We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location!”
Review of Due Colonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Due Colonne
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Cagliari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Excellent location in city center. Overall very nice. Our room was large, so was the bathroom. The breakfast included was good. We can recommend this place. The best about this hotel is the location. We stayed for two nights. If you bring a car, you can park at the railwaystation which is very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EvaM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2013

We have recently returned from a long weekend break in Cagliari. Not perhaps an obvious destination for a short break from the UK but made attractive by a new route introduced by one of the low cost airlines.

The hotel is very central, ideally situated for the bus and rail stations, shops, bars, restaurants and local sights. Indeed its central location is one of its major plus points.

We arrived at the hotel prior to 12 noon and although the normal check-in time is from 14.00 onwards, the reception team advised that if our room was ready we could get early access. However, it wasn't ready but we were able to leave our luggage and with the use of a helpful map provided by the hotel set off to explore the city and get a bite of lunch. By the time we returned our luggage had already been taken to our room by the hotel staff. Overall, check-in and check-out were hastle free.

Our room was of a good size, larger than some hotels we have stayed at and was spotlessly clean. Decor was restrained but again gave a feeling that the room was fresh and welcoming.
The room was on the corner of the second floor overlooking Via Sardegna in one direction and Largo Carlo Felice in the other. The latter is a main thoroughfare in the city and is very busy but we were pleasantly surprised that traffic noise was not a major issue as the soundproofing was good.

Importantly, the bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed a good nights sleep each night.

Breakfast was a typical self service affair with a good selection of breads, pastries, cheese, meats, fruit etc. and the breakfast room also doubles as the hotel bar in the evening.

We would not hesitate to stay at the Due Colonne next time we are in Cagliari

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trolleyman81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My partner and I can only say we had an amazing stay at Due Colonne, It was our first time to Cagliari we went for a weekend for a family wedding.The hotel we couldn't fault staff excellent, ideal walking distance for main street, shops, room perfect and had air-con. Thank you once again Due Colonne for making a very hot weekend bearable for two british people used to wet windy weather. Diane and Bren

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

the hotel was very convenient for bus station , tours ,restaurants and shops. The staff were very helpful and the hotel was very clean and comfortable.most importantly is was cool on a very hot day and night We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We just got back from our stay in Cagliari and we loved this hotel. We stayed there our first night in the city and then we stayed there again a few days later.

I have to say that the hotel is in the perfect spot, right in the heart of the town. There's a ton of nice restaurants and cafes close by.

Apart from that, the rooms are modern and spacious. We had two rooms, one overlooking the major street and then, we stayed in one in the back part of the hotel. Both rooms were great and we didn't have any problems with noise.

Also, the staff is amazing. We asked a ton of questions each day and they were very, very helpful when we needed some advice. They gave us some tips for the city and great restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank njewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This hotel was in an excellent location in the centre of town, next door to a department store, and near to the bus station with airport transfers. Reception staff were very helpful. I was given a large quiet room on the top floor, exactly as I had requested and there was no noise at all from the street below. Reception staff contacted a restaurant for me and confirmed that they had made the reservation. Breakfast buffet was good and served in a relaxing environment, although the hotel is also used for business guests. I would wholeheartedly recomment this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, which is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miriam14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We spent four nights in late October 2011 at the Due Colonne. This was our first trip to Sardinia, although we've been to Italy numerous times. Since we were staying in France for a month, and Cagliari was easily reachable from Marseille Airport via RyanAir, we decided to take a little side trip to discover a new area.
Due Colonne is clean and well located, and the staff are friendly and fairly helpful. You can walk to shopping, and the bus station is convenient for taking out of town trips to the countryside. It's also close to the marina district, the tourist mini-train and open air tour buses.

We found the hotel staff friendly, but our over-arching problem with our stay was the lack of air conditioning on two of the four nights. When we arrived we tried to turn on the ac in the room, but it was not functional. We then complained to the desk clerk that the room was too hot. He said that because it was autumn the air conditioner had been turned off and probably couldn't be turned back on. He fiddled with something on the computer for a few seconds, and murmured something about a burning smell we might experience in the room.(?) With urging, he agreed to contact the manager. His suggestion was that we open a window. This was not a satisfactory solution due to the street noise, the heavy drapes that didn't stay open, and mostly the lack of cool air from outside.

For all four of our days in town,the weather was hot and humid. The weather didn't seem to be a surprise to the locals, and in fact, our guidebook to Sardinia described the province as having "six months of summer." Even if the weather was unusual, the management should have been concerned about the comfort of their guests. On the second and third nights, the air conditioner was turned on, but on the fourth night it was once again stifling hot and uncomfortable. At 110 euros a night the hotel is admittedly not a very high end establishment, but it is not so cheap as to indicate that guests should not expect comfort and attention to detail.
I also just noted that on the Due Colonne site that they claim to have a bar and internet service, neither of which was true during our stay in October 2011. There is a very nice internet cafe a few blocks away which is fine, but the hotel shouldn't claim to have services it doesn't provide.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank francaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cagliari hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#9 of 33 in Cagliari
572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Ambasciata
Hotel L'Ambasciata
#4 of 33 in Cagliari
99 reviews
1.1 mi away
T Hotel
T Hotel
#3 of 33 in Cagliari
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#11 of 33 in Cagliari
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regina Margherita - Cagliari
0.1 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#6 of 33 in Cagliari
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Due Colonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Due Colonne

Address: Via Sardegna 4, 09124, Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cagliari
Price Range: £71 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Due Colonne 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Due Colonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Due Colonne Cagliari, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing