We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to see Mt Etna, avoid this company”

Etna Experience Excursions
Ranked #1 of 17 Food & Drink in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are in love with the volcano Etna! But, differently, we offer excursions more informal and engaging with outstanding itineraries.Our guides, professional and adept, will lead you to the discovery of the volcanological and ethnographic aspects of Etna, as well as its flora and fauna. A picnic of Sicilian flavors for a festive break accompanied by good local wine will also enable you to remember this day not just as a simple excursion but also as an experience brightened by colors and emotions. The collected feedback from all the B&Bs and Hotels have left us able to individualize suggestions, itineraries and qualified people able to transform the excursions around the volcano into an authentic experience.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“If you want to see Mt Etna, avoid this company”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Booked a trip for two on 02/07/14, all confirmed in writing and with credit card information.

On the day we waited for 30 minutes outside of Catania station. Eventually a man turned up who looked like he might be a tour guide, although he had no branding. When I asked if he was with Etna Experience he said yes but we were not on his tour list and his 'colleague must be on their way' to get us.

After another 10 minutes he finally rounded up his group and rang the office to find out where our tour guide was. It turned out they double booked us and had no room for our group. They admitted that it was entirely their fault, but all they could offer was an afternoon/evening trip instead, or to book in for the following day.

It was a lot of effort to get to Catania for 8 in the morning, and it was not an enjoyable experience. To then find out we couldn't even see the volcano was devastating. We could not do another time because we were only in Sicily for a short stay. Some people may find me to be over-dramatic when I say that Etna Experience ruined our holiday, but they really did. The trip meant we were robbed of both an evening (as we had to go to bed early and stay sober to drive) and a full day too.

In terms of compensation they offered to pay the cost of our travel to get to Catania, but they had no way of compensating me for ruining my holiday. All I got from them was a rather unconvincing 'sorry' before the tour guide instantly forgot about us and moved on.

I can not emphasise enough how people should avoid this unproffessional, inconsiderate and completely inadequate company.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clairedelune87, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Etna Experience Excursions, responded to this review, 13 December 2014
As you mentioned we already discussed the situation with you that morning, apologizing several times.
In fact it was not a “double booking”, unfortunately we simply experienced a problem with our reservation system and your booking had been deleted. This is something that can unfortunately happen once: there are no other cases like this in our huge amount of reservations, as visible from tripadvisor itself.
Of course we admitted it was our fault, the inconvenience was unintentionally but fully caused by us.
At that moment, the very last, being high season, we had no availability of guides nor vehicles. So I’m afraid the only options we could offer were the afternoon or next day tour, of course as our guests (besides the afternoon excursion was only going to start in a couple of hours, and since missing the tour was so “devastating” for you, maybe you could have joined us for free!!).
As we understood your disappointment and the damage we had provoked, we were also willing to refund your travel expenses as you remember.
Moreover our guide had to “move on” because ( we realize you don’t agree) as a professional he was committed to the rest of the group.
We are really sorry about your troubles because of us, but we believe it isn’t fair that a one mistake should compromise the reputation of a hard-working, professional and reliable team. We tried our best to solve the problem but there was no minimal effort from your side.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    105
    21
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best Etna experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We had a great time during our excursion "Sunset on Etna" with our great guide Emanuele. He is a geologist and gave us a full explanation on how the volcano works and on its internal processes. We explored a cave which was an ancient lava tube and saw the craters and Etna panorama by the sunset. A small lunch with wine also included, that was the excellent time and we highly recommend the Etna Experience Excursions and Emanuele.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank robedentelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Our guide Emanuele was most informative and entertaining. We visited Etna, a lava tube cave and Alcantara River. Everything was explained very well. The food and wine for the picknick were very delicious. We enjoyed the trip very much and recommend it for a visit to Sicily/Catania.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasHaberkorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Vulvanology in a day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Had a great visit to Etna with Danilo and Emanuele who are graduate Volcano students and were so full of enthusiasm and knowledge about their subject. A traditional Sicilian lunch with wine was included and I would certainly do this again. Definitely the high point of our two weeks in Sicily.
I should say that our excursion was quite physical - a fair bit of walking uphill and the rides round Etna at high speeds in Land Rovers were not for the faint hearted. However our hosts took the trouble to ask (and remember) our names and involved us in an ongoing conversation about their first love - lady Etna. Don't miss this!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

If you go to Sicily, climbing Etna should be on your must do list. We did the sunset experience, which included a guides tour of craters, visiting a cave, a lovely meal with wine, and watching the exploding volcano from the distance. amazing! Our guide Paolo was a natural born storyteller and a really friendly and funny company. I would do it again!

Helpful?
1 Thank Grinmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Etna Experience Excursions also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 

Been to Etna Experience Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing