We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing atmospheric ruins”
Review of Selinunte

Selinunte
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$511.11*
and up
Private Wine Tour and Archeological Area of Selinunte with licensed Guide
Ranked #150 of 3,114 things to do in Sicily
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You will think you were transported to the Acropolis in Athens, Greece, when you gaze upon these well-preserved temple ruins.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing atmospheric ruins”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This was a wonderful experience to walk in the ruins of the ancient temple. When within you get the full impression of the size. We took the buggy to the acropolis and walked around the old streets with their shops. You could really feel the history here. Seniors get free access to all major sites with ID, so we spent the money on the buggy rides instead. A memorable day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dazeaway2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    190
    70
    21
    14
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great site for Greek ruins”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Very well done archeological park with amazing Greek temple ruins and village house ruins. This is a great place for hiking and spending the day at the sea.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful archeological site”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This ancient Greek site was a real treat. The Temple of Hera remains allow one to actually walk Inside It's walls. You get a whole different perspective of the size this way. You are taken by electric cart to various places in this vast park. Those with any kind of limitations can still enjoy the site. We enjoyed this stop as much as the valley of the temples in Agrigento. Our group would highly recommend this place as must see.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
263 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“amazing ruins but quite a walk to the acropolis”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Mind boggling ruins, well worth the 6 euros entry fee (kids are free). Bit muddy after heavy rains, and a bit of a hike to the acropolis.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Eugenio_aus_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
153 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“brilliant site”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Since I was last there the excavations and presentation of the site have improved beyond all measure. We took a "buggy" round the site. So much is still being done. We were able to stroll between Temples. The coastal views were beautiful. Although there is a fee to enter OAP's are free (but do take identification). We spent an excellent 3 hours here, getting on & off the "buggy".

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank merrycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Selinunte also viewed

Castelvetrano, Province of Trapani
Marinella di Selinunte, Castelvetrano
 

Been to Selinunte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing