We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well kept campsite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping La Mariposa
Ranked #104 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Alghero
Reviewed 27 August 2008

We have just come back from a week at the campsite and, being a fairly reluctant camper myself, I was a little worried about the prospect. The campsite did a lot to allay these fears!
We found a nice spot below some trees which, considering it was in the high 30's, was a godsend. The campsite was clean and the showers, although at times a little sandy, were on the whole similarly clean. It seemed OK priced (bearing in mind the overall expensiveness of Sardinia) although you should be aware that you pay per person AND the cost of your tent too.
A good week, I would recommend the place.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stockportman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2008

A really great relaxing camping holiday. The location was wonderful near to the beach and about a 20 min walk from Alghero. We camped under the trees which was perfect. The facilities were great always clean and there is a cafe/bar/pizza place/shop - selling cheese and meats. This is a family run campsite and they were always friendly and helpful. It is a really cute, laid back, relaxing environment. You can hire bikes for 10 euros a day. Alghero is beautiful and if you are willing to cycle it is easy to get to other beaches too. Definitely a return destination. ps. and the lattes are soooo good

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank looby269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

We stayed here in June. The campsite has a really nice feel with all the pine trees and lovely beach. The toliets and showers were always clean although the showers were sometimes cold. The pizza and coffee at the cafe were excellent.

The caravan was a bit damp and really old. We opened the windows on the first night but then the caravan was filled with mozzies and I was bitten all over. This was the downside of the stay.

The caravan was well equiped with pats pans and plates. We really enjoyed cooking our own meals with the fantastic local produce. There is a wonderful market in the centre of Algehro and a cheap supermarket called Eurospin provided us with all our pasta and wine. The campsite supermarket is quite expensive so I would recommend visiting EuroSpin for washing-up-liquid and washing powder.

We took a boat trip to the caves and a bus to Bosa. Both good days out that can be easily arranged in town.
Buy bus tickets before you get on the bus.
Airport buses run from around 5 am but check you know where the stop is, we accidently missed it.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Quail2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2008

Just returned from a week camping at La Mariposa. As a solo female in a tiny tent I was a bit worried having never been to Sardinia before. I was on a budget so wanted to take the bus from the Airport (70 cents, buy your ticket from a machine on the wall next to the cafe at the end of the arrivals hall, the correct change would be useful)and worried I would have a long walk as previous reviews had stated but I was pleased to find the Local ARST bus (it's orange) AI.AF service leaves from a stand on your right as you come out of arrivals,(short walk away, don't panic if there are coaches there as they will move when the orange bus comes!) drops you off at Ospedale Marino which is literally next door to Mariposa. This bus was also useful for going to and from Alghero Town (the last one leaves Alghero at 22.30 tho') although I walked it a couple of times, all on the level and probably took about 20 mins or so. I also used it to and from Fertilia (very quaint and peaceful little town).
I arrived at Mariposa at about 21.30, there is a guard in a hut at the entrance, tell him what you would like, he takes your passport, gives you the rules, a camping pass and your receipt which you need to produce when you leave (you pay on check-out). I was told I could pitch wherever I liked in certain zones (this may be different if the site is busier) I chose a spot away from the road in a bit of a dip (near the large pemanent tents,) there are no particular regimented spots which I found more natural and I chose a shady place with trees close enough to each other to put up my washing line (some people put up hammocks as well wish I'd brought one!)
The showers (40 cents for a token ,buy them at the shop) I found were only tepid in the morning (solar powered maybe?) but very hot in the evening!) and you only get about 3 mins, however there are plenty of cold showers outdoors which to be honest weren't that cold (puts a nice shine on your hair after shampooing ladies!) there is also a free wetroom up the corner behind the ladies toilets in which you can bolt the door (there didn't seem to be a bulb in there tho, so I used my camping light! Also the lever to switch the water on and off was too high for me to reach but a stick or a flip-flop did it for me, again that was cold water but I guess at this time of year all the cold water is tepid so it was, I found, very refreshing!)
You can wash your clothes on old fashioned stone ridged basins (again cold water) or hire the washing machine for 5 euros (if you really need to!) and there are plenty of washing-up sinks. There is also an area for shavers, mobile phone chargers and hairdryers near the washbasins.
The only thing I would say is the store for the recycling and dustbins is right next to the barbecue area which I didn't think was very pleasant but they have to stick them somewhere!
The site shop was well stocked, more expensive than the supermarket but pretty reasonable for the convenience. The bar/ pizzeria served coffee and cakes/croissants for breakfast and fresh pizzas for dinner (pay at the till first) there was a tv inside and a couple of games machines outside. There is a small library behind reception, some scales to weigh your luggage and a computer for the internet (they also have a Wi Fi Zone now).
I loved living under the pines, it was especially lovely at first light when the smell of the pines and the wild flowers was heavenly and the birds were singing, it was also very pleasurable snoozing outside your tent looking up through the trees at the blue sky at siesta time. The site is next to a main road, but I always take earplugs so it didn't worry me, also one of the site rules is there is should be no noise after 23.00 hrs but some groups of campers were still up singing laughing and chatting at 4.00.am! (well they are on holiday) so seriously, earplugs would be useful.
I didn't use Mariposa's beach, I , like many others, turned left at the entrance past the Ospedale, through some stone bollards, though the pine trees to the stunning Maria Pia beach, which was pretty busy but plenty of room for everyone. Going on my experience I would highly recommend La Mariposa.
Other stuff you may find of interest:-
Alghero Centro Storico (Old Town) was lovely to wander through with some interesting little shops to mooch in, there is also a wonderful market with gorgeous fish and fruit, not too far from the bus station and bus ticket office (which is in the Public Gardens) Look out for small supermarket Eurospin (a bit like Lidl) next to McDonalds ( a very discreet branch!) which was, I found, very reasonable (although there are other, larger supermarkets closer to the Campsite on Via Don Mizoni which runs more or less paralell to Via Lido) I also found in the Old Town, on Via Simon, a small shop that sold chickens cooked on the spit ( scrummy).
Watching the sun go down from the Bastion walls in Alghero Town seemed a popular pastime, you don't even have to go to a bar or restaurant for this as there are a plenty of places to sit and maybe down a delicious gelato ( if you can manage to choose from all the lovely flavours.)
I don't drive so I took a bus trip to Capo Caccia to visit the Grotti di Neptuno (Neptunes Caves) It cost 2 euros each way on the FDS blue bus (buy your tickets from the booth in the park) the 9.15 bus leaves bang on time and travels via Fertilia, Porto Conte (look out for the ruined Roman villa on the shore near here what a fabulous place to have lived!) the scenery is stunning. I was the only person going on to Capo Caccia and I arrived at the caves in time for the 11.00 tour ( beware the 656 steps down!) the tour is only short, I think about 30 mins ,so knowing the bus left at 12.00 and that the next one wasn't until about 16.00 I set myself the challenge to get back up those steps in time. Bearing in mind I am overweight, and had a knee operation last year plus it was in full sun around 30 plus degrees I did it in about 20 mins, with rests on the way. As I neared the exit (and boy were those last few steps the most gruelling) I was delighted to see my bus driver peeping over the wall! He knew I had gone down to the caves and he had waited for me (I practically collapsed in his arms and I was so glad to see him) the return stop was a little way back up the road and he made me slowly stroll back up there so I could recover, he had also left the engine running so the bus was nice and cool! How unbelievably kind and thoughtful was that!? Pretty indicative of all the people I came into contact with, who were kind and helpful, if a little reserved, I genuinely felt welcome, never felt threatened or that I was going to be ripped off at all( which can happen in some places).
To summarise, the small area of Sardinia I was able to see in my short visit was delightful, I will certainly go again and wouldn't hesitate to use La Mariposa, however I don't think I would risk a visit much futher into July and certainly not in August (when the Italians have their main holidays) as it would be too hot and too busy on the beaches (also you can't reserve a pitch for camping so you run the risk of arriving and not having anywhere to stay)

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank gogetitgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2008

A superb, well run and friendly campsite. Facilities are clean and tidy. Showers are hot and toilets are spotless. We stayed in a caravan for a week. Whilst slightly old fashioned - who cares! You are on a campsite and only 20 metres from the sea! The campsite has a marketplace where you can buy cold beers, fruit, bread meat etc. There is a bar area, washing lines, fridge facilities, drying areas, communal BBQ - everything you could possible want. They even have a scale so that you can weigh your bags before getting ripped off by Ryanair!! We visited from May 25th - June 1st 2008 and had fantastic weather (apart from 1 day of thunderstorms) and really enjoyed the town of Alghero and the superb beach. The best beach is located about 10 minutes walk from the site. At the entrance way turn left and walk through the pine forest for 10 minutes then take the track down to the beach. Lovely white sand, less busy than Alghero beach. We paid 32 euros per night for the caravan (like the one that is pulled behind a car) and it was worth every cent. They are covered by a shelter so that they don't heat up as much, with a patio area and a fridge freezer and gas cooker. Washing line also provided to dry your beach gear. 15 minutes from the airport in the taxi 20 euros or bus to centre of Alghero 0.75 cents - but you have to carry your bags for 1km along the promenade. Go and visit. Titty (no joke!) is the lovely receptionist who speaks superb english and guided us through the booking process.

5  Thank podders79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2008

Absolute honesty, I chose camping as a preference to a Hotel as Sardinia is one of the most expensive Islands for accommodation but it was a pleasing experience although not cheap. It cost us 55 euros a night, although campers bringing their own tent does not cost too much.
On arriving at the airport, I was told I could buy an orange bus ticket from the bar/tobacco seller within the airport, however they had none and we went to a point in the Airport grounds where the orange bus makes its stops, usually about 1 hour after flights have landed and we resolved the problem simply, when the bus conductor helped us. Bus fares are very cheap, I think about £1.50 a journey, but you must have it scanned on the bus.
Some 30 minutes later, we disembarked from the bus at the camping, but oops it was the wrong one. Careful, if you cannot speak Italian or Catalan. However not a problem. We bought bus tickets from the campsite, and boarded the next bus some 40 minutes later. No mistake this time as the bus driver recognised our destination and some 15 minutes later we got off the bus just before the Mariposa camping.
It was situated on a busy road and after booking in, we were shown our villa which they described it as a bungalow.
Our first reaction was shock, as it was so small inside and a bit like a dungeon, but read on as we mellowed to adjust and enjoy our surroundings. The bungalow had two sleeping rooms, one with a double bed and one with a bunk. The bunk room although tiny nicely adjusted to our closet as we draped our clothes on the beds. Our bungalow was good because we had our own generous sized bathroom, where other campers had to use the communal showers.
The best part of our accommodation was the open terrace where we ate and sat most of the time during the holiday chilling out in relaxing bliss.
The campsite had a supermarket, and we did waste some time going to a large supermarket outside the campsite which was quite far and then had difficulty in carrying the shopping. Believe me the camping supermarket had a good range of products and reasonably priced too and in hindsight I would use the camping supermarket.
We were in Sardinia in the month of June and the weather was scorching. The superb feature of Camping Mariposa is that it has its own beach which is cleaned and has the most crystal blue sea and beautiful white sand, caution, take beach shoes if you are going in Summer as the sun makes the sand hot. Note that it costs 8 euros to hire two beds and umbrella but we did discover Senegalese salesmen on the beach selling towels which after bartering they usually accept 10 euros The staff at the Mariposa are very friendly and helpful and some good English speakers too. On the campsite you can hire cycles and scooters. As we explored further, we discovered Alghero was a half an hour walk away, a delightful town full of narrow streets and a beautiful harbour, some very nice shops too. At night time, there does not seem to be any buses after 9 pm and we could not find a taxi anywhere, but at least for the fit it is not that far to walk. Tips which will prove helpful Take clothes pegs and towels with you to Sardinia. Cooking your own food is very cheap and the finest produce is available. Shops close for an afternoon siesta. Do not touch fruit or vegetable produce in shops, you have to be served by the assistant who wears gloves.
Finally the Sardinians are very quiet people, so its not for those seeking a buzzing nightlife. The campsite has a delightful restaurant with a good range of freshly made pizzas and nearby there is a barbecue area for those who enjoy cooking in the open.

7  Thank carole2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Elisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alghero
2.0 mi away
Villaggio e Campeggio Nurral
Villaggio e Campeggio Nurral
#113 of 146 in Alghero
129 reviews
7.5 mi away
Campeggio Villaggio Torre del Porticciolo
1.6 mi away
Camping Village Laguna Blu
Camping Village Laguna Blu
#28 of 146 in Alghero
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
74.9 mi away
Villaggio Camping Calapineta
Villaggio Camping Calapineta
#10 of 20 in Siniscola
70 reviews
36.2 mi away
Is Arenas Camping Village
93.9 mi away
Camping Tesonis Beach
Camping Tesonis Beach
#2 of 7 in Tertenia
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping La Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping La Mariposa

Address: Via Lido 22, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Alghero
Hotel Class:3 star — Camping La Mariposa 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and PitchUp so you can book your Camping La Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping La Mariposa Hotel Alghero
Camping La Mariposa Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing