We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay if you value a good night's sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Etna Botanic Garden
Ranked #144 of 314 Catania B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Don't stay if you value a good night's sleep!”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

When we arrived the owner was not around and nobody seemed to be expecting us. We never saw him despite repeated requests until our third day. The room was barely adequate with a number of defects including a broken bed and having to walk down an earth path in the dark and mud to get to the main house.

Each night we were kept awake by continual barking dogs. We highlighted this to the owner who said that as they were not his dogs he could not do anything about it. On the last day our room was not serviced and when we complained to the owner he said it was Sunday and where did it state that the room would be serviced everyday. Finally when we came to pay he informed us that he did not take credit cards despite the fact that we had asked him if he needed a credit card to secure the booking. At that time he replied it was not necessary but never mentioned that we had to pay in cash, which we didn't have.

Definitely the worst B&B experience we have ever had apart from the evening meals which were all organised by one of his staff.

Room Tip: Don't come!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    5
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Following a European cruise which ended in Rome, we had planned to stay five days in Sicily and to locate near Catania as a base to visit various tourist attractions on the eastern side of the island. Azienda Trinita is a private home and botanical garden located in Mascalucia, which is about a 25 minute drive from the Catania airport. We had a gps which helped with the navigation to the property. We stayed in a relatively modern bungalow located within the compound which was very comfortable and quiet. Our gracious host was the owner of the estate who explained that the property had been owned by his family for at least eight generations. The best part of the stay was the dinner meals which were prepared and served by the resident chef of the household. For all five days we had four course meals of outstanding Sicilian food and each course was different every night. A bottle of the Azienda private label red wine at a price of 10 Euros was a real bargain. Our stay at Azienda was a truly memorable experience and a delightful end of our vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck_F65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver bc
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

A little oasis at the top of a hill, surrounded by apartments, shops etc. It should have taken 45 minutes from Catania Airport but ended up over 2 hours after getting lost! Road signs in Sicily are few and far between. Traffic was nightmarish with parking all over, leaving little space to squeeze through. Rooms simple but clean and owners provided dinner for us and other guests (who had also become lost) Do not attempt this destination in the dark and we suggest you view the area on Google street maps before you arrive, to see the small church and the gate next to it as there are no signs for the property outside on the square.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Habari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Beautiful and peaceful place. Each "casetta" and the swimming pool are surrounded by an amazing garden, full of interesting plants and trees, and artefacts. The owner, Salvatore, whenever asked to, is glad to give a tour of it.
Excellent breakfast is available either in the garden, or indoor, depending on the weather and the season.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eleparpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

In this Wonderland bed and brekfast there is a beatiful garden and confortable room . The dinner is very good .there is a swimmingpool. The room of the breakfast is very lovely.in my room there was a little kitchen . There is a beatiful landscape of the etna . I do a cooking lesson and a garden tour

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iniboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

My girlfriend and i spent a splendid couple of days in this lovely hotel, using it as a base to see some of Etna. Unlike previous reviewers we found it without any great trouble following Salvatore's detailed instructions and were received with a wonderfully warm welcome. Also unlike previous reviewers we weren't at all disappointed between what we had seen on the website and what we found when we got there - a beautiful garden full of intrigue, birdsong and the scent of orange blossom. We both regretted not having longer to lounge around and seriously unwind in these stunning surroundings, but after many trips to Sicily this was my first time visiting the Eastern end of the island and i was trying to see everything i'd looked forward to in one go. As it was the Azienda Trinita made for an excellent starting point with really comfy accommodation, generous breakfasts and very friendly owners full of useful advice. So much so that it's hard to understand the negative reviews on this site. The only thing i can think of is that there has been a change of management as this little oasis was a world away from the criticisms of previous reviewers.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanfon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal, Québec
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We came into town at dusk (which was a mistake) and spent over an hour trying to find Azienda Trinita. We asked several people, but nobody knew about it. Finally, a man in a store offered to call for us and the owner accepted to pick us up, as it was too complicated to give us directions on the phone. And guess what? We had driven in front of it without ever knowing it, since there was absolutely NO sign on the door (see very inviting picture). When we mentioned this to the owner, he said he did not want to be disturbed.

We came into the property and the custodian showed us to our "casetta". The grounds were very dark and we almost fell into a swimming pool on the way. When we got to the room, we were appalled... It had a musty smell, the bed was damp, the shower was moldy and full of insects. He asked us if we wanted to have dinner and, not wanting to wander into town again, we reluctantly said yes.

We walked to the main building with our flashlights and could not find the dining room. The only lighted house was the owner's private home, where we were almost attacked by his fierce looking dog. He finally showed us to the dining room, where dinner was served in a room with two small tables, plastic chairs, very little lighting and a torn sofa bed in a corner. There was no menu and we were not given any choice. Antipasto was a fried indian dumpling, good but greasy. Then we had pasta alla norma (with eggplant) which was quite good. When we informed the young waitress that we did not want a "secondo", the custodian came to the dining room to inform us that he had already cooked chicken with apples. We did not finish our pasta and had some chicken, which was very tasty.

Then we walked back to our room using our flashlight. We considered sleeping in our car, but finally decided to sleep in our hiking clothes, on top of the bed spread. Needless to say, we did not have a good night's sleep. The bed was not only damp, the springs creaked whenever we moved.

In the morning, we went for breakfast. No juice, coffee that tasted like water, bread rolls and jam, with flies hovering around.

We told the owner that we wanted to leave after breakfast and he did not ask us why.

Do not trust the Website, this is not a "beautiful estate with timeless charm"... It was our worst B&B experience ever!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catania
3.4 mi away
Villa Del Bosco Hotel
Villa Del Bosco Hotel
#18 of 49 in Catania
812 reviews
4.0 mi away
Airone City Hotel
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
218 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Catania Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel Paradise
Hotel Paradise
#1 of 1 in Santa Maria di Licodia
129 reviews
6.3 mi away
Art Hotel Capomulini
Art Hotel Capomulini
#7 of 8 in Acireale
147 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Papale
Villa Papale
#4 of 15 in Mascalucia
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etna Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etna Botanic Garden

Property: Etna Botanic Garden
Address: Via Trinita, 34 | Mascalucia, 95050 Catania, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Azienda Trinita)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 314 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Etna Botanic Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etna Botanic Garden Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing