We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Mercure Olbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Olbia
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Olbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Spent 10 days in July, returned last week, really good hotel, ideal as a base for exploring the Northern and Southern coasts of Sardinia (car is a must), impressed with the variety of the breakfast buffet and how quickly the plates get replenished (eat the fruits; gorgeous!!!), staff is courteous, knowledgeable (got some really useful tips for secret beaches), cleanliness of the rooms and public areas is of very high standard. My little boy enjoyed the view from the room overlooking the railways and we greeted every passing train cheerfully (they are very rare, though, quite timid, nothing like the Gatwick Express, more like Thomas The Tank Engine), hotel is 10 min walk max to the town centre and ideally positioned off Vittorio Venetto (one of the main long streets that can lead you to the local 'motorways'. I will definitely go back to this hotel again and started spreading the word to my friends. Don't get scared of the vertiginous drive down the underground parking, it's fun and one gets used to it. Happy holidays!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zhivka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olbiahermaea, Web Distribution Manager at Mercure Olbia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking some time and writing a nice review from your recent stay on tripadvisor.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and all went well.
I will share your comments with my team.
Please let me know of any future visits to Olbia and I be more than happy to help with any reservations.
Wishing you all the best
Laura Sotgiu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vv70
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Olbiahermaea, Web distribution Manager at Mercure Olbia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed here for one night at the start of our holiday. We chose the hotel due to the fact that it was close to the airport, had parking available and had good reviews.

The design of the hotel lobby is really interesting almost looks like a boat when you look at it from your room and the floor has a mosaic design which means it feels like you're looking down on a massive picture when you leave your room.

Our room was a really good size, well equipped, very clean and had a very big, comfortable bed. The bathroom was very nice, with a good shower and all in all it was a very good start to the holiday.

The hotel is probably around 10 minutes walk from the centre of Olbia, which is good for restaurants in the evening. We had a lovely meal at La Lanterna - the bread basket brought to the table was delicious.

The highlight for me (apart from the cool boat-like design) was the breakfast. There was so much choice. Delicious cakes and pastries, fruit, hams and cheeses, hot food, nice breads, yoghurts, fresh juices and even some prossecco if you fancy it!!!

We only explored Olbia that evening before heading to Palau the next day. It's a pretty town and much less touristy than other places, but I don't think you need to spend a long time there unless you're using it as a base to explore other nearby areas.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ge0rgie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olbiahermaea, Web Distribution Manager at Mercure Olbia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing such a nice review for the Mercure Olbia Hermaea.
It makes us very happy to know that we are living up to your expectations on every visit.
The team do work very hard and are very committed and it reassures us that we are doing a good job.
I will pass your lovely comments to all of the staff and I look very much forward to your next visit.
Best wishes
Laura Sotgiu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed here on the final leg of our tour of Sardinia and chose it because of its proximity to the airport, free parking and good reviews. We were not disappointed. The hotel has an unusual design and extremely helpful staff. Perhaps the best thing about it though is the spa, which is incredible. You do have to pay extra for this but you get it to yourself for the hour and a half that you have. If you're in a couple this would be a really romantic thing to do.

The hotel is situated about a ten minute walk from Olbia centre so fine to stroll in for an evening meal or to explore the city. We only went into Olbia in the evening, spending most of our days exploring the Costa Smeralda, which is an easy and short drive away. There is free underground parking in the hotel and free internet in the lobby but not in the rooms. The breakfast was very good but we didn't try the hotel restaurant for dinner although it looked good.

If I return to Olbia then I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loobyloz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your beautiful review and for your positive comments regarding our staff.
I'm also glad to inform you that now internet is for free also in the room.
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

My warmest regards
Laura Sotgiu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Very nice hotel. The whole hotel was exceptionally clean, and the rooms were also cleaned every day to a high standard. The staff were also very friendly and helpful, - it is worth asking at reception for the day trips which they are happy to sort for you, and places to eat in the evening. The only down points of the hotel were the fact that the sky bar/garden terrace is NOT finished which was a dissapointment, and the pool facilities cost 15 euros per person per time to use which we didnt feel was clearly explained before we arrived. Other than that, it is in a reasonably good location, although its worth having a car to tour around some of the ports outside of Olbia such as Porto Cervo/Rotondo. - Also dont forget to take a translation book if you dont speak italian as although the hotel staff speak english, the majority of restaurants we were in around Olbia had very little if any english speaking staff and was much less geared for english tourists then you might expect!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peasy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My sister and I had a very pleasant 3 night stay here. BUT were disappointed that the Sky Bar wasn't actually ready to be opened as this was one of the reasons for staying there. Also, our booking included a "free treatment" at the Spa. This actually meant one free entrance to the Spa -not a treatment.

For two females walking into Olbia at night it wasn't the most pleasant experience as there is a fairly rough area between the hotel and the town.

Breakfast was lovely - you could even have a glass of Prosecco with your fresh fruit or eggs and bacon. Plenty of choice.

The staff were all very professional and very helpful.

Having a free shuttle to the beach was a bonus. We also visited Porto Rotondo beach by bus (check the buses though - if you miss one you'll have a 2 hour wait!!)

We love Sardinia.

Jacqui & Cathy

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This must be one of the ugliest hotels ever built in a location which gave us a wonderful view of the railway yard and derelict land. Although described as being "in the heart of the city" it took us a good 10-15 minutes to get there from the 'wrong side of the tracks'. The bad design of the hotel was obvious even in reception from where guests had to carry suitcases up eight steep steps to the level on which the only lift was located. The bathroom was again poorly designed with only one small shelf for toiletries and a normal sized person would struggle to use the toilet without banging their head on the shower cubicle! On our first of a seven nights stay, we had to ask for the leaking shower to be mended as the bathroom floor became swamped after use. To their credit, housekeeping quickly arranged for sealant to be applied to plug the gap at the bottom of the shower and batteries to be renewed in the room safe to make it work.

We didn't try the hotel restaurant for dinner after experiencing breakfast! I fail to understand other reviewers compliments of the quality and variety of the breakfast buffet and, judging by the reaction of other guests during our stay, neither did they! Scrambled eggs, which did not match my idea of scrambled eggs and greasy bacon were rarely available at the same time due to refills being slow to appear and they were never hot, even when straight out of the kitchen! We became aware that fried eggs were available on request only towards the end of the week as providing information to guests is not one of this hotel's strengths. There was ham and cheese although no boiled eggs or tomatoes (pretty standard in European hotels at breakfast). There were, to be fair, enough pots of preserves available to feed a small army but, perhaps, this was designed to fill up space to deflect from the lack of variety.

There were some good features: although lacking character, the hotel is modern, clean and staff are amenable. The car parking is free as is one hour of wi-fi connection per day but it is a pity that use of the swimming pool attracts an additional charge. The Sky Bar on the top floor is still unfinished as, hopefully, this will create a more welcoming and comfortable bar than the small area on the ground floor near the lift presently provides.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geffold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback, guest opinion always give us the chance to perform better.
I’d like to remark some points mentioned in your review:

In our description on the websites we do not describe a wonderful view, we are located in the city, just nearby the train station, as you can imagine we can not remove the railways.
Our distance from the city centre is 0.4 km , from the 'wrong side of the tracks', which is not our main entrance, even less, If you go walking to the main street called “ Corso Umberto” it can takes 10 minutes which is a reasonable time to get the city centre.
As you stated there are 8 steps to reach the level where the lifts are located, we have 2 lifts to reach the rooms, normally our porter helps our guest with the luggage when somebody needs help.
The shower and the bathroom have standard measures and I’m sorry if you feel uncomfortable.
To whom concern the breakfast we have a good variety of products, as per Mercure Standard, our pastry chef used to prepare delicious every day. Moreover upon request we are glad to satisfy the special request of our guests, I’m sad you discover it on the last days of your stay.
Internet is now free for the all stay.
The swimming pool is a part of the wellness centre and there is a fee to use the all services.
Actually the sky bar is not finished yet, that’s why we do not mention this amenities on the website but we provide a terrace where our guest can relax drinking something.

I do hope that you get the chance to come and join us once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Laura Sotgiu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olbia hotels
1.4 mi away
Jazz Hotel
Jazz Hotel
#2 of 40 in Olbia
1,046 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 40 in Olbia
769 reviews
1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Olbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Speraesole
Speraesole
#9 of 40 in Olbia
607 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel President Olbia
4.1 mi away
Hotel Stefania Boutique Hotel by the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Olbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Olbia

Address: Via Puglie, 07026, Olbia, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Olbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Olbia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Olbia
#9 Business Hotel in Olbia
Price Range: £59 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Olbia 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Olbia is a 4-star hotel with Spa located in the heart of Olbia, just 400 meters from the historic center. The strategic location makes the hotel an ideal starting point from which to discover the Costa Smeralda. With more than 2.000 square meters of Spa & Fitness the Mercure is a refreshing oasis of relaxation, where you can take refuge all year. The modern design and the warm hospitality of the Sardinian earth come together at Mercure Olbia, offering its guests inviting and well-appointed rooms, attentive and discreet services, a wide range of activities dedicated to fitness and relaxation, and large rooms dedicated to the celebration of special moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Olbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Olbia Hermaea Hotel Olbia
Mercure Olbia Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing