We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sardinia fantastic full marks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping La Mariposa
Ranked #97 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Alghero
Reviewed 3 June 2012

i was very unsure about this resort as the reviews were very poor. I have now seen how breath taking sardinia really is, it is a must....we stayed in a villino which is a self catering bungalow. it has everything basic, but very rustic which i love. the staff are so friendly and the resort is so clean. A must is the beach on the left as you leave the camp site. mariposa is a camp for anyone, if you like to take your tent, if you are just travelling through and need somewere to park up. then its the ideal place. The photos do not give sardinia credit..I love cornwall but now my love is for italy. please take a look.

Room Tip: there is villinos number 15,16 and 17. they look over the rocks and the sea, a must with a great vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here in 2010 and despite it's lovely location, I wouldn't return.

The campsite is located right next to a beautiful beach, and Alghero is only a 30 minute walk away, alongside the shore. The shower facilities are great and very clean and there is a well equiped shop, with a restaurant selling cheap beer and pizza in the evening.

We chose to stay in one of the 2 bed cameras (rooms), which was a mistake as the room was tiny, with a bunk bed, and not much space for anything else. The room had no air conditioning or even a fan, so was stifflingly hot- like sleeping in a small box. We had to sleep with the window wide open, which meant lots of bugs and mozzies came in overnight. The room unfortunately made for a really unpleasant stay at the site.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Last holiday I stayed for about 10 days at this camping. I can just say one thing. NEVER BOOK THIS CAMPING.

first of all the staff is awful. the boss of the camping is only out of money providing bad service. E.g. at the day of arrival we told the camping that we would like to stay shorter. This was no problem at all. However, at time we wanted to leave we even had to pay the full amount.

Morover, the showers and toileters are dirty. You even need to buy coins to get hot showers, which are over in a few minutes, you can barely shampoo your hair.

The rooms have small bunkbeds are old and muggy. There are ants inside and there is barely any space to put your luggage.

Apart from the camping which is not to be recommended, Alghero is really nice. From the camping it takes about 30 min. to walk to town. Although the beach is close the place next to the camping is over crowded. It is recommended to visit some other beaches in the environment. But not from this camping, as long as you want a nice holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasmijn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

I spent with my girlfriend 4 days in Alghero this month. We stayed at La Mariposa in a caravan , the facilities were ok for what we need it. They have their own restaurant /bar ( 1 pizza=7 euro , 1 beer=4 euro) , and also a small supermarket where you can buy food. Avoid to choose a location in the camping near by road ...it's very noisy in the night.
Good to know if you go at Grotta di Nettuno ....the last bus at 18:10 didn't came so we had to take a taxi and throw away out bus ticket.Also when we took the bus for the airport ,the schedule was not respected ,they are always delayed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vladmury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

The beauty of this campsite cannot be overstressed - I despair slightly when people give it a two star review because they've missed the point.

Its cheap and cheerful, with its own pizzeria, deli and bar, and situated next to a stunning beach. Its less than 10 minutes by taxi from the airport (under 10 Euros) and a 30 minute stroll into Alghero, via two or three decent restaurants. Staff are generally friendly, one or two a little idiosyncratic - but if you cannot be bothered to learn even basic Italian, why on earth would you expect them to communicate with you in English when you have a 'compliant'?? The accommodation is perhaps a little small and overpriced so I would recommend camping, as there is plenty of open space and it costs next to nothing. Just remember to pitch it on a slope or up a hill, as the site sometimes floods when it rains heavily. I've been three times, and will certainly return. Its a gem.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gremlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

My husband and I spent 9 days away at this camp site. We had booked a "Camera" (a room with a double bunk) at 30 Euro a night, (note that prices do vary according to season) only to be given the opportunity to pay an extra 4 Euro a day to go into a 4 bed Bungalow which gave us the use of a small fridge and gas cooker, situated on the outside veranda. We were very pleased as this meant we could still cook for ourselves and enjoy a cold drink after a day on the beach. The bungalow is basic but kept cool when it was sweltering outside and is perfectly functional and excellent value considering Sardinia is so expensive.

We did take advantage of sitting in the campsite's restaurant in the evening to share a pizza, which are good value for money and delicious. They do not like you taking in your own drinks, even if purchased from the campsite shop, but want you to purchase from the restaurant bar, which means your drink will cost double if not more. You will learn that in Sardinia you cannot touch fruit and vegetable without the assistance from a worker at the shop. At times we would go back and sit on our veranda to split a bottle of wine, bought from a supermarket in town. We did shop at the Iperstanda Supermarket on Via Don Minzoni, which a previous reviewer said was worthwhile, especially if you don't feel like cooking and want a cooked, warm meal. On our first night we bought whole roasted chicken, roasted red peppers, and these little croquettes (ball shaped) made from rice, cheese and I think olives. The local beer is Ichnusa, which is very good and about a Euro in price from the supermarket and almost 3 Euro from a restaurant.

The campsite had a lovely atmosphere, taking a walk around in the evening, there seemed to be people who were camping that were playing guitar and singing, or you'd see a couple playing cards together by candle light, and it appears the nicest people in the campsite were the tourists, not the staff.

There is an area where you could wash up your dishes, use the toilets or showers. They were cleaned daily and showered down. A lot of people preferred the cold showers which are in the open, and felt no shame in lathering up and shampooing their hair too. The cold showers were welcome because once you have walked from the beach your body needs to cool down again. I hate cold showers generally but it felt so refreshing and so right. The warm showers require tokens, 50 cents, which can be bought from the bar and lasts 3 minutes.

The campsite seems to function on a skeleton staff considering how busy they are. They seem very hard working but do seem quite sour and a little resentful to be serving you. The morning Receptionist was very helpful to us though. Even when making a payment at the till it appeared as if the coins were almost tossed in our direction. This I realised was a common manner within Sardinia, I got quite use to being ignored when wanting to pay for something at the till. At the campsite they also demand you show your pass (which is a little piece of cardboard with some numbers on it) each time you enter the campsite from the main road, and usually in the evenings they are more rigorous. They were quite abrupt with some campers who came in on their bikes they'd hired for the day and asked to see their cards, although the campers said they were never issued with one. I suppose if they are strict its more secure for the others.

You can hire bicycles and mopeds from the campsite at good prices.

The bus from the Airport costs 70 cents and you can get a white slipped ticket from the wall. It does not dispense change so the correct amount is useful. This orange bus has its first stop in a town called Fertilia (which we walked to one day although is not really worthwhile as there is not much there except the view), then it drives passed the lake and a Campsite called Camping Calik found on your left. On your right you get glimpses of beach and then it disappears. Your stop is coming up soon and it drops you outside the Ospidale Marino Regina Margherita, (which is next to the Camp Site) on the other side of the road will be La Pergola Restaurant and Cafe. To get the bus back to the Airport you need to buy your ticket from a Tobacconist for 70 cents beforehand, and you can pick it up from outside the other hospital, Ospidale Civile. We found it useful to buy a whole bunch of bus tickets from the Tobacconist for our stay. Its best to buy your ticket to the Airport a day or so before if you are traveling on a morning flight as the Tobacconist may be closed.

We found it easy to get the bus to the Old Town (from outside the Ospidale Marino Hospital, usually a little time past the hour) but found it almost impossible to find a bus back, so we would walk back, which takes about an hour.

The best beach to use is not the beach outside La Mariposa but one just 5 minutes walk away. If you walk pass the Ospidale Marino and into the pine tree area and over the sand dunes, the beach called Maria Pia is so beautiful it took my breath away. The water is crystal clear like glass and you can find shade under some shrubs. We managed to find an abandoned umbrella which we used on our holiday as everywhere they will charge you about 8 Euro for rental of two deck chairs and an umbrella for one day. Snorkelling is quite uneventful in this part but its worth visiting the beach on the south side of Alghero old town. They are craggy and rocky but very pretty. If you take the bus it will drop you at one end of the Old Town, just outside an indoor fruit and vegetable market, and its about a 10 minutes walk from there. Do note that you will be approached many, many times by beach sellers selling beach towels which I admit were very good quality, to bangles, bat and ball, scarves etc. You will also get some ladies selling massages for a very good price and they look absolutely wonderful to try. It may take some patience having to say "no" constantly but it felt rather nice to have someone interact with me, even if it was to sell me something, as I did miss conversation with people.

There are a lot of stray cats within the campsite, and noticed that outside the campsite there were a couple stray dogs, sometimes they sleep in the day among the trees next to the Hospital. I found it odd to see stay dogs but there was a very gentle golden coloured dog in the woods who loved a stroke.

I would recommend a visit to the Old Town in the evening, along its cobbled streets as it comes to life with local life and good restaurants. I had wonderful ice-cream and friendly service at Gelateria Arcobaleno (Piazza Civica 34) at the end of the Paved Square. We also bought a hat from a lovely old lady who runs a hat shop in the Old Town.

I would recommend this Campsite for its value and location. It's not a city with a great amount of cultural attraction but is very good if you want to just swim and sun tan and eat good food. If someone is not very personable or friendly don't take it personally as I think the people that have to deal with tourists day in and day out perhaps find it exhausting. If I go next time I'd rent a car to see other towns and cities and I'd take some friends for company.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SaffaStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Ok, we camped in our own tent and did not stay in the bungalows - which seem to have bad reviews, and I can understand why because if I'm honest they looked nothing special - worn and rickety.
As for the camping, we took a 12 man tent between the 4 of us and it was luxury! We are students and the camping was a bargain for the price of £180 each for 12 nights during peak season. We traveled with Ryanair - big NO NO, never again they robb money from their customers every way possible.

The campsite is ideal,clean drinking water available, showers/toilet facilities clean and convenient. Lovely little shop with fresh melon and bread - ideal for breakfast, and good seating area - Pizzas are out of this world, we bought them and ate on the beach - heaven.
The reception staff can be abrupt - but are very very very pleasant if you are italian - not much help for us welsh who wanted to be directed to the waterpark and got sent god knows where.
DO NOT use La Mariposa beach - it is small and just disappointing - we wasted the first week of our holiday renting beds on this beach,... by the 6th day we had just had enough of the man in charge of the beds prancing around in his shorts and shades mouthing off in Italian - moving us constantly because the beds were "reserved" for non-existent people who would NOT turn up. DO NOT MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE.
Go and explore the most beautiful beaches on the local bus - it costs pennies to get a return and the information desk in Alghero town are so so helpful.
Alghero is one of the most beautiful places I've visited - the town is a good 30 minute walk from the campsite however - this makes it an hours walk every day in and out - worth it however...difficult for elderly or disabled.
Overall good holiday - would go again - but maybe stay more central to Alghero.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmb210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alghero
7.8 mi away
Campeggio Villaggio Torre del Porticciolo
1.9 mi away
Villaggio e Campeggio Nurral
Villaggio e Campeggio Nurral
#111 of 149 in Alghero
129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Camping Village Laguna Blu
Camping Village Laguna Blu
#22 of 149 in Alghero
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Camping Village Li Nibari
36 mi away
Village & Camping La Foce
Village & Camping La Foce
#3 of 15 in Valledoria
236 reviews
54.7 mi away
Camping Village Baia Blu La Tortuga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping La Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping La Mariposa

Address: Via Lido 22, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Alghero
Price Range: £72 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camping La Mariposa 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Camping La Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping La Mariposa Hotel Alghero
Camping La Mariposa Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing