We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location nice staff”
Review of Hotel El Balear

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Balear
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

I was surprised that this hotel seemed so low in the pecking order in Alghero. I stayed one night at the end of a cycling trip. Thought Alhero was lovely and was very happy with hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidewinder4504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel which is a very short walk away from the centre of the lovely old town of Alghero. The staff on reception were very friendly, even making us a coffee and giving us a croissant as we left early before the breakfast opened. Room was comfortable, if a little old fashioned, not been updated since the 1970s! Bathroom also old fashioned but everything was serviceable and clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulu405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We arrived before the check in time, and were allowed leave our bags in a room until it was time to check in, our room was on the first floor sea view with a balcony and a separate closed in balcony which was great for the windy days. And the sun sets are out of this world. The bed was very big and comfortable the bathroom was well stocked with shampoo and shower gel and towels were changed whenever we left them out, the room was cleaned every day. Breakfast was lovely meats, cheese, breads, cakes, cereal, fruits, fresh juices bottled water, tea, coffee, drinking choc let and a lovely view in which to have your breakfast looking out over the sea front. There is a little court yard in the front of the hotel where you can sit and have a drink or just to chill out. Also out back there are benches in a little garden to just relax, you can rent out bikes in the hotel one hr €3, half day €6, full day €8 and 3 days €20. They also have Internet which I thought was expensive at €3 an hr, and a safe in the office which you can leave your belongings for free. There is a 24hr bar in the hotel and is well stocked up. But the best part was the staff that was so friendly and helpful with a smile and a chat at any time day or night. We had such a lovely time we are planning our return trip for September.

Room Tip: Seaview at the front of the hotel for the Sun sets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mamodDublin_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I spent 4 nights during my trip to Alghero. I had a single room with balcony and seaview. The room was standard, but clean and OK. Breakfast was included. Good value for money.
Location of this hotel is perfet, with short walking distance to the Old Town. The sunset view is great to watch from the outside bararea.
I had a great welcome, and the staff was superb. They were friendly, adviseable and serviceminded. I rented a bike for 3 days, and got well around during my stay.
I will definitely come back to El Balear.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Our last night in Sardinia was spent at this lovely small hotel. We had a great sea view and also looked over a lovely courtyard garden. We had an early flight so would have missed breakfast, but the staff very obligingly provided coffee and croissants for us in the bar area.
Good location on the sea front; short stroll into tho old town.

Room Tip: Garden room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chow_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Here was our last night on Sardegna-trip.
Simple, clean room with small bathroom. Staff was very friendly, hotel-bar was well stocked with my brands.
Breakfast was quite good. I loved the front terace in the morning and evening.
Internet is only prepaid.
Hotel is really on the seeside and you can easily reach the Old Town centre by walking or cycling. If I ever go back to Sardegna for Hollidays, I think I will come with my dog too and I´ll choose this place. This City is really so dog-friendly and that makes me cool!

Room Tip: Rooms on north side don´t have nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MojcaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel. It is ideally located at the water front and close to the old town. The rooms are quiet and we had a very good sleep. The furniture looks quite shabby but the rooms are clean. The staff is very friendly.We liked the sea view during breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thoiry01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.3 mi away
La Margherita
La Margherita
#45 of 49 in Alghero
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Piras
Hotel Villa Piras
#12 of 49 in Alghero
223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alghero City Hotel
Alghero City Hotel
#31 of 49 in Alghero
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#16 of 49 in Alghero
487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#4 of 49 in Alghero
535 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#30 of 49 in Alghero
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Balear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Balear

Address: Lungomare Dante, 32, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: £56 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Balear 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Balear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Balear Hotel Alghero
El Balear Alghero
Hotel El Balear Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing