We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet little gem close to centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Giardino Segreto
Ranked #68 of 261 Cagliari B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Compact B & B with easy walking access to all sites, quiet location a little hidden away, off same steet as Orto Botanico (botanical gardens), best without too much luggage as entrance down a short laneway. Rooms very attractive, comfortable and clean; breakfast simple with fresh home made yoghurt, bread and preserves, great coffee. Delightful owners Sylvia and Mauritzo with young family make you feel most welcome. Free internet access. One delightful larger apartment around the corner but 100 meters walk to breakfast

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rusty85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2009

First Class! Exceptional!
The Secret Garden is a true joy! I stayed here for four nights in July 2009 after a straightforward booking made over the internet (in English). A superb late night welcome at the airport as Maurizio, who, like his wife Silvia, speaks good English, collected me and my luggage then promptly took us to the accommodation in his comfortable vehicle.

The room was delightful and many of the items such as bed head, rug and lamp bases/wall lights are locally made. My room was spacious, light and had remote controlled air conditioning (marvellous!) plus multi-channelled international flat screen TV. Helpful information in the room, plus a mini-bar extended the welcome.

The bathroom facilities were very clean, with a powerful shower, sachets of good quality shampoo & body wash, hairdryer and lovely fluffy towels adding to the feeling of well being. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned each day by a friendly, helpful member of staff who also spoke excellent English.

At breakfast the home made goodies previously mentioned such as yoghurt, jams, bread and cakes with local honey were much appreciated. The hosts were very helpful, producing a wealth of bus timetables, leaflets of local attractions and travel details plus, recommendations for good beaches and places to visit. They even had low priced sun screen and beach towels on sale in case you needed them in the 35C heat. The breakfast area is full of the scent of the dried flowers and herbs on display, plus there is a computer for guests if you wish to check your emails.

The Secret Garden is tranquil, relaxing, well located, just a few minutes from the bus stations, shops and the central square at the marina, with the inspiring botanical gardens on the same street. I would recommend the green open top bus tour from Yenne Sq (about 5 minutes walk away) which I picked up at 10am and paid 10 Euro for a tour which enhanced my knowledge of this beautiful city.
Highly recommended and would definitely return to Il Giardino Segreto

Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
Thank Capricorn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

What an excellent B&B! My friend and I arrived in Sardinia long after the buses had stopped running, but Maurizio was more than hapy to come and pick us up from the airport. The room was lovely; very clean and spacious, and equipped with a mini bar and air con. Perfec for the hot weather.

Breakfast consisted of homemade bread, cakes, jams and marmalades, all made by Silvia. The hosts were wonderful and very kind, and often suggested where we should go and see. Because of Maurizio's suggestions we managed to see many things that were not listed in the guide book, such as traditional Sardinian singing in one of the oldest churches in Sardinia.

The B&B was well situated in the old part of town, within 5 minutes walking distance of the centre of town and Piazza Yenne. Although the B&B is situated in the centre, the noise levels are in fact very quiet. Nightlife in Cagliari is well worth making the effort to stay up for, with amazing cocktails and live music played in the bars.

All in all, this was an excellent holiday destination which was enhanced by the welcoming and helpful B&B owners. An excellent time had by all.

Diolch yn fawr!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

We stayed at Il Giardino Segreto for 4 nights in May and had a wonderful time. We arrived extremely late at night, yet Maurizio was waiting for us when we arrived. Maurizio and Silvia were both wonderful hosts, ensuring that we felt very welcome and even going so far as to offer us a lift to the bus station with our luggage when we left. On arrival, the first thing that hits you is the wonderful scent of flowers as you enter the B&B. Our room was clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated with some nice Sardinian touches. It was on a split level and had a lovely bathroom. There was much needed air-con (we arrived during a mini heatwave!) There was a mini-bar and Sky TV which meant I was able to enjoy Sex and the City, The League of Gentlemen and The Fast Show (surrealy!) when we got back late at night.
Breakfast was lovely! There was yoghurt and a Sardinian cooked honey, cake, bread and marmalades and jams - all hommade by Silvia who is a marvellous cook!
We loved Cagliari and had a great time here. The B&B is ideally located for walking into the city and we were able to eat out every night at a variety of restaurants and walk back. At breakfast Maurizio would make recommendations for places to go and eat, or sightseeing.
We had a lovely stay here and would definitely love to return!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainydaiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

This is as good as the reviews say it is. Lovely people who are full of information. They helped us find good seats for the Sant Efisio procession (Festival is May 1-4 and highly recommended). The rooms are large and carefully planned so they work. The location i s central for sights in the old part of town. The taxi driver had no problems finding the hotel and the I spotted their sign right away because of the photo posted.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruinsnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

This B&B had everything we wanted, at a very reasonable price. Access to the internet, clean, well sized and nicely decorated room, modern bathroom, delicious italian-style breakfast with lovely homemade cakes and yoghurt with sardinian honey.

Maurizio and Silvia were so helpful and lovely. On the morning of our second day we decided we would like a car for the rest of our trip, so Maurizio made a couple of calls and an hour later it was all organised and the car dropped at the B&B, and all for a very good price.

There is no car park, but we found a spot quite easily on the same street as the B&B on a Saturday night, which seemed to be the busiest time.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

The place itself is conveniently located close to the city center and the historical districts.. Unluckly is inside a private yard with garages. Rooms are tastefully decorated but small. Breakfast is served in the common area on tables so tiny that is almost impossible to fit cups. The owner is helpful and kind. Overall experience below the average.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aj64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cagliari hotels
0.6 mi away
T Hotel
T Hotel
#4 of 33 in Cagliari
2,005 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cagliari
Holiday Inn Cagliari
#14 of 33 in Cagliari
659 reviews
1.2 mi away
B&B Sa Babbaiola
B&B Sa Babbaiola
#1 of 1 in Pirri
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Grillo
Hotel Grillo
#17 of 33 in Cagliari
214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Marina
Hostel Marina
#18 of 92 in Cagliari
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Fanny
Hotel Villa Fanny
#1 of 33 in Cagliari
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giardino Segreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giardino Segreto

Address: Viale Fra Ignazio 16, 09123, Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Cagliari
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Cagliari
Price Range: £48 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Giardino Segreto is a boutique hotel that offers a charming welcome with its rooms furnished with the typical Sardinian furnishing including textiles weaved with traditional looms, ceramics and iron. Located in the heart of the historic district of Stampace, in the city centre, it is closed to all the major attractions of the city, all reachable by foot, including the tourist harbour, the railway station, archaeological sights, hospitals and clinics, shopping roads and all the places to eat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Il Giardino Segreto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Giardino Segreto Cagliari, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing