We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Francesco
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Hotel San Francesco is in a great location. It is a clean and comfortable hotel. Very simple breakfast of croissants and coffee. Couple staff members seemed a bit cranky, but we loved Marco, he was always helpful with a smile. I recommend:)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D1223chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2010

I stayed at this lovely hotel on 19th june 2010 untill 26th june and didnt want to leave.I came with my sister for a week as i would be spending my birthday there and wish we had stayed for 2.My sister had already been before and was just as good as her last stay.The hotel itself is ideally located and very clean.The staff are all fantastic and i like this hotel and alghero so much i have booked to go back in September, my best holiday by far....Cant wait to go again and will be recommending this hotel to everyone i know..thankyou to all the staff....Jayne, England

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayney2540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

This is my second visit to this wonderful hotel and I have already booked a third trip in September! This is the only hotel in the old town and is close to all the shops and restaurants. The hotel itself is basic but very clean and the staff are both helpful and Friendly. We stayed in a room overlooking the Cloisters which was fantastic. Breakfast is served in the cloisters and is very peaceful. The weather unfornately on this occasion was not good but we hope for better weather in September when we return to Hotel San Francesco!! We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the old town.
See you in September!!! Jackie & Jayne

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 9quinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

This great little hotel is conveniently sited for budget travellers - within easy walking distance of the main bus terminal. I had no trouble booking by e-mail - all they asked for was credit card details, and no deposit was required. The room was clean and comfortable, and though it was small, the facilities were perfectly adequate for me as a solo female traveller. I loved the location - the fact that the hotel was in a former convent in a quiet street in the centre of the old town gave it a special ambience. Reception staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful - checking ferry timetables for me and helping me sort out travel arrangements. Breakfast (which I found perfectly adequate) is included in the tariff, and I was impressed by the excellent espresso coffee and the freshly baked croissants. Although it was too cold to sit out in the cloisters, they made an inviting breakfast area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kokako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We stayed here only for a couple of nights but we'd booked ahead and managed to get a double room opening onto the cloisters instead of a window onto the streets outside. There are only 2 rooms that do that (there are other rooms on the 2nd floor which have windows that overlook the cloisters but do not open onto them as is only possible on the 1st floor). The room was spacious, comfortable, plenty of space to put your clothes and any other items. The bathroom was a small but perfectly formed wet room with a tiny window. There are enough clean towels for 2/3 people and basic toiletries (soap and shampoo/shower) are provided.
The church which the cloisters belong to is on the "main street" in old town Alghero. you can access the ground floor of the Cloisters through the church - and it is free.
At night, however, no one is in the cloisters and so that's when the room opening onto them becomes truly magical.
Breakfast is served on the first floor 8-10am in a small room in the corner of the cloisters but also has table and chairs outside so you may absorb your surroundings whilst eating breakfast. You are given an exact amount "anything over that will be seen as extra" and therefore chargeable. Is it entirely enough however: a roll, butter, preservatives, packed small fried toast/bread, a pastry, a juice and a coffee. You are also asked to vacate your room between 9.30-10.30 for the maids, who do an exceptional job in 10 minutes flat.
The reception staff are extremely hospitable and a real pleasure.
Upon arriving, you will have to buzz to enter, you must also always leave your key at reception (the weight of it helps you agree with this) and so will need to buzz every time you go back to the hotel. This is not a problem and it is done to preserve the peace and space of the cloisters which dates back to the 14th century and is not a public space.

There is a (small) wifi/computer area just as you arrive on the first floor, should you wish to use it.

The hotel is in a great place, very central and placed in the beautiful old streets. If you visit Alghero and are looking for a wonderful (albeit basic) place to stay, this is it. It's amazing how silent it is in the cloisters at night - and being able to climb through your window onto them when no one else (bar one room) can is an exclusively peaceful sensation.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swissrmeadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Room was spartan and bathroom tiny which made it impossible to multitask !
Breakfast was equally basic.. But the cloister is wonderfully quiet and the staff extremely helpful and friendly. Hotel San Francesco is perfect for a short stay in Alghero.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pvoyageuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

This place is different : swop tv for gentle peace, trade flash decor for classy cloister and replace the rush to a cramped sun-bed with a brilliant position in the old town. I was really unsure on arrival but go with the flow here as its the best bargain in Alghero. The internet's cheap, the wine's only 6euros a bottle and they have ...Saint Frank. Honestly, Frank on reception couldn't be more patient +helpful, genuinly caring and will give invaluable information.
Only one coffee for breakfast yes,but its an excellent cappucinno and your within yards of a chice of tiny pastry, pizza places.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank squirrelskinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.2 mi away
La Margherita
La Margherita
#45 of 49 in Alghero
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alghero City Hotel
Alghero City Hotel
#32 of 49 in Alghero
560 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Piras
Hotel Villa Piras
#12 of 49 in Alghero
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Alghero Resort Country Hotel
1.0 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#8 of 49 in Alghero
885 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francesco

Address: Via Ambrogio Machin No. 2, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Price Range: £49 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francesco 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francesco Hotel
San Francesco Alghero
Hotel San Francesco Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing