We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel in Cagliari”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meditur Hotel Cagliari Santa Maria
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Cagliari
Genoa
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“nice hotel in Cagliari”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Nice Hotel, good restaurant, poor maintenance but this seems common with Idea Hotels.
Friendly staff

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fgismo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    84
    154
    67
    60
See reviews for
39
157
17
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We went to this hotel as part of a large group of people (54), most of us had some issues with the rooms. Ours was on the smaller side, three single beds crammed in with just enough room to walk past each bed. Wallpaper peeling of the walls, holes in the wall from coat hooks, sockets that could not be used as they pushed through into the cavity, plus the sockets required a three pin adapter before you use your european adapter! The main light above the large mirror on the wall also failed to work. The heating in the room was just good enough to take the chill off the room, which was of no use as the window was permenantly open and could not be closed. Although there was a notice on the window telling you not to open the window as it is a maintenance window. We were not alone with these complaints. The location of the hotel seemed strange too, very difficult to find a decent restaurant or shops, next door is a restaurant with pizzeria written above the door but they told us that they do not sell pizza. They did manage to feed all 54 of us with plates of antipasti, pasta and fried fish, with plenty of wine. So hats off to them for that. Food at the hotel was ok, but it was nothing compared to the photo's supplied on the web site. This hotel also appeared to be short staffed, as the Guy serving Breakfast also served dinner and we also saw him running the bar, which was completely under stocked and rarely open. The last thing to remember is not to leave your passport with them as this is placed behind the reception counter and not kept in a secure place. The counter is not continually staffed. The Hotel staff did try to be helpfull and it was clean and tidy. My title for the review says it all. I hope I never return to this Hotel!!

Room Tip: Hard to say, some rooms are bigger than others. So check!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slaereed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cagliari hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed here after 4 nights at T Hotel as based on previous review believed it to be close to the airport - it wasn't as it was still a significant taxi journey away. Hotel was very quiet and reception area a little depressing. Bus into centre leaves from 5 min up the road however I wouldn't feel too comfortable walking back to hotel in that area late at night.

Room Tip: Go out the main door of hotel, turn left and walk to end of the road for bus to centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgiCac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Just got back after spending 3 nights at this hotel.

Plus:-

Cheap, decent breakfast, free onsite parking, right next to the fast road to the airport. Very friendly female receptionist.

Minus:-

Wifi not free (€4 per day). Well away from the centre of Cagliari so you have to use buses or cabs. Aside from the above mentioned friendly female receptionist, all other receptionists are middle-aged grumpy men. The walls between the guest rooms are very thin. I could hear people next door chatting and even snoring..!! No eateries around the hotel. Didn't try the in-house restaurant except for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank the_musafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We stayed 1-1 night as a part of a roundtrip trhough Sicily.

Positive: good price, good breakfast, very nice and kind and helpful staff, large lcd tv with SKY channels, free parking. Bring a GPS with you to find it.

Negative: you have to ask the right wing of the hotel, because it has better rooms and beds, than the other..The bathroom is also outdated a bit.
The biggest problems that its very noisy, the windows are not soundproof. You hear almost all night the cars because the highway its just 100 m from the hotel. It is almost impossible to sleep! Its in the middle of nowhere, so bring a car with you,

Overall it needs more renovation, maybe 20-30 years ago it was a modern hotel, but I would not recommend until they dont change the windows into more sound proof one. I hope they will do soon. One more thing: The wifi is not free!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doncarlos30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

An OK hotel once you have located it! Why did we find it so difficult to locate? We arrived after dark at the airport in possession of a sketch map showing route from airport to hotel and the road numbers. Firstly the road numbers on the signs were so small as to be unreadable in the dark. Secondly the road signing was inconsistent . Thirdly the area is made up of seemily enless one way streets which make it almost impossible to relocate if you do make an error, ehich is almost inevitable given the poor signage. Fourthly the name of the hotel is not on the outside...just Hotel! In reception there is a blackboard welcoming you to the Santa Maria and Idea Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davytUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Meditur Hotel Cagliari Santa Maria, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
Dear DavyUnitedKingdom,
Thank you for writing your experience in our hotel.

We are planning to change our signage into IDEA HOTEL, and will be done in the next 60 days.
It’s our mission to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us.
Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us.
We hope you will continue to choose us and our IDEA HOTEL in Italy, Paris and Lugano for your travel needs
Kindly regards
Piero Marini
quality manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Although initially a little difficult to find, we were accorded a warm welcome. I notice that another reviewer said 'They speak mostly Italian' - that is because they are Italian!! We both speak Italian, but, I'm sure, with a little effort to learn a few words ( we British are notoriously lazy at learning foreign languages) one could get by. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Not the most wonderful area of the city, but within 10 minutes drive of the Via Roma and the Castello district. The staff were very helpful, and gave us a map with very clear instructions as to how to reach the main parts of the city. We didn't use the restaurant for our evening meal, as it was usually a fixed menu, but the breakfasts were of good quality, with plenty of variety. There is a car park which is guarded from 5pm. through the night, albeit at 5 Euros per night, but we thought well worth the expense.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkipanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cagliari hotels
1.1 mi away
Residence Montegrappa
Residence Montegrappa
#20 of 34 in Cagliari
32 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Quadrifoglio
Hotel Quadrifoglio
#26 of 34 in Cagliari
125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Residence Ulivi e Palme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#10 of 34 in Cagliari
548 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aurora
Aurora
#22 of 34 in Cagliari
46 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Grillo
Hotel Grillo
#15 of 34 in Cagliari
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meditur Hotel Cagliari Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meditur Hotel Cagliari Santa Maria

Property: Meditur Hotel Cagliari Santa Maria
Address: Via Santa Maria Chiara 157, 09134, Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy (Formerly Idea Hotel Cagliari Santa Maria)
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Cagliari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Meditur Hotel Cagliari Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Meditur Hotel Cagliari Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cagliari Jolly Hotel
Meditur Hotel Cagliari Santa Maria Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing