We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible !”
Review of Metro - CLOSED

Metro
Price range: US$37 - US$51
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centro Catania
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible !”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We found this restaurant in Lonely Planet and also a French couple in our hotel also mentioned that they also have it in their ''streetwalkers'' book so we decided to give a try.

Service is terrible; In the menu book names are only in Italian.You can figure out things for food, but wine section is really messy. Despite that we were thinking (trying to figure out what is what actually) the waiter was coming frequently to ask about if we are ready and we said that we are not we could hear his grunt with vexation.

I tried gnocchi mules and they were raw. They changed it without a problem. Second course was tuna with caramelized onions and it was raw again. Simply terrible.

You can eat for cheaper for the same quality anywhere else. Don't waste your precious money in this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hmmmmm274887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    31
    13
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“VERY NICE FOOD”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

It is situated on a pretty ropey looking back street and you have to pass the much more alive and noisy pizza place in front of the church to get there... but it is worth a visit. Service is helpfull and friendly. Great wine list. Good choice of Sicilian specialities on the menu. Very good value.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rickandlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Say hello to Marco”
Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

Metro is pretty unassuming from outside. Located just off the main street in Catania in an area noted for posh housing. Inside it is pretty special.

The welcome for two Englishmen in an almost entirely Italian speaking place was fantastic. There was no English translation but our host made sure that he took us through the menu and gave us insights into the dishes available.

Our table was in a quiet corner around us the decor was interesting and paintings provocative but they created a thoughtful vibe appropriate for the menu.

The food was excellent.
Starters of aubergine tagine and mozerella with funghi were beautifully presented and delicious. Then first plate of sea bass pasta and cous cous were exceptional.

One of the challenges in Italy is following the pasta and here they did so with beautifully prepared swordfish wih local pistachio and orange and a good steak. Wonderful food tempted us into a rare desert - almond cake and pistachio mouse with chocolate made it a good decision.

Metro is a lovely place with great food and welcoming hosts. Where else in Italy would you be welcomed by a man whose hero is Marco Castrogiavanni the hirsuite Leicester prop. I share his admiration if not love for Castro but then I am a Gloucester fan and I do love his restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great seafood & service”
Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

We ate here on our final night in Sicily mainly because it was near our hotel & mentioned in a guide book. The menu was explained by the owner which was extremely helpful since our Italian is very limited. The food was delicious & there was an extensive wine list. One of the best meals we had in Sicily

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rallar80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, service and atmosphere!”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My girlfriend and I have been trying to find this place for a while and finally with the help of a gps we found this little restaurant nestled in an ally. The restaurant is very small but the atmosphere is very nice with modern art and other pieces. The food was amazing...every course that we got was better than the next. The service was wonderful too. The man who owns the place speaks perfect English and is very nice. The prices were also very good! Will definitely refer this place to others.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlaDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Metro also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing