We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“island trip”
Review of Hotel Grillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Grillo
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Cagliari
madrid spain
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“island trip”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This Hotel is lovely if a little remote from the capitol Cagliari, I love staying in slightly of the main track places and Assemini is a lovely village to walk around. The hotel is bright, clean and the staff are very nice, it also has a swimming pool. The hotel has a very nice retaurant with good food and a ready smile from the staff.

Room Tip: choose a room at the front away from the back of the hotel as a railway line is not far away
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave195499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    82
    55
    14
    4
See reviews for
27
50
7
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I read some of the previous reviews and was slightly worried before arriving but was very happy with what we found.
As a couple with a 21 month old child we were extremely pleased with the Hotel. The room was cleaned superbly everyday with lots of towels provided. The air conditioning worked, the shower was strong as did the TV and internet connection. Black out curtains in the room as well as double glazing meant we were able to rest really well at night. The king bed we had was really comfortable as it was suitably firm.
Luckily for us, the staff at the Hotel spoke great English and were really courteous and helpful. We ate dinner at the restaurant on the first night we arrived and thought the food was good and good value for the amount. The breakfast was what you would expect a continental choice to be and had lots of different options, which were ok.
The location was perfect for us as we went to Sardinia to visit family living in a small town about 20 minutes away from Assemini. There was plenty of parking at the hotel and it was a great base to have as it is only a 15/20 minute drive into Cagliari and close to all mayor routes.

I would definitely stay again and would recommend if you are hiring a car and want to discover Sardinia.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

For Brits out there imagine Alan Partridge's hotel transported to Sardinia and you'll get the picture. A grim hotel in the middle of a dead town on the outskirts of Cagliari. The air conditioning didn't work and probably doesn't work anywhere in the building. The room itself was clean but that's about all you could say for it. The breakfast consisted of an array of packaged cookies, stale cake and croissants, and some nasty cheap concentrated orange juice. This is a last resort kind of place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonZoeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cagliari hotels

Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I booked this hotel because the amenities looked good and the description suggested it was near the beach from the 'only 20 minutes away' timescale given, but this must be by car (if there is no traffic and you know where you are going!). To get to the beach by foot you have to get on 2 separate public buses if you don't have a car and it probably takes you the best part of an hour to do so. The journey is not bad and the buses are good though.
There is very little to do at this hotel. in fact, I've never been so bored. There is a lovely restaurant round the corner called Bacco Ristorante. Delicious food and great staff to talk to. Be sure to mention Boy George to the waiter Luca and you'll be in the club ;-)
The swimming pool was nice and clean, but they closed the pool on one of the 5 days I was here for a private party, even though the party was only in the evening, it was closed all day.
The free WIFI was strange - you had to log in to use it with a code and user name given by reception and my laptop said it was high risk!? Not experienced this system in any other hotels yet.
The air conditioning in my room didn't work, so I found it difficult to sleep due to the humidity.
Bathroom was good, nice powerful shower.
This place was ok but I wouldn't go back again. I moved to a lovely B&B (Sa Domu Cheta) in the centre of Cagliari. Same price as this hotel, but breakfast was included and location was far better.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonPurplestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We were there for one night. Room was spacious and clean, hotel restaurant was good too. However hotel is right next to the traintrack and close to the airport. We were unable to sleep with window open. Even when closed it was noisy. The rooms at the front might be better from this point of view

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThirzaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Went here for mini honeymoon, main one next year. Stayed 5 nights. Found hotel ok, only 10 mins from Cagliari airport. When arrived, was not impressed by standard room but was given upgrade - new room much better, not quite 4* but cosy and clean. Room had TV, some satellite channels, sofas, small balcony, very comfy large bed, small hydromassage bath and very basic hairdryer in bathroom. Rooms are definitely not soundproofed as advertised on some web sites! Can hear people in corridors, airplanes flying over and trains pass by.

Hotel has nice swimming pool, but no spa or wellness centre or massages available - again this is advertised on some websites! Does have a gym, and a sauna has been installed but is not licensed to be used yet.

Found all staff to be very friendly, particularly those on reception who spoke good English too. They would advise us on good beaches to go to, such as Chia and Villasimius (both a good hour´s drive away). There were other beaches only 20 mins away but we wanted to go to the better ones. Also went in Cagliari, about 20mins away, not too much to see but gave us something different to do other than going to the beach.

Ate in hotel 2 nights as only a couple of other restaurants in the area - a nice pizzeria a few doors along and a little italian up the road. Hotel food very good, reasonably priced too. Waiters Ignaccio and Luca were excellent. Breakfasts were basic continential, quite nice, ended at 9.30am.

Overall, would say that this hotel is ideal for a stop over for the airport or business meeting, but not for tourists. The staff made the stay pleasant but the hotel was more like a 3* than 4*, and not the best location for seeing the sights. May go back to Sardinia some day, but would probably stay in the north next time.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondie180610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Hotel is only OK if you're staying for *one* night. Using as a stop-off if you arrive late in Calgiari as it's about 10 mins from the airport along a straight motorway. Then leave after breakfast the following day and head north for Costa Smerelda where you will find the real Sardinia and the type of holiday you're actually looking for (amazing food, beaches, scenery). Hotel Grillo was kinda smelly, breakfast was AWFUL, and none of the staff spoke a word of English. The hotel is a large B&B, not made for actual holidays. At only €70/night, you can't really expect anything more.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauraq44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cagliari hotels
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cagliari
Holiday Inn Cagliari
#13 of 36 in Cagliari
627 reviews
7.1 mi away
T Hotel
T Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cagliari
1,905 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Ulivi e Palme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sardegna Hotel
Sardegna Hotel
#8 of 36 in Cagliari
436 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#10 of 36 in Cagliari
534 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Regina Margherita - Cagliari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grillo

Property: Hotel Grillo
Address: Via Carmine 132 | Assemini, 09032, Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cagliari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grillo 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Grillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grillo Cagliari, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing