We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location in old town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Maiorca Apartments
Ranked #79 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Alghero
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ideal location in old town”
Reviewed 25 March 2008

This apartment, in the Old Town of Alghero, is an ideal base for exploring the town. It is comfortable and well laid out and Caterina provided a bowl of fruit as well as a selection of local pastries. She is an excellant host, who after telling us where the local shops etc were, left us to explore the town with the offer of any assistance should we need it. While we visted Alghero in the off season, there was a good selection of restaurants open, offering very good value.

  • Liked — Central, well laid out
  • Disliked — The steps up to it
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Vincent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lericester, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2008

The apartment far exceeded our expectations and was located in a great place in the heart of the old city in Alghero. Owner was very friendly and helpful and the apartment was exceptionally good value for money and beautifully furnished and decorated. Alghero is a charming town and there is an excellent bus service for exploring further afield. I would highly recommend this apartment to anyone wishing to visit Sardinia.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairynufff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2008

Casa Maiorca is a great place to stay in Alghero. The charming apartment was spotlessly clean and had a very well equipped kitchen. The location can't be better.
I would really recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank K_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2008

Our stay at Casa Maiorca was wonderful. We arrived late at night, but this was not a problem to our very friendly and helpful contact at the apartments. She welcomed us warmly and showed us around the recently renovated apartment. We were impressed right from the start, both from the layout and the facilities; and also by the location. Our window overlooked a festive piazza which was bustly and interesting but not at all noisy. The location within Alghero was perfect for discovering wonderful markets, meandering around the old town and strolling along the waterfront. Our whole family, which includes two teenage children found our Casa Maiorca stay to be a highlight of our time in Europe.

  • Liked — Modern, clean, location in old town, friendly hostess
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KiwiFamWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2008

My Fiance and I enjoyed a fantastic week in the beautiful city of Alghero and the Studio Maiorca Apartment was the perfect base from which to enjoy our holiday.

The smaller of the apartments, is ideal for a couple looking for a romantic break and one of the many highlights for us was the view from bedroom window, which opened out on to one of the main piazza's, becoming ideal for watching the world go by and people relaxing in the manys bars, cafes and restaurants.

The kitchen / dining area was clean & contained all the necessary utensils should you wish to cook. But I must advise against this as the the food in Alghero is to die for. With seafood being a local speciallity. The Cheese restaurant 'Il Paradiso' I believe, was a personal favourite.

As mentioned earlier the apartment is located in the old town. This means that the beach is about 15 minutes walkaway, the supermarket approx 10 minutes and the harbour approx 5 minutes. This was not a problem though as the walks are enjoyable particularly with the sun on your back.

Caterina who runs the apartments speaks perfect English, is friendly and will help with any queries that you may have.

We were also greeted with fresh Sardinian cakes, bread and fruit which was a pleasant treat.

I strongly recommend that you visit Alghero and the Casa Maiorca Apartments are the perfect base from which to enjoy this wonderful city.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — The small bathroom
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mantropik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2008

We stayed at Caterina's stunning apartment nestled in the centre of the old town or 'centro storico' in December 2007 for a winter weekend. I'd loved Alghero in the summer and wanted to experience it out of season and was really pleased when, after searching online, my number one choice of apartment was available! The apartment is beautifully designed and finished and is both traditional and contemporary in style. And it was great to have two bathrooms.

Caterina speaks perfect English (so, unfortunately, I had no opportunity to confuse her with my bad Italian) and welcomed us with a lovely basket of complimentary fruit, Sardinian flat bread and pastries and offered us a navigational tour around the old town (I'm a previous visitor so saved her the trouble).

The restaurants and cafes of Alghero are fantastic... even as a veggie I was spoiled for choice and morning coffees and cakes are to die for! There is less to do in the winter, but that suited us fine as we wanted to walk/eat/relax. In the summer the local beaches are stunning. I thoroughly recommend a visit!

  • Liked — stylish traditional yet contemporary interior
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieWorthingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2008

I took my friend here for a birthday surprise. It is very close to the airport - so great for a short break. The apartment is in the middle of the old town with masses of character. Handmade sweets on your arrival, and a wonderful italian greeting from the owner. There was two of us, but enough room for three. Great restaurants within walking distance. We drunk mojitos watching the sun go down, had a long seafood lunch at Neptuno on a balcony overlooking the harbour and took a boat trip to the caves. The shops and restaurants are wonderful and the locals very welcoming and charming. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — central location
  • Disliked — nothing, it was great
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank becky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#12 of 49 in Alghero
661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Margherita
Casa Margherita
#62 of 141 in Alghero
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Sol Calent  Bed & breakfast
B&B Sol Calent Bed & breakfast
#104 of 269 in Alghero
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Palau De Rosa
#46 of 141 in Alghero
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Appartamento Nonna Giulietta
0.1 mi away
Ottocento Guest House
Ottocento Guest House
#49 of 141 in Alghero
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Maiorca Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maiorca Apartments

Property: Casa Maiorca Apartments
Address: Via Maiorca 24, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartments are located in one of the three main streets of Old Town Alghero, among shops, restaurants and bars, in the same building consisting of only two apts: Studio Minorca and Casa Maiorca. The building faces Piazza Sventramento, a square at the corner between Via Carlo Alberto and Via Gilbert Ferret. The renovation was completed in June 2007, keeping the rustic charm of wooden beams mixed with all modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Casa Maiorca Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Maiorca Apartments Hotel Alghero
Casa Maiorca Apartments Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing