We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, so don't be put off by exterior”
Review of XX Miglia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
XX Miglia
Ranked #24 of 322 Catania B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We had a very nice stay at this B&B. The staff was so nice and accommodating. They have a lovely breakfast every morning. One day, some of us went off on an early morning trip that left from the train station at 7:00. Christian and Angelo got up early that day and made each of us a bag of pastries and juice to take with on the bus!

More seriously, one of our party got injured leaving a nearby restaurant during our stay in Catania and had to go to the hospital. Christian went with our friend and made many visits to the hospital, helping translate for our friend. Even after we had to leave, Christian is keeping in touch while our friend recovers and is able to return home.

The building itself is kind of odd, though. It's a long walk up without an elevator and there are many other apartments / residents that use a common entrance. Don't let the outside appearance put you off, however. The insides are quite nice, with modern furnishings and facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BianchiSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

This is a nice place to spend time in as it is very friendly and you can feel like being home. The service is very good and friendly also nice full breakfast with all sorts of different foods and drinks. The people there treat you like family and for what the place offers the price is well worth it.

We where sorry when we had to go back and we where told there was no place as other places we went too wernt as satisfying.

Best hotel in Catania

Room Tip: All rooms are nice in their different ways
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryanneDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights and loved it. As others have said, it doesn't look much from the street, or even as you go up the stairs. However, once inside it's very clean and well presented. Our room was spacious with a fabulous fresco on the ceiling. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom well equipped. I was very impressed that the very tall old-style doors out onto the balcony were double-glazed and appeared to be brand new, therefore blocking out almost all of the street noise, and light once the shutters were closed. There was an unbelievable array of homemade cakes as part of the breakfast buffet and the breakfast room itself is stunning. The hosts were both very friendly and helpful and the drinks and snacks available to buy from them at any time were cheap and convenient. There are hot drink facilities in the room and a flat screen TV. The only down side I can think of is that the corridor onto which our room opened was also where the breakfasts were prepared, so inevitably we were aware of quite a lot of noise from about 7.30 onwards each morning. It didn't bother us, but if you are a light sleeper and like to lie in you might want to request another room.

Room Tip: Noise from the street is minimal thanks to double-glazing, but rooms near the reception/breakfast pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This is a nice place to spend time in as it is very friendly and you can feel like being home. The service is very good and friendly also nice full breakfast with all sorts of different foods and drinks. The people there treat you like family and for what the place offers the price is well worth it.

We where sorry when we had to go back and we where told there was no place as other places we went too wernt as satisfying.

Best hotel in Catania

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryanneDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

The b&b XX miglia was a pleasant surprise. Apart from the building and the area, this b&b is very good. Hosts very friendly and available to help. Breakfast very good, above average. Comfortable facilities. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alsansil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed at the XX Miglia for 4 very happy nights.
The building courtyard and stairs may not fill you with confidence when you first arrive but don’t be put off - the B&B is an absolute oasis of charm and beauty and once you’re through the doors it’s a different world. We were lucky enough to get the room with the fresco on the roof. As well as the amazing ceiling, the room was nicely decorated and the bathroom was very modern.
The location of the XX Miglia is excellent being half way between the train/bus stations (pretty much in a straight line) and the main sites of central Catania.
Breakfast is excellent and served in the most stylish room I have ever eaten. It’s a great breakfast experience to drink your cappuccino and eat some lovely Sicilian cakes while admiring the floor to ceiling frescos.
Cristiano and Angelo are very accommodating hosts who take good care of their guests. Nothing is too much trouble. They can give you local restaurant tips and will let you borrow their computer to access the internet. They were also super helpful in looking up bus and train times and connections for us, going well beyond what we would have expected
I could go on and on about how good the place is because it made our stay in Catania such an enjoyable one but you should stay there and find out for yourself.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwikoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
568 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Casa Barbero
Casa Barbero
#1 of 322 in Catania
634 reviews
Centro Catania
Bad Catania
Bad Catania
#23 of 322 in Catania
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Miro
#5 of 322 in Catania
224 reviews
OttoMood Catania Centro
#2 of 322 in Catania
474 reviews
Etna Suite
#3 of 322 in Catania
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XX Miglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XX Miglia

Address: Via Monsignore Ventimiglia 99, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range: £39 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — XX Miglia 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic center of Catania, in an apartment on the third floor of an ancient palace of the late'800, is the Bed and Breakfast XXmiglia where welcome and kindness make the structure a real place of relaxation.The structure has three double bedrooms with private bathrooms equipped with TV, air conditioning, latex mattresses and internet connection for your laptop.The structure has also sunny terrace which offers guests the opportunity to enjoy moments of relaxation and to have breakfast outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your XX Miglia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
XX Miglia Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing