We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of apartment V42 next to Eucaliipti”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residenza Gli Eucalipti
Ranked #107 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Alghero
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beware of apartment V42 next to Eucaliipti”
Reviewed 23 July 2009

I booked the apartment through Buxis travel Services (Sardinia) and originally was allocated an apartment in Bouganvillea; then told that we would have to stay at another apartment next door to Gli Eucalipti. The apartment, I was told was of the same standard as those in the Gli Eucalipt complex and we could use the pool etc. I was told the apartment had a sea view, whiich we had to pay extra for. We arrived late at night and were given keys to apartment V42 - this was a few blocks from Eucalipti and was in no way the same standard - the apartment was severely damp (a paperback book started to 'curl' within ten minutes), the mattresses were wet and only someone with a serious squint would have a sea view! There was no air conditioning. On complaining to Buxis, the owners of Eucalipti moved us to another apartment , B31- again not within the Eucalipti complex but it was of a much better standard and came with air conditioning. It dd not have a sea view.
We did use the pool at Eucalipti which was goodalthough we had to complain about some local boys who came in to use the pool and created a lot of noise, gave up cheek and were spitting in pool.
When settling the bill, I pointed out that we wanted a refund for not getting an apartment with a sea view. At first I was told that we wouldn't get this because we had been moved to a 'better' apartment. I argued that we had been moved since the first apartment was not in a suitable condition. I hadn't asked to be moved to a 'better' apartment, just a suitable one. Eventually the management relented.
However I would NOT recommend booking a holiday at this complex via an agency; would not accept apartment V42 (it was no more than a dank, dismal dungeon) and I would clarify with the management exactly what you are getting before you go.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aileenmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    26
    29
    21
    8
See reviews for
45
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
donegal
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

I only have one negative comment about this accomodation but it overshadowed everything else... NOISE!!!!!!...I was prepared for a bit of noise reading previous reviews so I made sure I took some earplugs. Our room overlooked the main road so there was a lot of traffic noise & also there was a family of elephants living in the apartment next door which didnt help. However...the earplugs managed to cover most of this. What we weren't prepared for was the continual dog barking day (and mostly night) from a campsite across the road. We closed the shutters and window which helped a bit but as there was no airconditioning the heat started to build up....thank god we didn't go during the hotter months of July or August. I had intended to mention this to the girl on reception(portacabin) but her English was very poor so I didn't bother. However if youre deaf or can sleep through anything this could be the place to go if you want value for money. It is located beside the beach which has pleaseant sea breezes. Also the pool is nice as well. Very handy to get to from the airport as the bus stop is 100yds away. Nice walk into town if you enjoy a pleasant stroll. Beautiful old town although entertainment limited apart from restaurants which seem to all have the same menu . The Algheran people are lovely and had few problems with the language.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank billybastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

We stayed in these apartments in March this year , the apartments are lovely and they are spotless clean and they have everything you would need. They are across the road from the beach which is brillant in the high season, the only draw back is they are so far from the town and its a very long walk about a mile if not more, the taxis are a rip off. We paid 23 euro form airport we did not mind that, but one taxi wanted 25 euro from the old town to the apartments, that annoyed us . loved the apartments but just out to far from the town also ther is no reception

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank bock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2008

The apartments here are very basic, but clean. Our party of four stayed in a two room apartment. The site says it can sleep six, with a pull out couch in the living room it is possible. There is a kitchen with a stove top, small fridge, and a market down the street so you can cook "at home" if you are on a budget. Our room overlooked the pool which was very nice. A few negatives: the walls/ceilings are paper thin and our downstairs neighbors were extrememly loud and you could hear eveything. The shower in the bathroom does not keep the water in without some care, so the first day we had an inch of standing water in the bathroom. Other than that it was a good place to have on the island. The beach is directly across the street, and the town center is about a 20 minute walk. We rented bikes, which was a great way to get around the island and was convenient to the apartments. Our flight was later in the day, and check out is at 10:00 but they offer a luggage room and showers at their other residence Bouganvelia. So we were able to spend our last day lounging at the beach and swiming, and were able to freshen up before our flight and not worry about our luggage. A great service.

  • Liked — Affordable, clean, close to the bach
  • Disliked — shower, sparse
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank trish_dadish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

Just got back from a week in Alghero, had an amazing week, the old town is lovely and beaches beautiful. The bus from the airport is a steal at less than a euro, we stayed in apaprtment residence buganvilea and residence eucalipti - would higly recommend the linen and towels are extra as we booked direct and the cleaning charge is an extra 30euro's. didnt think the aparments were dirty, the pool was lovely but really cold - both pools were...pizza al metro which is next to one of the apartments does the best pizza...we went twice in a week.

WWW.RESIDENCEUCALIPTI.IT if you want to book direct.

i would highly recommend for couples of familys with small kids...make sure you get an apartment thats not facing the road as can be noisy...i hope this helps!

Helpful?
Thank bennoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2008

We stayed at Gli Eucalipti for five nights. We had a two bedroom apartment with the main bedroom balcony looking onto the pool and the living area balcony looking onto another property through some conifers. The apartment was clean and roomy with basic kitchen and simple decor. We were very happy staying here and recommend this residence. We also spent four days at Buganvillea apartments (owned by the same mob) which is located a few minutes walk down Via Lido towards town. The apartment had the same decor and again was clean but this time we had a view of the sea so were happy with the change. We preferred this location as it was a shorter walk into town, admittedly only by five minutes, but with young children this can make all the difference. From this location it is still only a short walk to Pia Maria ( the nicest beach in walking distance- the kids loved the sand dunes !), a short walk to the Wedensday morning Market ( of which a visit is well worth it - can be found on Viale Eurpoa/Via Corsica), and a 20-30 minute walk along Via Lido to town. The staff are friendly and helpful. We would recommend Gli Eucalipti to anyone who doesn't mind a walk into town ( the bus is cheap and pleasant - tickets are 70 cents from any tabacchi, buy enough tickets for a return trip), who is happy to have basic, simple, clean decor (possible a little tired) and who wants value for money. Even though there are no sea views at Gli Eucalipti we found the surroundings pleasant enough.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — The stove worked intermittently and when used 3 burners it blew the fuse
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank belubyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2008

Just returned from a great holiday to Alghero. Have been many times, and still does not fail to deliver. With the strength of the euro, we were looking to maximise our sterling by staying in apartments rather than a hotel.
Booked the Eucalipti after reading Tripadvisor, and agree with the reviewer re: the pool view rooms. The accommodation was basic, but clean and what we expected after reading the reviews.
Booking directly with them was very easy, as was sorting out a taxi from the airport.
Clean rooms, furnished simply - pool great, and better than many in the area. Distance from town could have been an issue, but bike hire (including a tagalong for the 5 year old) sorted that out. Recommend the cycle hire by the marina - the only tagalong in Alghero, we think, from the stares we got from the locals.
Would not recommend in high summer as no air con, but other than that, would return again.

  • Liked — VFM
  • Disliked — No air con
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulNotts67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Buganvillea
Residence Buganvillea
#43 of 49 in Alghero
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Europa
Residence Europa
#33 of 49 in Alghero
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Playa
Hotel La Playa
#25 of 49 in Alghero
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Soleado
Hotel Soleado
#28 of 49 in Alghero
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#7 of 49 in Alghero
837 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#24 of 49 in Alghero
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Gli Eucalipti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Gli Eucalipti

Property: Residenza Gli Eucalipti
Address: Via Lido 77/127, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Gli Eucalipti 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residenza Gli Eucalipti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Gli Eucalipti Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing