We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as you expect it”
Review of Orto Botanico

Orto Botanico
Ranked #18 of 153 things to do in Cagliari
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not as good as you expect it”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

It was difficult to get there because Orto Botanico is closed on Saturdays and Sundays. and is open only until 6pm on weekdays. Keep in mind that the entrance is near Villa Tigelius and not the Amphiteatre.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bitteroranges1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    97
    45
    21
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Viareggio, Italy
Level Contributor
317 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Absolutely pleasant diversion”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I visited the garden in January. It was a nice discover. A huge selection of green things, panels reasonably well organized. Overall the place communicated a good care and organization.
I think the place will give its best of Spring/Autumn

Helpful?
Thank Naturalchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Inexplicably closed”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Like other Italian and foreign tourists standing puzzled at the closed gates on a Sat morning, we were disappointed to find the gardens were not open at the time and day advertised on the sign at the gate!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank adonisb101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourton on the Water
Level Contributor
148 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Quite interesting but was surprised there was a charge”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Wasn't expecting an entry fee and the gatekeeper was rude, demanding we had the right money as he had no change. Interesting old roman water cistern and some lovely big figus trees but have seen better elsewhere for free! I am sure though that in summer this is great place to find cool shade.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Opening times???”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed 6 nights in Cagliari and Orto Botanico was one of places I intended to visit.
I would have visited if garden had been opened.

To sum it up:
- website said gardens were open Mon - Sat, from 8,30am till 6,30pm in October
- I came to the gate on Saturday morning around 9am...doors closed (I thought ok, probably too early, all shops open late in Sardinia), bunch of other tourists were already around trying to get in as well, spoke to them, nobody knew anything more
- FYI...gate stated opening times and 3 Euros entrance fee only, did not mention days at all
- I came again around 11am, even more tourist around, gate still closed though....and then one of native speakers noticed A4 print out placed in the showcase some 4-5 metres behind the main gate saying gardens were opened Mon-Fri only in October !!!

Are you serious? Such a small print out, far behind the gate and in Italian only...shameful and so disappointing.
I could have visited on Monday but I did not care, could not be bothered..how can garden look like if they are not able to put basic thing like opening times right.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Radim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orto Botanico also viewed

Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
 
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
Cagliari, Province of Cagliari
 

Been to Orto Botanico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing