We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let Marco take the strain!”
Review of Hotel Etnea 316

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Etnea 316
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Let Marco take the strain!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Abundant energy and enthusiasm, Marco fits the bill as a welcoming host. He parks your car in reserved area and moves baggage to your room. The room was nicely appointed and close to all the major sightseeing. As a previous guide, Marco points you in the right direction, whatever your interest.
Recommend this hotel and its proprietor.

Room Tip: It is a town hotel located on the main street. Side bedrooms are quieter. Some traffic noise is unav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    160
    61
    18
    6
See reviews for
110
250
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Staff was incredible, rooms were European old school but clean, comfortable and great location. Worth every penny. Marco is amazing at what he does. We did not partake in breakfast but they had bottled water there which I wish I would have known about before we checked out.

Room Tip: I was on the street but it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronald r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were welcomed by Marco. He is very cheerful and friendly like the rest of the staff. Good location, good breakfast, clean room. Marco was a perfect guide around Etna and Taormina. Well done and recommend it.

Room Tip: Avoid street room if you are not used to car noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Great location, in an old building on one of the major Catania streets. The warm hospitality was a real highlight of staying here. The owner Marco and his staff were very friendly and we also booked an Etna and Catania tour with Marco which was excellent.
A few comments - be aware that there is no elevator (but probably help with carrying luggage up the stairs can be arranged). We arrived early and the staff was very strict about the check-in time. The room itself was spacious, quiet, a bit dark like most old-building rooms. Heating was automatic and came on at 6 PM, if you're cold before that better put on something warm...The bathroom was ok, shower doors didn't close all the way and were falling apart. Contrary to what's advertized, wifi was not available in our room due to some technical issue. We wish we'd have been told of this in advance as we counted a lot on internet resources for real-time info.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orr_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qrendi, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Hotel Etnea 316 is a lovely little hotel at the heart of Catania, perfect location, right in front of Villa Bellini Gardens. Super friendly staff and all speak great English. Don’t need to worry about booking tours during your stay, Hotel owner Marco is more than a qualified tour guide, he will organize your tours with a great passion and at a very good price. We are very pleased with this Hotel, its central, clean and safe, what more would you want while on holiday, will definitely recommend this hotel to all visitors visiting Catania.

Room Tip: we had room 4, right next to the breakfast area, we never heard any noise, this room also has a stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zammitlouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Lovely short stay in Catania. Marco, Gaetano and the rest of the team went out of their way to meet all our requests and were helpful in every possible way. Location is perfect to explore Catania. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Marco and his team made our trip to Catania very special. At the Hotel, which is very clean and neat, all requests were met with a smile and a super efficient service. Marco also runs excursions as a fully qualified tour guide which we took advantage of and we thoroughly enjoyed for the passion, knowledge and enthusiasm Marco had for each place (Mount Etna, Toamina, Syracusa, Piazza Armerina, Villa Roman de Casale).
The hotel is one of the few grand old houses that survived the Allied bombs of 1943.
Catania had plenty of places to explore for history and archaeology as well as architecture and art.

Room Tip: If you want a grand room overlooking the Via Etnea (rooms 1,2,3) then you obviously get the busy roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilTipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
1,655 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
531 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Etnea 316? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Etnea 316

Property: Hotel Etnea 316
Address: Via Etnea 316, 95129 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Borgo-Sanzio , Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Catania
#3 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#6 Family Hotel in Catania
#10 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Etnea 316 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Catania, not only as a visitor, this is the philosophy of Hotel Etnea 316. A prestigious location, downtown Catania, offers the possibility to exploit the real Sicilian tradition. Thanks to the staff's helpfulness, the guest will live in a warm and friendly atmosphere. Romanticism , history and functionality are indispensable details, that produce an extraordinary harmonious result. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Etnea 316 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Etnea 316 Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing