We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis with Charm and Character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Giardino Segreto
Ranked #70 of 258 Cagliari B&B and Inns
Frisco, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Oasis with Charm and Character”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This wonderful B&B is a true find in Cagliari. It is well-located and perfectly appointed. It retains the character of historic Sardinia yet with all of the modern conveniences of a new hotel. It is quaint and friendly and lovely. In fact, we stayed here upon our arrival and then returned at the end of our 7-day trip to stay again! Mauricio, his wife, and his wonderful staff are all so kind, thoughtful, professional and courteous. Also, they make and serve a delicious breakfast filled with specialties of the Island. I would definitely stay here again and, without reservation, recommend it to anyone looking for a true taste of Sardinia. Simply put, it is perfect!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciaobella49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    26
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
41
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Marizio and Silvia are happy to help with any advice you need in getting around Cagliari especially if you are a first time visitor.

Room Tip: The two rooms I stayed in were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaureenH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We were at Il Giardino for six days, the weather was cold and rainy! However, we were saved by Silvia and Maurizio's restaurant recommendations. Our room was very quiet, even with the breakfast lounge outside our room, there were two doors so we really didn't hear a thing. Breakfast was a treat with bread hot from the oven, yoghurt with Sardinian bitter honey, jams, Nutella, and a delicious lemon scented cake, however, it would've been nice to have other types of cakes, or even the traditional Easter cake as we were there Easter Sunday. Our room had a terrace outside, it was a shame the weather was cold. Even with the extra bed for our teen there was space to walk around comfortably. The TV had a bilingual button so we could watch SKY in English. There is a PC in the lounge. Plenty of hot water in the shower. The hotel is on a quiet street, and if you walk towards the botanical gardens, you will find a supermarket on your left behind the Coop bookstore. There is an even larger supermarket(if you are a foodie) on Via Sonino, on the right side going up from the port. Restaurant Il Licciu is about five minutes by foot, and they have no menu, and you just eat what they bring you. They bring you five or six plates of appetizers(all good) and then you are asked which pasta(lobster, sea urchin, bottarga, langoustines, or clams...all good), then if you can still eat more, a variety of fish, or a deep fried cheese filled dessert, liquer, and coffee. The wine and mineral water is included in the set price...for lunch w/o fish it was 23E per person, and we were too full to eat dinner. We went back two more times, tried different pastas, at night it's slightly more pricey...however they also served the same appetizers, everyday for a week. The best seafood we'd had since Ischia and at 2/3 the price. The Sardinian traditional restaurant Silvia recommended was also nice, with a selection of prosciuttos and salamis, grilled vegetables, fregola pasta, and a beautiful presentation of cookies and the local liquer afterwards. The Segway tour was FUN and only 40E for 2.5 hours, the busses to Poetta didn't run on Easter so we took a cab 12E one way-the hotel there had a 38E Easter feast-all good. Only two flaminogoes in the estuary. We couldn't rent a car the last two days we had wanted to as Hertz and the others didn't have any to rent so we missed the UNESCO world heritage site near Oristano.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnjoyingLife24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

This B&B is hidden away on a quiet street, but only 5 min walk to the main streets lined with cafes and restaurents, and only 5 min walk to the amphitheatre. The rooms are beautiful, luxurious, quiet, and spacious. Breakfast is lovely with freshly baked cake and bread, and home made jams.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaskNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2011

A superb and beautifully run bed and breakfast. The rooms were tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean.
it is extremely well positioned to enjoy the old town.
We enjoyed Maurizio's and Sylvia's restaurant recommendations. In particular Flora where we ate the most sublime fish.

Emma and Mark

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nettlestead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Lincoln, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Quite location, walking distance to via Roma and tour bus. Friendly, helpful hosts.
Rooms were neat, clean and well serviced.Really enjoyed our stay.Lovely to have breakfast included.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller499726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We hunted high and low to find the perfect place for a late Sept break in Europe.....and we found it...not only a beautiful city but also the perfect B&B. Close to the heart of the city and run by Maurizio and Silvia who both make you feel very welcomed. Beautiful rooms, homemade breakfasts and as helpful as you could want including recommendations for some great restaurants. We had the perfect weather with sunny days in the mid 20's and enjoyed a very relaxing break.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cagliari hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#6 of 35 in Cagliari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Onda Marina B&B
Onda Marina B&B
#35 of 258 in Cagliari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sa Domu Cheta
Sa Domu Cheta
#63 of 258 in Cagliari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
B&B Art Rooms
B&B Art Rooms
#41 of 258 in Cagliari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Arco
L'Arco
#100 of 258 in Cagliari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buen Aire B&B
Buen Aire B&B
#61 of 258 in Cagliari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giardino Segreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giardino Segreto

Property: Il Giardino Segreto
Address: Viale Fra Ignazio 16, 09123, Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Cagliari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Giardino Segreto is a boutique hotel that offers a charming welcome with its rooms furnished with the typical Sardinian furnishing including textiles weaved with traditional looms, ceramics and iron. Located in the heart of the historic district of Stampace, in the city centre, it is closed to all the major attractions of the city, all reachable by foot, including the tourist harbour, the railway station, archaeological sights, hospitals and clinics, shopping roads and all the places to eat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Giardino Segreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Giardino Segreto Cagliari, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing