We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”
Review of Hotel Soleado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Soleado
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My son and I stayed here this July for 5 nights.
As mentioned before, the location for the beach is outstanding - a simple walk over the road.
It took about 15 minutes to stroll into the town though - which was a struggle on the really hot days but there are some good bars and restaurants nearby if needed.

The room itself was small, but adequate. With a balcony, well-needed air con, fridge, TV and good shower. The balcony has a "sea view" if you leant over and looked left (!) otherwise overlooking neighbouring properties.

The pool area is lovely and there are also two roof terraces if you are a serious sun-bather!

The hotel as a whole is kept very clean and tidy.

There was a lot of choice of food for breakfast including croissants, brioches, cakes, toast, cheese, meats, eggs and fruit.

The staff were outstanding. Always greeting you as you walked past.

The only grumble was that you could clearly hear the neighbouring room's flushing toilets.
But otherwise a very satisfactory stay which I would gladly stay with again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladywop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights for my birthday in June. The location of this hotel was excellent, right on the beach, and within walking distance from the old town and the less crowded beaches to the north.
The room was very clean with a balcony, cleaned every day and the staff were very friendly. The contented breakfast was good, with fruit, hams and cheese, juice, croissants and lots of sweet and cake things, but I would of liked a few more savoury choices for breakfast (but that’s an English thing), the drinks in the bar are also quite expensive, but that’s no surprise for a hotel bar either. The only thing in, as other reviews have mentioned the toilet flushes are extremely noisy. I am a light sleeper so am used to things waking me up, but they are very loud and I became conscious I didn't want to wake up other guests. If they sorted that out the place would be perfect!
I highly recommend the little beach hut bar serving cocktails right in front of the hotel, the guys are lovely and the cocktails are good and well-priced. It's the perfect place for sundowners.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CattyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the first week of july.
The room was nice and plenty big. The small fridge in the room was a big plus. Very important to be able to keep some water, chocolate etc. We had a nice view from the balcony, and we were able to sit out there(3 people) and eat a sandwich.
The pool was nice, allthough not so big. The beach is very close and a nice change of pace. Every night, there is a beach party just across the road from the hotel, and this goes on to 1-2 am with loud techno music. This will keep you from falling asleep if you are a light sleeper.
The breakfast was better than expected. Italian breakfasts are never as filling as the northern ones, but this was above average.
There is 5-10 restaurants within 500 metres. The town is a 20-minute walk away.

All in all we were satisfied. It delivers what it promises.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My friend and I stayed for 1 week 8 June - 15 June. We booked direct with the hotel a few months before, which was straight forward and we got the best price. Received a welcome email a couple of days before we went which was a nice touch. We were allocated 2 rooms at the front of the hotel overlooking the pool and sea, fabulous views across the bay and the old town.
Both rooms were very clean, modern and spacious. Breakfast was plentiful.
Staff very welcoming, helpful and attentive at all times. Pool and terrace area is pleasant and quiet considering it has a road in front. Location - can't be faulted, bars, restaurants, bus stops all minutes away and the old town is a 15 - 20 minutes stroll along the promenade.
Great value for money, loved this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank arcangelboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I had a conference in Alghero this past May, and I found myself staying at the Hotel Soleado. It was relatively inexpensive, but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included..it was fairly standard european breakfast fare. The location was nice...right on the water and a short walk to the Old Town. The weather was kind of dreary, so I did not experience the pool. The staff ranged from very friendly to cranky. Overall, good value..nothing AMAZING but a good home base for explring.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thomaskash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Staying only 4 nights traveling with children 6 and 4, we chose this hotel on hotels.com to stay close to the beach and to Old Town. So we did. It was rather cold weather and water both in the sea and pool in May, so we didn't use those facilities. The view was nice, and we played on the beach. The room was not cramped, but very humid. There was an A/C, but we were to cold to use it. The beds were very worn and soft, so you quickly ended up in the hole in the middle. Two of the days the used glasses provided in the room was not washed up for us. It was not very clean, but not the worst we have seen. There was a smell of urine on the bathroom. The breakfast buffet served most of what we could expect but was nothing special. Asking for a taxi the first days morning to get to Fertilia to dive, a private car arrived without a taxameter. He charged 20 euros for the 5 min 5 km drive! When asking for the time table for the airport bus, we were informed it would leave from nearby every 30 min. We ended up waiting there 1 h 10 min, because it only operated every hour. Other information provided on local attractions were good though. This hotel felt like an expensive low budged hotel with very low value for money. I am sure there are plenty of better alternatives.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulf Wike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

April 21st, Just back after a mini break., We booked this hotel as we wanted a pool, sea view and easy access to town. We booked a room with a sea view. Definitely worth, paying the extra as the view was brilliant. We had room 311, which was huge.( I'd recommend it ) The hotel has recently been painted, cleaned and is ready for the summer season. The staff are lovely and full of smiles.

We were able to enjoy the pleasant walk along the beach every evening from the hotel. In 10 mins you have some wonderful restaurants to choose from. The old town is great to walk around, especially in the evening, when there is a great buzz.

The Soleado Hotel is an easy 15 mins bus ride from Alghero airport.
The bus ( one an hour) costs only €1.50. Just to say, a taxi for the same journey is a whopping €25.00 ! The bus stop is literally a 2 min walk from the hotel. We got the bus, no problem.

We went to Alghero a couple of years ago, i wasn't really a fan. To be honest only the cheap flights ( €54.00 return Ryan air ) and the promise of sunshine had me returning.
I'm glad we did. They have put in a cycle path along the beach. Some new buildings have popped up and the walk around the old town has been extended.

We had great fun hiring bikes for 24 hours. Ended up in Fertilla and beyond. We saw some beautiful beaches, stopped off for tasty lunch. Even hopped on the bike when we out for our evening meal. Fun cycling back after a few glasses of wine !! Worth hiring them.

Back to the hotel - Negative points - No fancy furniture, quite clinical looking corridors. The double bed in Room 311 was very hard and creaked. There were holes in the curtains. Breakfast average.

Positive points - The view from room 311 was breathtaking. It's location is ideal for walking to town. The beach is literally in front of the hotel. The staff are lovely. A small pool in front of the hotel. It is a 3 star hotel and if that's what you want, go for it. Easy to get to and from the airport. Near supermarket, bus stop, beach bar.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view and balcony. Well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kilkenny1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#15 of 49 in Alghero
490 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Piras
Hotel Villa Piras
#12 of 49 in Alghero
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Buganvillea
Residence Buganvillea
#42 of 49 in Alghero
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Domominore | Country Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#11 of 49 in Alghero
697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Soleado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soleado

Address: Via Lido 17/19, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#17 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: £60 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Soleado 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Soleado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soleado Hotel Alghero
Hotel Soleado Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing