We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pelican Beach Resort & Spa - Adults Only
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Olbia
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice beach hotel”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Pellicano D’oro is located approximately 20 minutes (by car) from the Olbia airport, and 15 minutes from Olbia town.

Arrival; Check-in went quick and easy. We were greeted by friendly service mined staff at the reception. They were always helpful with restaurant / taxi orders and other recommendations during our stay. And they where always smiling at you ☺

The hotel:
The hotel is split into two buildings; one is located on the beach side (suites, restaurant.), and the other one (the reception and the pool for example) is located on the other side of the road. If you prefer sea view, as we do, you will have to pay for en upgrade to get the beach side of the hotel. The rooms on the other side of the road has limited view; some might see the ocean, and beautiful mountains in the horizon…but most rooms faces the street / backyard. Our hotel room on the beachside was quite small and cramped. But it was clean and tidy with good air-condition. The view from our room had to be enjoyed outside the door on a narrow “hallway”, no private balcony. But some rooms have a really nice view with private balconies, and I would say it is worth the extra cost.

The atmosphere at the hotel is nice and relaxed. You’ll find a good combination of families and couples (all ages). If you prefer a lively and festive atmosphere, this is not the place for you.

Beach / Pool
Pellicano D’Oro is located directly on the beach, with a small private stretch of beach with sun loungers and umbrellas. The rest of the beach is public and at times quite crowded with lively families. You will definitely appreciate the hotels private beach when you see how crowed the other public area gets during the day. The private beach area is in my opinion the hotel biggest advantage. They also have a lifeguard who is very attentive and helpful with sun loungers , umbrellas and towels. Note; the white sun loungers you see on the lawn on the beachfront, (see the hotel pictures on top) is only available for guest in junior suites. The beach it self is nice; Clear emerald green sea, and clean, soft sand. There are some rocky parts in the sea, but this is not a big problem.

The pool is located in the building on the other side of the street, (not on the beachside), It is quite small and shaded. Nice sun loungers. It was not as widely used.

Restaurant:
We had a bad start with the hotel restaurant unfortunately; we arrived late in the evening, and where accompanied down to the restaurant by the receptionist at 9.30 PM to catch a quick dinner before the kitchen closed at 10 PM. We got a good table, some water and the menus were handed out…but then nobody would take our orders! They sort of looked straight through us…..but at 22.10 PM (yes…40 minutes later) one waiter came over and told us the kitchen closed 10 minutes ago..! He could offer us a shrimp appetizer or some sort of vegetarian dish. ( I am sorry…but that did not do it for me after 40 minutes waiting and traveling for 10 hours) Another couple, who arrived at the restaurant 10 minutes later than us, got to order though…?! Well, this was not the start we were hoping for! After this incidence, we went back to the girls in the resection and they did their very best to help us, and recommended a small pizza place nearby, and offered to drive us. The management should tank them, - they made all the difference.
There are not many restaurant alternatives in the area unfortunately, - big disadvantage!
With that said, the pizza at “Mascarpoti“ was lovely!

The breakfast at the hotel restaurant was decent. Bread, croissants, butter, jam, cheese, ham. boiled eggs, fruit, yoghurt, and cereal were available at the buffet. Fried / scrambled eggs could be ordered for no extra cost. Good coffee and friendly staff.

Lunch: They serve really good lunch. Pasta, plenty of fresh salads and some different alternatives from the grill. (meat, chicken). And good Italian wines off course! The only thing; we found the portions to be rather small. Prices; between12 – 18 Euros pr dish.

Dinner; We choose not to eat dinner at the hotel after our little incident, but we heard from others it was nice. Good wine. (Quite expensive though).
There aren’t many restaurants nearby the hotel, so you will have to take a taxi to Olbia to get a decent dinner (if you choose not to eat at the hotel). But please be aware of the taxi prices…it is not cheap to get around. In Olbia we found several nice restaurants and an more lively atmosphere.

The island of Sardinia is absolutely beautiful, - will definitely go back.
Went in August 2013.
Loved the private beach at the hotel…. But we would prefer to have more restaurant options in walking distance to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsNKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    98
    42
    14
    4
See reviews for
31
196
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just 15 minutes from Olbia airport, we found this hotel absolutely perfect for our 4 night break. We had booked a room in the Beach House with a terrace - and had a sea vew too. The rooms are not luxurious, but spotlessly clean with good showers and comfy beds. The main veranda/bar area is cool and shady and the perfect place to have morning coffee or a sundowner! If you stay in the Baach House you (rather confusingly) have access to both the private beach and the garden sunbeds...this is a definite plus. There is direct access to a small private beach with shallow easy access into the sea. The staff are friendly, endlessly helpful and bring drinks and snacks to your sunbed. We ate in the restaurant every night; the menu is limited but totally fresh every day. There is also an extensive selection of wines.
All in all a perfect spot for a few days of rest and relaxation.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and ask for a room in the Beach House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsAggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulln, Österreich
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

helpful, friendly, charming staff

breakfast and dinner really excellent

high quality in all areas

pool, towel-service at the beach

very clean rooms and area

good base for daytrips to costa smeralda and the north of sardegna

Room Tip: rooms in the main house are a little bit more far to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank il-sole-nel-cuore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The wonderful beach is what made me enjoy this place and that makes me want to travel back to Sardinia. I had high expectations to this hotel, and I got a little disappointed. We stayed at the Garden part, classic room with sea view. The sea view was rather a glimpse of the sea, and the balcony was tiny, without light, so it was useless when I wanted to relax and read a book in the evening. The training facilities were simple and one of three appliances were not working. The menu at the restaurant was a bit boring, perhaps too pricey and sometimes slow service. Great breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff, but the total experience does not result in more than a 3.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHellyOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilfracombe
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The staff at this hotel are some of the best I have met. They do all they can to help.
Providing you are happy to stay around the hotel and their beach you will not need a car.
The restaurant is very good and the prices are comensorate. I did not find the drinks expensive.
The only other restaurant worth visiting is Mama Beach, 10 mins walk.

Room Tip: Need a car if you do not like sitting around beach all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

On the water in two separate buildings, if you get the waterfront building (starting with room number 1), you will get reserved lounge chairs by the water. If you are in the building across the street with the swimming pool, you get no reserved chairs.

The rooms are clean and spacious, but reserved and modest. The evening buffet was ok.

Room Tip: Recommend room in beach front building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyWilliams92128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great little gem of a hotel! I give them 5 Stars not for the rooms, but for the customer service and location. Great wine (low price) and great food, also a restaurant called Mama's just 10min walk. I will return! Plato

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Plato S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olbia
0.6 mi away
Hotel Stefania Boutique Hotel by the Beach
3.1 mi away
Hotel Cala Cuncheddi
Hotel Cala Cuncheddi
#7 of 40 in Olbia
266 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 40 in Olbia
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#1 of 21 in Porto Cervo
612 reviews
4.1 mi away
Jazz Hotel
Jazz Hotel
#2 of 40 in Olbia
935 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Abi d'Oru
Hotel Abi d'Oru
#1 of 7 in Porto Rotondo
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelican Beach Resort & Spa - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelican Beach Resort & Spa - Adults Only

Property: The Pelican Beach Resort & Spa - Adults Only
Address: Via Mar Adriatico 34 | Loc. Pittulongu, 07026, Olbia, Sardinia, Italy (Formerly Pellicano D'Oro Beach Hotel - Adults Only)
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Olbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Olbia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Olbia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Olbia
#10 Luxury Hotel in Olbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pelican Beach Resort & Spa - Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pelican Beach Resort & SPA - Adults Only with guestrooms just a few meters from the sea, is set in the north-east coast of Sardinia just a few steps from the famous Costa Smeralda. This romantic beach property is a place where the care of each guest comes directly from the heart. The Resort could not be more perfectly situated. It is one of the few resorts in Sardinia located directly on a white sandy beach with crystal clear water. 67 guestrooms, two properties, the Pelican Villa on the sea front with direct access to the beach and Garden Fitness & SPA, behind, at 60 meters from the beach. The service at the beach with sunbeds, parasols and towels is included in the daily rate. Moreover: SPA and relaxation area, outdoor swimming pool, open-air Jacuzzi, fitness area with sea view, garage (on request, extra charge). The Pelican Beach Restaurant with terrace and an amazing sea view, lets guests enjoy the authentic and fresh Mediterranean cuisine. The Pelican Beach Resort & SPA - Adults Only with its warm, friendly service and magical location is a true seafront oasis in Sardinia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Pelican Beach Resort & Spa - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pelican Beach Resort & Spa - Adults Only Sardinia/Olbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing