We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place”
Review of Hotel Etnea 316

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Etnea 316
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at Hotel Etnea 316. Marco and Gaetano couldn't have been more helpful, even arranging for a lovely cake to be waiting there for my boyfriend's birthday. It made it so special. We went on a tour of Mt Etna with Marco for a great price. Marco really knows his stuff and is full of useful information, I would highly recommend it. Thanks Marco and Gaetano for a wonderful holiday!
Dave and Geoff, Brighton

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

My wife and I spent three nights at the hotel at the end of April.We had asked for a quiet room as we had read the reviews about noise. Our room was at the side of the hotel but was very noisey,sleep was difficault fo us both. The staff were lovely,the position on Via Etnea was super so easy to explore Catania.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel itself is nice and comfy but there is no elevator so beware. The rooms were very basic but we weren't really expecting the ritz Carlton. They were big though. They only have 1 pillow per bed. We requested extra ones which they addressed immediately but we weren't told that we would be charged for the extra pillows.

About Marco the owner, he is great and is obviously passionate about what he does. He gave us a tour of Mt Etna and Taormina for a great price. He was very knowledgeable about Etna but for Taormina he just dropped us off and let us wander ourselves (which maybe explains why it was cheaper). The next day he was doing another tour of Siracusa and asked if we wanted to join, my mother had booked another tour company for The Godfather though. He became almost petulant, when our other guide rang the bell to ask him to let us know he was downstairs he apparently was very rude and argued with our other guide. and while Marco was helpful getting our bags up (no elevator) when we checked in, when we checked out he told one of my companions that the 'taxi driver' should go get it instead (although he knew we arranged a transfer with the other tour guide) I understand it's a competitors thing but it seemed very unprofessional.

These were just our observations. It may not be bothersome for other guests but for those who want to just be at a hotel and not be bothered by the staff, this place may not be for you as Marco's zeal and eagerness to please can go over edge sometimes since we felt pressured to give him our business. It was almost like he wanted us to only take his suggestions.

Also my mom didn't think he was a very safe driver during our tour, he was always taking his eyes off the road.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brokewilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and I recently spent six days based at Hotel Etnea 316 whilst exploring Oriental Sicily with Marco. The hotel is in central Catania within a short distance of all major cultural and tourist features of the city. Our room was reasonably spacious, clean and comfortable, although the shower was "characterful" and took a bit of getting used to. Breakfasts were excellent as were the staff, who were always willing to help and offer advice for travellers. I had the misfortune to become ill with flu during my visit. Marco (through his mother, a medical doctor) kindly assisted us to obtain appropriate medication from the local pharmacy.

Highly recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank rowlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Abundant energy and enthusiasm, Marco fits the bill as a welcoming host. He parks your car in reserved area and moves baggage to your room. The room was nicely appointed and close to all the major sightseeing. As a previous guide, Marco points you in the right direction, whatever your interest.
Recommend this hotel and its proprietor.

Room Tip: It is a town hotel located on the main street. Side bedrooms are quieter. Some traffic noise is unav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Staff was incredible, rooms were European old school but clean, comfortable and great location. Worth every penny. Marco is amazing at what he does. We did not partake in breakfast but they had bottled water there which I wish I would have known about before we checked out.

Room Tip: I was on the street but it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronald r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were welcomed by Marco. He is very cheerful and friendly like the rest of the staff. Good location, good breakfast, clean room. Marco was a perfect guide around Etna and Taormina. Well done and recommend it.

Room Tip: Avoid street room if you are not used to car noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
571 reviews
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 49 in Catania
811 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
264 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
NH Catania Centro
NH Catania Centro
#9 of 49 in Catania
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Etnea 316? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Etnea 316

Address: Via Etnea 316, 95129 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Borgo-Sanzio , Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Catania
#3 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#5 Family Hotel in Catania
#10 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range: £29 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Etnea 316 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Catania, not only as a visitor, this is the philosophy of Hotel Etnea 316. A prestigious location, downtown Catania, offers the possibility to exploit the real Sicilian tradition. Thanks to the staff's helpfulness, the guest will live in a warm and friendly atmosphere. Romanticism , history and functionality are indispensable details, that produce an extraordinary harmonious result. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Etnea 316 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Etnea 316 Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing