We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with good service”
Review of Hotel San Giuan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Giuan
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Me and my wife stayed at this family-run hotel for a short-week vacation in mid september. It´s obvious renovated in modern style during past years. It´s a quite small hotel close to the beaches and close to the old town with restaurants. Some rooms have balcony versus the sea. If you are lucky you will be upgraded.

We did not think the trafic was any problem. Quite small rooms but clean and in good style.

It´s family run and the service is perfect. They are really keen to get you to feel comfortable. The breakfast is very good - different bread, cheese, ham, sausafe etc and fruit, juices, danish bread and best of all - an espresso machine with all possibilities.

Me and my wife are from Sweden. (O.S)
This is from my blog; http://stormpartner.blogspot.com/2011/09/kort-hostsemester-alghero-sardegna.html

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StormPartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2010

The hotel is nearby a very busy street run by traffic at all times.
The hotel staff was unwelcoming .
We will not stay in this hotel again and would like to warn people not to have their holiday impacted by this location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angela346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Perfect location, clean rooms. Great breakfast whith fresh fruit and many more things. And the staff was very helpful

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwedenNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We spent 2 nights on June in this hotel. Clean rooms fully renovated. Hotel is 10 km from airport. Took city bus from airport to the hotel. Cost: 0.70 Euros per person. It takes 20 minutes max. You drop at the Q8 gas station. Hotel is 25 minute walking from Alghero old city.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ORANGE35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We stopped in Alghero for two days on a wider trip through Europe, and stayed at the San Giuan. We travelled at the very edge of the high season - mid October - so probably lucked out with high season service and low season prices.

It wasn't easy to find just driving along the road but we had a satnav so had a good idea of where it should be. Plenty of parking directly outside on the street.

Reasonably handy to the main roads into town, and we found our way to the local beaches and attractions without problem.

It's well-located, the old town is about a 10-15 minute walk away from hotel, and there's a sizable supermarket with brilliant fresh foods section in the opposite direction, about a five minute walk away.

The staff spoke limited English and we don't know a lot of Italian, but they were attentive and helpful. Found the front desk deserted a couple of times and the receptionist outside chatting away, but hey that's the Italian way.

The breakfast bar had the normal cheese & meat, sweet croissants and biscuits, an espresso machine, basic cereals, bread, spreads and yoghurts, and fruit juices.

The room was really nice, newly refurbished with updated fittings, and our balcony had a narrow view of the beach. The decor of the hotel in general is updated and reasonably new, it will age by about mid-2010.

I don't know about the high season or long stays, but it's definitely worth a look if you're short stay and low season.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Had a lovely week, the staff always pleasant and helpful.They let me practise Italian but could also speak good English.Our room on the 3rd floor had a great view to the side of turquoise sea. The sun was on the terrace from early morning to late evening. After reading some reviews on the hotel I was wondering about the bathrooms but I found the shower to be very good, the rest of the bathroom was very clean with plenty of fresh towels everyday.The rest of the hotel was very clean and seemed to run very smoothly. Breakfasts were fine, with choices of fruit, yogurts,breads, croissants and lovely apple turnovers. The coffee from the machine was fine too. The location was good ten minute walk into the old town and the same to a lovely stretch of clean beach and perfect clear blue sea.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethLakeDistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

The location of the hotel was very convenient, especially if you do not have a car. Next to the sea and very close to the center and to the bus stop. The room was only half renovated, which means that bathroom is quite old. The breakfast was good and the people although they did not speak English they were trying to be helpful. I would probably recommend to make a good research before booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estrella1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Il Gabbiano
Hotel Il Gabbiano
#26 of 49 in Alghero
163 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Balear
Hotel El Balear
#27 of 49 in Alghero
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#16 of 49 in Alghero
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#8 of 49 in Alghero
539 reviews
1.4 mi away
Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alguer
Hotel Alguer
#17 of 49 in Alghero
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Giuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giuan

Address: Via Giovanni Maria Angioy 2, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: £80 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Giuan 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Giuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giuan Hotel
Hotel San Giuan Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing