We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of Hotel Soleado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Soleado
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We found this hotel on line when travelling through Sicily and Sardinia and booked it due to the reasonable price and location. We stayed a week and found it to be very well situated opposite the beach and a short but interesting walk into the old centre of town which makes it very easy to have lazy days. The pool was clean although busy with some guests leaving their towels on the sun loungers all day despite not being about. Breakfast was the typical Italian mixture of meat, cheese and cakes. Our room (326) was designed rather strangely with the bathroom taking up most the the outside wall so the bed area was quite small and dark. There are several supermarkets round the back of the hotel and there is a fridge in the room although this does need to be emptied before the cleaner arrives which is a pain. Previous comments made about the plumbing are totally accurate - toilets flushing all night can be heard as if they are your own. We didn't access WiFi because of the unrealistic tariff so can't comment on it. It's only now after returning that I see there's a roof terrace which we didn't know was there.

The open top bus tour has to be recommended for lasting 1hr 40 mins and travelling out of Alghero to the headland (Capo Caccia) which wouldn't otherwise be accessible without a car or bicycle.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tillymintball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2012

Very good value for money, friendly staff, but there are 2 major issues I have with this hotel:
1. You can “hire” internet access for 30’ at 3 quid (well, that was one of the tariffs) and only from 8:00 to 22:00. I find this extremely backwards and it would somewhat prevent me from staying in that hotel again as I am a big fan of being connected
2. Some of the staff are not able to speak even Italian… or try to understand my broken Italian even if they do not want to speak English, or Spanish or Portuguese, for that matter. Staff that can communicate is vital.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadMax70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed here with 2 friends recently..was pleasantly surprised. Just walked in of the street and got a large quadruple room with sea view for 100euro per night...great value. Room was cleaned daily, plenty of towels, fridge (for cooling the proseco!!). Pool area is lovely...staff were very friendly and helpful. Are some roadworks going on outside but should be finished soon. Will defo stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea view is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalwayCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Yes, it could do with a bit of character and it wasn't perfect but this was all-round a good option for a 4 day stay.
So the good points:
- good location and although on a main road, it's one way and not that busy.
- good connections the bus to town comes right past the front door and the bus from airport stops just round the corner. You want the stop opposite Billa supermarket
- our room on the 4th floor was clean tidy, had sea views and air con.
- clean pool area with sun beds umbrella etc and roof terrace on 4th floor that no one uses
The not so good:
- a bit of construction work going on around you (end of May 12). The promenade directly outside the hotel is being done up and the hotel next door is having something added to the roof. Both should be done soon and not a major problem
- Breakfast buffet was basic but I understand breakfast in Italy isnt much anyway! It gets a bit same-y after four days
The tips:
- our room had a fridge where hotel supplies water. Put your own drinks in, just remove while your room is cleaned and put them back after
- the daps restaurant about 100m along beach road away from town and back a block is excellent (well signposted)
- ice cream place in the piazza in old town (recommended by the Times according to the sign) is just yummy and if you want a cheap lunch go to th self service restaurant opposite it
- as already mentioned take bus from airport as only €1.50 each

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

A nice medium class hotel, perfectley situated on the beach, 10 min walking distance from the Old Town of Alghero.
Breakfast buffé OK. Very good service with beach towels, parasolls, umbrellas!!

The staff is very nice and helpful and they even managed to look honestly sorry for not beeing abel to provide bettet weather.
Really, value for money!
We booked via hotels.com, and the hotel really matched the information on the web.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulf J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The hotel was very clean, the staff was very helpful and very kind.
The pool of the hotel is nice since the beach in front of the hotel was quite dirty and there are payment reconstruction being done at this moment, which is not the fault of the hotel but at least it could be mentioned somewhere since you wake up listening to the noise of drillers.

I would suggest that the food for breakfast was more versatile. It is boring to eat every day the same cheese, same ham, bad juice and bad machine coffee since you know the Italian coffee is one of the best in the world. I think that even if the prices rise a bit a good food would be a good option.

15/20 mins to the heart of the city. 20 mins to one nicer beach Maria Pia Beach.

Room Tip: in front - facing the sea....as we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeOntario_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The hotel is right across from the beach. Walking distance (10min) to old town Alghero, where the tourist resturants & shops are. Bed were comfy and the air-conditioner cooled the room down pretty fast ( though couldn't get it to go below 68). Rooftop lounge chairs were great for the summer nights. Very relaxing!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caligal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#15 of 49 in Alghero
490 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Piras
Hotel Villa Piras
#12 of 49 in Alghero
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Buganvillea
Residence Buganvillea
#43 of 49 in Alghero
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#14 of 49 in Alghero
761 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Domominore | Country Hotel
1 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#21 of 49 in Alghero
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Soleado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soleado

Address: Via Lido 17/19, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#17 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: £60 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Soleado 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Soleado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soleado Hotel Alghero
Hotel Soleado Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing