We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, close to beaches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residenza Gli Eucalipti
Ranked #115 of 148 Speciality Lodging in Alghero
Reviewed 2 January 2011

This complex is on the via Lido and 5 mins walk (basically cross the road and walk through the pines) from Maria Pia beach so good location. The entrance is a bit tricky for cars as you have to use key to open gate while your back end is still on a busy road but parking inside is secure. You pay for an alloted space but sometimes others park there if it is easier which is annoying. Pool was unheated so only for the young and foolish in late october - the sea was much warmer! Apartment slept 4 in 1 bedroom with sofa bed in living room. Small basic kitchen facilities but I wasnt cooking much anyway. Bathroom small with poor flow shower, water heater that could only cope with 1 1/2 showers at a time, and shower/ curtain arrangement that meant water went all over rest of bathroom. Beds ok and adequate storage. A/c was heater also and was very efficient. For the price and its convenient location we were happy enough as it was really only a place to sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2010

Just back from a week in Alghero with 3 friends and had a 2 bedroom apartment in residenza gli eucalipti.Basic accomodation but very clean and was more than adequate for our stay.~the location is perfect and it much cheaper to eat in the surrounding restaurants instead of the marina area .You are ideally located between two large beaches ,maria pia on your left just a short walk and the main lido on your left.Large supermarket is a 5 min walk one street back heading into the town ,but there is a small shop just across the road in the campsite that has all you need for breakfast and lunches.Linen and towels were changed during our stay which was great as everything was very sandy.Our apartment looked out onto neighbours apartments but we spent so little time in the apartment it wasnt a problem.Large pool at rear of apartment that was very refreshing after day on beach.Noise can be heard from other rooms but never enough to disturb sleep.Weather played a large part in our enjoyment as we were out and about all the time.Standard of apartment might not be as high as some people would like but what you get is very clean apartment in an ideal location .Would return to Alghero as it is a beautiful place and would recommend these apartments as good value accomodation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m00nfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We rented 2 apartments to accommodate 13 of us. Both apartments were very basic and appeared on arrival to be clean except for the floors. The lady at reception was very polite, knowledgeable and helpful although this could not be said about other locals. We stayed in apartment 31 a three bedroomed, 1 bathroom near the pool area. The lounge opened up on to a balcony and we had adequate seating for all of us. The kitchen was a little too basic, there was a 4 ring hob and no grill or oven. We had plenty of plates, cups, glasses and cutlery but only 3 bowls so had to have a rota for breakfast cereals. We requested that the air conditioning was switched on and we had a problem with one unit which was repaired very quickly.

The bedrooms had comfortable beds and wardrobe but only bedside tables so we had to put all our cosmetics and toiletries on the floor. There is also no mirrors in any of the rooms except the bathroom. The wardrobes had plenty of storage and spare pillows and blankets.

The bathroom in this particular apartment was badly designed, the toilet and bidet are the wrong way around. There is a small shower with a very shallow tray so bathroom flooding was a real problem. One member of our party had a shower and the water was running in to the hall. People had to donate towels to soak up excess water every time the shower was used and with 7 people this was a concern. The toilet faced the shower and you had to sit sideways to avoid being tangled in the shower curtain or getting soaked feet.

The pool area was very clean and you could smell the chlorine in the water. Unfortunately, the Italians insisted on reserving sun beds all day even though they only ever spent an hour by the pool. One member of our party used a sunbed that had not been occupied for several hours only to be showered with a torrent of abuse.

We ventured to the old town and what a delight, narrow cobbled streets and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars. We walked down in the evening where this town comes to life and a street market opens until midnight. The walk is long and will take 40 minutes, I suggest taking the local bus to the old town and strolling home.

Overall an enjoyable holiday mainly for the company than the location, Sardinia has some wonderful picturesque places but the local people spoil it by throwing rubbish everywhere and being generally rude. If you want a bus ticket and are near the old town try the ticket office by the Esso garage and you will see what I mean about rude locals.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank supascuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

We have stayed in Eucalipti for 4 nights in october. I could not complain about these apartments, you get what you pay for. The place was overall very clean, you have small room, a hall with a kitchen which has all the equipment you need for cooking.

The best thing about these apartments is that it is close to local beach which is very nice and clean. there is also less people on the beach because it is not known by tourists.

If you go to Sardinia for a short trip, and the main purpuse is to go on beach, visit cities nearby then I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank radka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We stayed in aprtment nos 31, 29 and our last night in no 24 in the next door residence ! when i booked the 1 bed apartment back in june i was advised it was only avail for the first 5 nights of our stay then we would have to change to another apartment in the same res' for the final 2 nights, to which i agreed. when we arrived however i was told that we would have move twice ! Our last night we were to stay in the next door residence which was not part of eucalypti. When i challenged this however, i have to say it was dealt with quickly and efficiently and we agreed to it on the basis that we where not charged for the last night, which they agreed to do. The lady on reception ,Manuella ,was always very helpful and in our opinion doing her job well. On the whole i think the partments we stayed in were ok value, although charging for the bed linen is a bit cheeky.Tea towels for the kitchen would have been handy too !! ALso , it would have been more helpful if they had provided an info pack with bus info, attraction info etc in the apartments. The pool area was ok although it could do with more sun loungers. All of the staff we came across were alway pleasant .

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

I booked the apartment through Buxis travel Services (Sardinia) and originally was allocated an apartment in Bouganvillea; then told that we would have to stay at another apartment next door to Gli Eucalipti. The apartment, I was told was of the same standard as those in the Gli Eucalipt complex and we could use the pool etc. I was told the apartment had a sea view, whiich we had to pay extra for. We arrived late at night and were given keys to apartment V42 - this was a few blocks from Eucalipti and was in no way the same standard - the apartment was severely damp (a paperback book started to 'curl' within ten minutes), the mattresses were wet and only someone with a serious squint would have a sea view! There was no air conditioning. On complaining to Buxis, the owners of Eucalipti moved us to another apartment , B31- again not within the Eucalipti complex but it was of a much better standard and came with air conditioning. It dd not have a sea view.
We did use the pool at Eucalipti which was goodalthough we had to complain about some local boys who came in to use the pool and created a lot of noise, gave up cheek and were spitting in pool.
When settling the bill, I pointed out that we wanted a refund for not getting an apartment with a sea view. At first I was told that we wouldn't get this because we had been moved to a 'better' apartment. I argued that we had been moved since the first apartment was not in a suitable condition. I hadn't asked to be moved to a 'better' apartment, just a suitable one. Eventually the management relented.
However I would NOT recommend booking a holiday at this complex via an agency; would not accept apartment V42 (it was no more than a dank, dismal dungeon) and I would clarify with the management exactly what you are getting before you go.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aileenmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

I only have one negative comment about this accomodation but it overshadowed everything else... NOISE!!!!!!...I was prepared for a bit of noise reading previous reviews so I made sure I took some earplugs. Our room overlooked the main road so there was a lot of traffic noise & also there was a family of elephants living in the apartment next door which didnt help. However...the earplugs managed to cover most of this. What we weren't prepared for was the continual dog barking day (and mostly night) from a campsite across the road. We closed the shutters and window which helped a bit but as there was no airconditioning the heat started to build up....thank god we didn't go during the hotter months of July or August. I had intended to mention this to the girl on reception(portacabin) but her English was very poor so I didn't bother. However if youre deaf or can sleep through anything this could be the place to go if you want value for money. It is located beside the beach which has pleaseant sea breezes. Also the pool is nice as well. Very handy to get to from the airport as the bus stop is 100yds away. Nice walk into town if you enjoy a pleasant stroll. Beautiful old town although entertainment limited apart from restaurants which seem to all have the same menu . The Algheran people are lovely and had few problems with the language.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank billybastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Soleado
Hotel Soleado
#28 of 49 in Alghero
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Buganvillea
Residence Buganvillea
#42 of 49 in Alghero
113 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#21 of 49 in Alghero
636 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residenza Gardenia
Residenza Gardenia
#114 of 148 in Alghero
84 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Gli Eucalipti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Gli Eucalipti

Address: Via Lido 77/127, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 148 Speciality Lodging in Alghero
Price Range: £47 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Gli Eucalipti 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residenza Gli Eucalipti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Gli Eucalipti Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing