We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms”
Review of La Ghirlanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Ghirlanda
Ranked #51 of 261 Cagliari B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed at La Ghirlanda in August 2012 for 5 nights. The rooms are spacious, very nicely decorated and kept clean throughout our stay. As we arrived, the owners made sure to give us all the information, after that they we abscent all the time and we had to call for further details and arrangements which was the only downfall in our stay. The hotel is located in the ancient city and near the main attractions and the bus station which made moving around very easy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony-ElH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

Having read the reviews, the B & B was as expected. The rooms are spacious, clean and well fitted.The owners are a delightful couple, who persevered in understanding our questions in English and provided us with as much information as possible and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were typically Italian, taken at a local cafe watching the world go by as we had coffee and a pastry which was supplemented by fruit juice and fresh fruit in our room by the owners, as well as the daily bottles of mineral water which was greatly appreciated. The B & B is in a great location for travelling around the area, being near to both the bus and train stations and there are plenty of good restaurants to eat in around the area. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gladcash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

In my 2 trips to Sardinia I stayed at La Ghirlanda 4 times. The location is very convenient, quick walking distance to the ARST bus station and the train station and a block away from via Sardegna with all the restaurants. The owners Antonia and Carmello are very helpful and welcoming you with a cold bottle of water at checkin. The rooms are individually, and tastefully decorated with care and they treat you like a family! (They even asked me to watch the EURO final with them in their living room) The place is clean, air-conditioned with TV and I feel like every time I visit Cagliari I have a home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstenSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We recently ended our two-week trip to Sardegna with 3 wonderful nights at the Ghirlanda. The location was perfect, close to the bus station and all amenities. Our hosts were welcoming and gracious and full of information on the sights and history of Cagliari. They offered tiramisu on our first morning, fresh-squeezed orange juice on the second and 'seadas' just before our departure. We liked going downstairs to the cafe for breakfast – nice to sit and people watch. The room was lovely: huge bed; lots of towels; space to unpack a bit for a few days; great view up and down the street; and the geraniums in the window were in perfect bloom. We'd love to go back and recommend it heartily to anyone who speaks even a bit of French or Italian.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnajmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

A very nice B&B that is well located in the centre of Cagliari. The room is very clean and decorated with really good taste. We also found the owners to be very friendly. Most certainly a place to recommend

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

La Ghirlanda's rooms are truly beautiful to look at and clean. The location is terrific. But, unfortunately, there were a few problems. One was communicating with the very gracious hosts who speak French or Italian. This is fine, as long as you're aware of it going in. I think it's a stretch to call this a B&B when the sweet roll and coffee breakfast is served at a cafe down the block by a surly waiter. But more importantly, I was unable to sleep well. The front room that I was given was too noisy from street sounds. The second night, I was offered a back room which turned out to be airless, hot and smelly. When I asked to turn on the air conditioning unit in the room to circulate the air and cool down the room, I had to surmise (because I couldn't understand) that it only ran for certain hours. I've never had such an unpleasant stay, gratefully for only two nights.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juniemoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

My girlfriend & I, had a 3 knight stay at the hotel. The Hotel is located in the center, just a few minuttes to the harbour, mange great restaurants and shoping.
The host couple at the hotel are the BEST !! So kind, friendly and helpfull. Almost like you' re at home. The rooms are spacious and clean. Only paring at Via Roma is free and can be challeging.

Best regars and hopefully
Martin from Denmark

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mielko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cagliari hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cagliari
Holiday Inn Cagliari
#14 of 33 in Cagliari
653 reviews
1.2 mi away
T Hotel
T Hotel
#4 of 33 in Cagliari
1,996 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Grillo
Hotel Grillo
#16 of 33 in Cagliari
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
B&B Sa Babbaiola
B&B Sa Babbaiola
#1 of 1 in Pirri
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Marina
Hostel Marina
#18 of 89 in Cagliari
161 reviews
0.8 mi away
B&B Il Pittoresco
B&B Il Pittoresco
#68 of 261 in Cagliari
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ghirlanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ghirlanda

Address: Via Lodovico Baylle n 7, 09124, Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Cagliari
Price Range: £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Ghirlanda" guest house, at the heart of the historical city centre of Cagliari, enjoys a fantastic location at the corner between via Baylle and via Roma, the town’s vaulted promenade. The port, railway station, bus and air terminal are all a few steps away, just as most of the town’s restaurants and bars. "La Ghirlanda" offers 2 triple and 2 double rooms, each furnished differently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your La Ghirlanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ghirlanda Cagliari, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing