We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a cheap place to stay in a lovely spot.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Buganvillea
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The apartment was fine for two, very spacious. 10 euro for safe key but air conditioning free, although it didn't really work. There was a TV but every channel in Italian - not even the CNN one you usually get. But really fine, and sheets and towels changed once during our week. Two minutes to the beach and a lovely half hour stroll to the old town. 15 minutes from the airport, taxi 25 euros, shuttle bus 1 euro. Mosquitoes were present but spray and a machine held them off.
The problem was the balcony. It was Room 20 pool view. It was first floor, in the inner corner of the L shaped building so the balcony on the other side of the L was practically opposite about a metre away and looked straight into our bedroom as we looked into theirs. So could never have the window open. It got no sun at all during the week and was above the kitchens to the restaurant so very prominent cooking smells and clanging of pots. Top floor would probably have been OK and being September the main road side not as noisy as some reviews indicate.

Room Tip: Definitely try for a top floor apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunbossin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

Hi, stayed at Bouganvillea in early June 2012. Getting there was very easy 20e from the airport. I liked the place but couldn't fall in love with the place.

On the positives...
room was spacious
room + linen was very clean
great location
supermarket near by
working aircon
well equipped kitchen (needed to buy a sharp knife)

On the downside...
swimming pool was dirty.
the sun beds were DISGUSTING
MOSQUITOS
indecipherable recycling instructions

So these sunbeds, urghhhhh, I can handle the cheap white plastic sun beds but it was the suntan lotion...these beds have never been cleaned...I can handle a bit of muck, i'll even give things a clean myself but these beds were thick in clag, no sunbed kind of makes making use of the pool impossible.

Mosquitos - I'm sure the manager / cleaner who ever was trying to do us a favour by leaving the windows and doors open, fresh air, sea breeze...but that also brings with it MOSQUITOS. There's only one thing I hate more than mosquitoes and that's Piers Morgan and you wouldn't want to spend a night with him. Noticing this and their blood-lust I proceeded to squat them one by one by one by one, by the next day I had counted 40 mosquitos, they littered the floor like some kind of insect battle of Britain remake. Next day I bought a Raid plug in mosquito replant, i'll probably die of Raid induced cancer in 5 years time.

Alghero
The bay was very untidy, I was expecting pristine sand, blue warm waters, Caribbean in the Med they said!!! I was disappointed. We found Maria Pia on day two, a short walk north, trees and sand dunes and a tidier part of the beach, that was nice. ANNOYING IMMIGRANT BEACH VENDORS beware, I couldn't shut my eyes, I felt my bag would be stolen.

We ate 3 times at a place called Lido, lots of locals and tourists, nice little plot just next to the beach, meals fell within our budget and the house wine was very tasty. Child friendly too.

Note if you are hiring a car from the airport...the nearest petrol station to the airport is in Alghero, we almost missed our flight home.

Saying that i'd go back and ask the manager to keep our windows shut and sand blast the sunbeds.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This was our first visit to Alghero. Nay, our first visit to Sardinia! We ummed and ahhed for so long about where to stay that we ended up with all the lovely places being booked. Well, all the lovely places in our budget (cheap). And after deliberation we ended up booking Bouganvillea.

Our reasons for choosing this part of Alghero, having never been, was that it looked like walking distance to both Maria Pia beach and Alghero old town. We chose a sea-front property rather than one on a street further back because having looked at google earth streetmap the ones further back reminded me of old Russian Bloc buildings.

The Good.
-The sea view was superb
- The apartment was very clean and well maintained
- The apartment was pretty well kitted out in the kitchen department.
- We were a 10 minute stroll from Maria Pia beach
- We were a 20-30 minute stroll (depending on alcohol consumption/exhaustion levels) from Alghero old town.
- We had a beautiful view of the lit up old town at night.
-lots of good-but-cheap eateries in the locality
-perfectly good local supermarket a 5 minute walk
- No manky British tourists apart from us!! Hurrah! (in June)

The Bad
-the reception staff on the whole were pretty scary and unhelpful (not all, but most)
-as frequently mentioned, the shower curtain was minutely to short so that the bathroom floor got *slightly* wet with showers. We were just careful, and didn't have the (very good) shower on full blast. It really wasn't a holiday ruiner.

The Ugly
-I had to laugh at a previous review mentioning the 'incessant scraping' noise. Now, we could not fathom for the life of us where this was coming from. We were in apartment 26, top story, on a corner. All night long every night was this unbelievable loud scraping noise. Like plastic chairs being scraped across the roof above our heads. Constantly. Honestly, this sounds funny and silly but it was a total PITA!!!!
- Other noise. On a busy road. It was noisy. Very noisy.
- Yet more noise. The pizzaria below (which, btw, sells pizza by the metre) were locking up and emptying bottle bins etc in the middle of the night.
- THE BED WAS HORRENDOUS!!! It is not an 'as described' kingbed. It is two put-you-up beds pushed together. Not particularly romantic.

Seriously our first night was spent awake all night, just incredulous at the next bizarre noise that would suddenly wake us up. The 5am scraping was nearly the last straw!! haha. However, as is usual, we did get used to it and get better sleep after the first couple of nights.

The beach out of the front of the hotel is one of those nightmare Benidorm looking beaches. You can barely see the sand for the 4,000 umbrellas. I guess a lot of people don't mind that. It was sandy and very calm. There was a fair amount of seaweed there.

We only used this beach to walk along on the way to Maria Pia. This was a stunning beach. Beautifully backed with sand dunes and pine woods. No hotels or buildings around, bar the beach bars and odd restaurant. However these were totally in keeping and not intrusive at all. Mainly it was sand dunes and beach. We went the June half term. Apart from weekends when the locals were down the beach, there was hardly a soul on it. It was absolutely blissful.

All beaches seem to have excessive pedlars, it was like a constant stream. We found that setting up camp only a few metres up the dunes was enough and they didn't bother us. Unsurprising as it was roasting around the 30 degree mark pretty much every day.

The other way was Alghero. A nice walk along the beach and then promenade into Alghero. The harbour is beautiful, the old town worth a stroll around, the seafront restaurants lovely. We sat on some old steps outside the Havana bar with a load of other people watching the sunset, which was a fabulous experience and was a way cheaper option than sitting at a restaurant watching it.

One of the greatest things about Alghero is lack of tourists. Well, lack of foreign tourists. There are a fair amount of Italian tourists, but you really feel like you are enjoying a taste of Italy rather than a taste of mini-Britain, or mini-Germany. The foreign tourists who were there were from all over and were mainly more mature or families. It was just super relaxing.

Food wise - we did a mixture of eating out and in. We had one very fancy meal at a great restaurant overlooking the harbour which came in at around 60 euros for two. Apart from that we ate at various small eateries that were entirely visited by locals and extremely reasonable and delicious. They were very easy to find. Everywhere we went and ate or drank or needed service we found very friendly and helpful people.

We also took a full day boat trip (45 euros each including full lunch with drinks) and the open topped tourist bus to Bosa which was 18 euros each VERY well spent. I will review these separately to try to avoid being kicked off trip advisor for long rambling reviews that irritate people.

Anyway, back to this accommodation - we wouldn't stay here again mainly because we'd go for somewhere near Maria Pia and hire a bike to get into alghero. But also because it's so bloody noisy!

All in all, holiday FAB!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank toomanychildren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

Being just off a main road there was constant traffic going by.Didnt expect the pizzeria which was directly below us would be playing music at 10.30am & than again at 7pm until close...this got more frequent as the week went by.Not having a 24h reception is a negative also.
Alghero itself has some nice parts to it but I would not recommend this hotel if it's a relaxing break your looking for.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duncaned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank 354Junie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed with my wife last summer and we loved Sardinia. This place is out from the town and besides the beach there is not much to it. The rooms are very very basic with no TV.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillieEggery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#20 of 49 in Alghero
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rina Hotel
Rina Hotel
#21 of 49 in Alghero
422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#15 of 49 in Alghero
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Soleado
Hotel Soleado
#31 of 49 in Alghero
358 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#13 of 49 in Alghero
761 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Buganvillea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Buganvillea

Address: Via Lido 77, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: £44 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Buganvillea 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Buganvillea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Bouganvillea Alghero
Residenza Bouganvillea Hotel Alghero
Residence Buganvillea Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing