about it. The employees of this hotel could benefit from a course in good manners and in learning how to smile. None of the cups, plates, glasses etc in the restaurant were whole, all had cracks and look like they were leftovers fraom a garasje sale or advertising campain. You could not get a clean towel og even rent one if the original one you got become dirty. And so on....

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sissi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alghero hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#21 of 49 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Buganvillea
Residence Buganvillea
#41 of 49 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Soleado
Hotel Soleado
#33 of 49 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#22 of 49 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rina Hotel
Rina Hotel
#20 of 49 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#4 of 49 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marco

Property: Hotel San Marco
Address: Via Lido 57, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#19 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel San Marco, situated directly opposite one of the best stretches of the Lido Beach. The white fine sand blends with the surrounding sea colours and gives all the emotions that one expects from the Mediterranean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Alghero
San Marco Hotel
Hotel San Marco Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing