We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ristorante Calamosca
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Cagliari
Midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic view”
Reviewed 6 February 2008

Spent four days in Sardinia, two of which at the Hotel Calamosca.

Wasnt sure what to expect following a number of mixed reviews but with hindsight it was definately the right choice!

im not sure how old the building is and it is a fair comment to say that they need to spend a bit of money of updating it but that kind of adds to the charm. The rooms are basic but clean and the overall feel is quirky with a slight feeling of an italian Fawlty Towers but all of this pales into insignificance when you see the view from your balcony!

A brilliant view at almost Travellodge prices. Definately recommended. The restaurant next door is pretty good as well. Would love to return in summer.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Shower could have been bigger
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed_uk_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    58
    51
    41
    57
See reviews for
40
96
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2007

We found the reviews of this hotel to be broadly accurate. Nice spot, good public areas, relaxed but rooms a bit battered. But to clarify a few points. The facilities of the hotel are effectively bar/pizzeria/restaurant with large terrace leading to private rocky beach. There is a public beach next to the hotel which is small, sandy and very popular. Little in the way of English speaking tourists. We found it easily from the airport-follow signs Cagliari, Via Roma and then Calamosca and hotel are advertised

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GRIFFYGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, CA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2006

For vista and peaceful location you can't beat the Calamosca, but the hotel is a little "tired" (a three-star hotel with a five-star view). We had a lovely room with a balcony and sea view; the staff were welcoming and the dinner in the affiliated restaurant was delicious. The included breakfast was, as others have said, spartan. But the fresh coffee was excellent! Our bathroom definitely needed renovation, as did other details in the hotel. Still, we felt we had chosen well for a one-night visit.

  • Liked — The view and the park right on the water, the sense of privacy
  • Disliked — the bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — You must have a car to make this hotel feasible.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MtDiablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 March 2006

Although the view from the window was perfection, the air conditioning was useful, the room was basic and the furniture was functional, the staff however were first rate. The price being similar to a B & B In Yarmouth puts the hotel into perspective,as great value for money, unfortunately the bathroom was not to the standard one would expect, chips out of the bath and toilet not appropriate for a larger person however it was clean but had a damp smell caused by mould in the tile grouting, maid service was provided every day and although we used the hotel as a base when summer arrives beach lovers could spend the majority of their time at this location. The only down side to the hotel was the management of the restaurant, it was not good value for money and offered a limited menu for all courses on 1 A4 piece of paper, this was written totally in italian and although was not a problem for me could and did pose problems to other non italian guests as the staff in the restaurant spoke no english. it would appear that the restaurent is run separately from the hotel as breakfast buffet is served in the bar, if you are early you will see yogs, fresh croissants, however they are limited leaving the late riser without these two choices but still a veritable feast of fresh rolls and crispbreads, cakes, cereal and fruit are adequate.

Stayed March 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelling The World
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2005

It's been a while since we stayed here, but I thought I would add my thoughts.

Firstly, I agree with a lot of what has been said about how run down the place seems. But, I would urge people travelling in the Mediterranean to adjust their expectations. The things that are most important, comfort, safety and good value were all there. Yes, it looks a little rundown, but so many places in this part of the world do.

We had a room with a sea view. Watching the sunset across the bay and listening to the sea lap the pebble beach was wonderful.

The restaurant is great and offers good value. We went à la carte, and had a feast, including pasta and seafood, for very little money.

I agree that the breakfast is not up to much.

The Calamosca is a slice of real Sardinia, a little on the rough side but with loads of charm, and a friendly welcome.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DouglasDC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 November 2005

The Hotel looked like a 70s hospital. The rooms are small and there was a faint but unpleasant odour. The Hotel is close to Cagliari and once you find it, if driving it is easy to find again (tip: head for signs for Stadium and after that there are signposts).

Try to get a sea view, we got stuck with the view of a road and had to lean halfway out the window to see the magnificent sunset!

The dinner was lovely. there is a limited choice but it was very good. the breakfast on the otherhand was disappointing, the food was all prepacked.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2005

We had read the previous reviews so were a bit anxious on arrival, especially as the restaurant sign is broken, and the outside needs a lick of paint. However, we had a super stay. The staff were very keen to make our stay enjoyable, and addressed issues very promply. The half board menu is local Sardinian food - we had fun deciphering the menu, but the staff did their best with translation as we don't speak Italian. There is not much choice, but the skill of the chef is evident if you're prepared to take a risk! The A la Carte menu is quite extensive, and the restaurant is heaving every night of the week with locals that make the jouney - there is nothing else in Calamosca apart from the beach and hotel - so that speaks for itself for the quality of the food. The private beach is rocky with a decked area for sunbathing. The seabed undulates, so not really suitable for children. However, take goggles or snorkle as the seabed itself is stunning, and there is a multitude of fish and vegetation to be seen. We were very relaxed at the end of our weeks stay.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cagliari hotels
0.6 mi away
Chentu Lunas Hotel
Chentu Lunas Hotel
#15 of 36 in Cagliari
39 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nautilus
Hotel Nautilus
#1 of 36 in Cagliari
261 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Sveva
Hotel Villa Sveva
#14 of 36 in Cagliari
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hotel Grillo
Hotel Grillo
#17 of 36 in Cagliari
187 reviews
2.9 mi away
L'Ambasciata Hotel de Charme
2.9 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#9 of 36 in Cagliari
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Calamosca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Calamosca

Property: Hotel Ristorante Calamosca
Address: Viale Calamosca 50, 09126, Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Cagliari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ristorante Calamosca 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a wonderful beach-sidelocation, Hotel Ristorante Calamoscaprovides an elegant and tranquilsetting for your stay just outside thebustling centre of Cagliari.You will instantly feel at home at thisfriendly hotel on the Bay ofCalamosca. The sea view isunforgettable.Your air-conditioned guest roomcomes with a private balcony. Thehotel features a TV lounge, a bar,and an internet point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Calamosca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calamosca Hotel Cagliari
Hotel Ristorante Calamosca Cagliari, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing