We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean and quiet with great location”
Review of Hotel San Giuan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Giuan
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
Lake District
Level Contributor
1 review
“Very Clean and quiet with great location”
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Had a lovely week, the staff always pleasant and helpful.They let me practise Italian but could also speak good English.Our room on the 3rd floor had a great view to the side of turquoise sea. The sun was on the terrace from early morning to late evening. After reading some reviews on the hotel I was wondering about the bathrooms but I found the shower to be very good, the rest of the bathroom was very clean with plenty of fresh towels everyday.The rest of the hotel was very clean and seemed to run very smoothly. Breakfasts were fine, with choices of fruit, yogurts,breads, croissants and lovely apple turnovers. The coffee from the machine was fine too. The location was good ten minute walk into the old town and the same to a lovely stretch of clean beach and perfect clear blue sea.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethLakeDistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    63
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
67
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

The location of the hotel was very convenient, especially if you do not have a car. Next to the sea and very close to the center and to the bus stop. The room was only half renovated, which means that bathroom is quite old. The breakfast was good and the people although they did not speak English they were trying to be helpful. I would probably recommend to make a good research before booking this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estrella1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2009

My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay at San Giuan. The location of the hotel was good – some halfway between the historic city centre and the beaches. The location also turned out to be great for access to the airport in Fertilia as the local bus stops very close by. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel facilities met all our needs. We would gladly return to and recommend San Giuan.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobcik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2008

Me and my wife stayed at San Giuan for 10 nights in june/july 2008. We paid 100 euros pr. night, including breakfast.

We took the bus from the airport, and as the busdriver did not know the street of the hotel, we were lucky that we saw the hotel sign on the way to town. Thus we stepped of the bus only 100m. I advise to print a map and show it to the busdriver so that he knows where to let you off. The hotel is located right in the area where the lido beach starts. As the beach is not very nice right there, we decided to walk 5min further away from town where it was much nicer. It takes about 12-15min to walk to the city centre. Overall I found the location to be maybe the best in Alghero, as it was close to the beach and not too far to the city centre. Perfect if you don't wanna go by bus or taxi.

The hotel reception is very nice and trendy, as the photos on their website show. The rooms however, are more basic - a bit strange that they haven't put the least effort in making it a bit cosy (a picture/painting or two would work miracles). This I find is quite typical in southern europe. The rooms are all airconditioned and contains a small flatscreen, but to my surprise no fridge. In the summer heat it would be nice to have a fridge, so this was sorely missed. Soundwise the hotel is like most other southern european 2-3-star hotels - bring airplugs! The doors slam unbeliveably hard, as there is absolutely no cushioning in the doorframes.

Breakfast was very basic, and besides fruit there is a total lack of healthy alternatives. All bread is white, and some of them drenched in chocolate. Very tasty, but very unhealthy. Coffe machine sounds like an airplane taking off...

Service was very good. All the people were very nice, some of them a bit unsteady in english, but that was never a problem. After our first night the powercabinett in our room started to make a low-key but still annoying sound. We asked for them to check it out, and it seemed like there were some kind of vibration. They checked another room on the same floor, and it had the same problem. Finally they found a room on another floor were this problem diden't exist, so we were moved up there. The service was unpeckable, and they were sorry for the inconvenience.

All in all I found the hotel to be quite average. If it wasen't for the lacking soundproblems and the fact that there were no fridge in the room, I would definetely recommend it. Location and servicewise it was very good. 100 Euros a night is a fair price compared to others in Alghero, but in my book it is high enough to expect a bit more than we got (i.e fridge).

  • Liked — Location, service
  • Disliked — no fridge in room, unhealthy breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arthur_Vandelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2008

Stayed in room 440, this was a double room with a sea view. It was very easy to reach the hotel from the airport. When you leave the arrivals go to the shop and outside there is a small ticket machine where you can purchase a 70cent ticket to get to Alghero town. The times of the buses depends on the arrival of the planes. There is a stop along the seafront of Alghero (can not think of the name of the stop). The journey will take around 20 minutes.

The hotel was newly furnished will modern furniture, like an Ikea showroom. The room had air conditioning, TV, powerful shower, comfortable bed, but the hairdryer was a bit feeble, it was more like a hoover. The staff were very friendly and spoke a little English. My only negative about the hotel was the breakfast. It was continental, basic white rolls, cheese, jam, tea and coffee. Breakfast could have been a little better. Again the breakfast area and reception were very modern. They had a roof terrace and outside they had tables and chairs, where people can have a drink. The location of the hotel was good. It was a 10 minute enjoyable walk along the sea front to the harbour town. On the way there is an excellent bike hire place, each bike was €8 a day. This was a brilliant way of getting around. We locked up the bikes at the back of the hotel when having a rest. In the end we got the bikes out for two days as it saved the walking. There was a great cycle path along the lido. You do not really want to go on to the roads as the Italians are a little mad. We left our luggage at the hotel and collected it just before boarding the bus back to the airport. In Alghero town there is a tourist board which will give you all the times of the buses.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaniaMacDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2008

I would like to just say a quick hello to the owners of San Juan, its taken us a while to write a review but even 5 months after staying at Hotel San Juan I felt that others should hear about this hotel.

The Hotel is family run and we were made to feel very welcome from the moment we stepped foot in the reception. I have never been at a hotel where I feel like I made some friends. I would not hesitate to recommend or return to Hotel San Juan.

The owners also gave us advice about what they thought were good day trips out and told us where they would go on a day trip and where not to go to avoid the tourist traps, which we found a nice personal touch to our stay.

When we stayed here they were halfway through updating the rooms (there were absolutely no disturbances to our stay in terms of noise) and we stayed in one of the older "yet to be refurbished" rooms, even though these rooms were outdated it was comfortable and made a great base for our holiday.

Good points -

There is a very large roof terrace with amazing views over the ocean.

Located on the sea front and an enjoyable 5-10 minutes walk from Alghero old town.

Parking for our hire car was available on the road outside the hotel.

Usual (but very yummy) Continental Breakfast included (fresh pastries, fruit, yoghurts)

A big thumbs up from us!

  • Liked — THE FRIENDLY STAFF AND LOCATION
  • Disliked — ROAD NOISE (CLOSE TO THE ROAD ON ONE SIDE OF THE BUILDING)
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jemsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alguer
Hotel Alguer
#15 of 49 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Il Gabbiano
Hotel Il Gabbiano
#26 of 49 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#21 of 49 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Balear
Hotel El Balear
#27 of 49 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#13 of 49 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rina Hotel
Rina Hotel
#20 of 49 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Giuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giuan

Property: Hotel San Giuan
Address: Via Giovanni Maria Angioy 2, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Giuan 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Giuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giuan Hotel
Hotel San Giuan Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing