We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient city centre hptel”
Review of Hotel De Plam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De Plam
Ranked #61 of 77 Olbia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Super hotel in the centre of Olbia, room small clean and functional with good aircon. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Free wifi in reception area but not in your room.
Breakfast too basic to bother with, and if you use a taxi to go to the airport (5 minutes drive) it will cost 25 euros,welcome to rip off taxi time which, to be fair, is now the same throughout Europe.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cloggied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2011

Location: Very central in Olbia.
Room: Quite nice and large room, but the windows are old, so traffic noise is disturbing.
Parking: Safe parking garage by the hotel.
Breakfast: Very basic continental, with nothing extra. A bit of ham and cheese would greatly improve the breakfast.
Overall: OK choice if you just get off the ferry and need a quick fix hotel with safe parking.

Room Tip: Try to book away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odd64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Arrived to Olbia airport late so needed somewhere in Olbia to stay before travelling west. Had to get taxi to hotel because buses stop running to and from airport ridiculously early (maybe to keep the local taxis in business.... Bus would have been 80 cents, taxi was over 20 euros. Ugh.) The room was large, had three beds (we had asked for a twin so three beds was fine - somewhere to dump luggage!) and had a view of the water. It was clean, tidy and everything worked (air con, decent shower etc). As someone has already mentioned, the road outside IS noisy, but as we were getting up early it didn't really bother us. Reception staff extremely helpful re left luggage and went to great lengths to book us a taxi on our way back to the airport. Breakfast fine - lots of sweet things (seems to be typical of Sardinia/Italy) but a decent coffee to send us on our way.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vcbBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

We managed to book this hotel at a reasonable rate, £51.00 a night and that's about how much it's worth.
We arrived about three hours before the stated check-in time, but this wasn't a problem and we were able to go to our room immediately. The concierge asked us straight away if we wanted a room facing the back of the hotel or one with sea view, pointing out that the back of the hotel faced other buildings and that the sea view comes with noise from the main road that passes just outside. We chose the sea view and although you do notice the traffic noise, the nice view of the bay makes up for it.
The room and the bathroom were a nice size and spotless, although the decor and furniture needs updating to justify the price they are normally charging.
Although the staff were all very helpful and spoke English, don't trust their local knowledge. It was scatty.
The hotel has a terrace just outside the entrance with a nice little seating area.
The hotel is centrally located with a five minutes walk to the centre of town, where there are plenty of cafe's and restaurants. There's also a supermarket nearby.
The most positive aspect of the hotel was the cleanliness, the least positive the noise from the road outside

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank namalzir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2007

The De Plam hotel may be next to a road... it is also next to the heart of Olbia. It may be a 3 star... but it has welcoming staff (who have a better grasp of English than I do Italian) and reception; and immaculate clean rooms with a great shower. Breakfasts are basic yes but not unpleasant. The road the hotel overlooks is busy yes, but it is hardly a motorway and there is also a lovely harbour to see from the window.

The hotel restaurant is not the best in town, but there are some very *very* good places to eat in town. It is however, a good place for Italian/Sardinian food at great prices. I would recommend this hotel as the base for a holiday in northern Sardinia. You will need a car to see all of Sardinia though, yet I would absolutely recommend the De Plam as a sound central base.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank facemunkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2006

First night of holiday and initially the hotel seems fine apart from getting a room that over looks the motor way. Not a problem with the aircon and windows closed. A big problem when they decide every night to shut the air con off from 1am until 6am, in the height of summer. Managed to get moved at 3am, after alot of complaining, to another room where I could open a window. Not the most relaxing of starts.
In the morning there was no apoligies, they told me it was only for a short time, and it had to be switched off as the system could not handle being on all day and night. Managed to get a small very small discount, but still got charged for water we had to drink because of the suffocating heat in the room.
Would not recommend very rude and not 3 star.... Go to a hotel in the old town.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2006

The staff were very helpful, we found in general that the people in Olbia spoke little or no english, however there were several receptionist during our stay at the De Plam and they all spoke and understood acceptable English.

The hotel was kept very clean and the remaining staff were polite and helpful. The front of the hotel does face onto a busy highway which can, at times be noisy, that said the view from the rooms at the front more than compensates for this. The breakfast offered is basic and not on the same level as other European destinations, it is croissants, ceral, bread rolls and sweet biscuits with butter, jams and cream cheese. Fruit juices, tea and coffee are also available.

The De Plam is about 2 minutes walk from the town itself so not too far to go. We hired a car and another great plus is that it has its own underground car park, which is a blessing as parking can be a nightmare and have you seen the way the italians drive!! . When you stay at the De Plam remember it is a three star hotel but in our opinion it was great value for money

Stayed: May 2006
2  Thank Nikkipen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olbia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 40 in Olbia
763 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jazz Hotel
Jazz Hotel
#3 of 40 in Olbia
1,037 reviews
2.2 mi away
Geovillage Sport Wellness & Convention Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Stefania Boutique Hotel by the Beach
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Olbia
4.9 mi away
Speraesole
Speraesole
#9 of 40 in Olbia
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Plam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Plam

Address: Via De' Filippi 51, 07026, Olbia, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Olbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Olbia
Price Range: £50 - £560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Plam 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel De Plam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Plam Sardinia/Olbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing