We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for the city.”
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Cagliari
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Perfect location for the city.”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed here last year on our way home. The location is great for exploring Cagliari but also for reaching the airport easily (by cab). Has been updated since our last visit, but the air conditioning didn't work in the two rooms we had and with the windows open it was a bit noisy during the night. However it is good value for a city hotel, and we would stay there again if air conditioning fixed!!

Room Tip: Quieter at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mah_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    262
    128
    43
    19
See reviews for
67
156
47
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Great location in Cagliari, central to everything.
Nice room, but the air con didn't work.newly renovated room. The room was not soundproofed against the hallway.
Good breakfast for Italy.
It was clear that parts of the hotel had been renovated, but more is to be done.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

75 euros for a double rooms. Rooms have been newly renovated apparently 5 months ago. Beautiful wooden floors, rain shower head. The only downside is that the internet strength is not so strong and the airconditioning didn't work. It wasn't hot in June so it wasn't too bad. But I hope they fix the air conditioning problem before summer comes. Receptionist couldn't really speak english. Had to communicate with my limited italian.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pph_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Didn't prebook a hotel on recent visit, so chose one closest to where we parked on Via Roma. The Italia. A great location, and on a side street so no traffic noise, but parking OK on or near Via Roma - you have to feed a meter but can do that as often as you have to (there don't seem to be any restrictions limiting your stay) Lots of restaurants within yards. Friendly receptionists - male and female - who spoke good English. Nice good sized room on first night, large comfy double bed, though pillows a bit lumpy. Good breakfast..only downside is that the second floor rooms all seem to be being refurb'd at the moment so building noise started about 8.30. We then toured around Sardinia a bit (note almost everywhere out of city closed at this time of year, so allow time to find places if you havn't prebooked), and on return to Cagliari had no hesitation in coming back to The Italia for our last 2 nights. An even better room on top floor this time with sun in the morning and a view over old town - also more distant from the building works so quite quiet. Very happy with the place.

Room Tip: Try for the top floor. East facing have a good view over a quieter side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRO16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. I found it quite expensive (82 euros) for the room that we got (a twin room with not much light). We were not able to secure a double room. Internet is not available in the rooms (only in the public areas), which can be a bit annoying if you need it. There were some difficulties in terms of communication with the receptionists as they didn't seem to speak well English but we sort of managed with my Spanish. The rooms do not have a safe and when we left the laptops in the reception so that they would put it in the safe, we were told that they did not fit. The breakfast and the location are the best part! One is quite central in the middle of a street full of restaurants and breakfast (despite limited) it is of very good quality. In sum, location is great, rooms are below average, these are old style (but clean), breakfast is good but definately too expensive for the rooms they offer.

Room Tip: Do not take a room that is by the street but make sure the alternative room they offer you has enoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete_cris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiswick, West London
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Spent a night at the Hotel Italia with family and bearing in mind the price and the lack of any decent similar priced alternatives, this hotel is OK. My parents stay here a fair bit and the good points are that it is clean, the service is very good and the location, bang in the centre of Cagliari is hard to beat.

On the flip side the decor of our room was very 70s and felt bizarrely retro. Our room was small but there are quite a variety in room sizes and my parents always go for rooms at the back of the hotel as they say thet are bigger. The breakfast was very basic but all in all this hotel was Ok for what we paid and the fact we were our most of the day.

Room Tip: Go for rooms at the rear of the hotel as they tend to be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhyllisMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed in this hotel before flying back to England. Very good value for money and the staff very friendly. Rooms clean, air conditioning very welcome and overall a very pleasant stay. Ideally situated for wandering around this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel as rooms at the front overlook the road which is full of res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mah_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cagliari hotels
1.1 mi away
T Hotel
T Hotel
#3 of 34 in Cagliari
1,926 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cagliari
Holiday Inn Cagliari
#14 of 34 in Cagliari
637 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Grillo
Hotel Grillo
#15 of 34 in Cagliari
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regina Margherita - Cagliari
0.1 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#6 of 34 in Cagliari
229 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Residence Ulivi e Palme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Property: Hotel Italia
Address: Via Sardegna 31, 09124, Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cagliari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Cagliari
Hotel Italia Cagliari, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing