We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay in Catania!”
Review of Acqua dell'Arte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acqua dell'Arte
Ranked #65 of 317 Catania B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My family lived in Acqua dell'Arte while visiting me in Catania. The neighbourhood in not the best, but we are in Catania.. Inside it's very nice! Big rooms and bathrooms. The lady does the breakfast and is also very nice and can give you some advises for Catania.
I do have to say that there happen some bag robberies in Catania, but when people tell you to behave in a certain way, just do it. Don't take all your cash money with you on the street. If you leave it in your room, it's safe!! Best thing is to lock the door of the car and leave expensive bags at home. It's not that Sicily is more dangerous than other big cities, people are just very poor and if they see you have a lot of money with you, it could happen, that they try to steal it. Apart from that, you don't have to be afraid at all. I'm a blond girl and I walk around the evening all alone and no one even tried to do sth bad to me!
Another good thing of Acqua dell'Arte is that you can leave your car in the interior courtyard which is locked at night, but if you drive by car in Sicily you need nerves of steel! :D

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Acqua dell'Arte
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

My first stop in Sicily, this year, in April was in Catania, a lovely town with a lot of old buildings.Acqua dell'Arte is a modern sophisticated guesthouse with a splendid design, situated on the second floor of an old palazzo.Only two minutes walking from the historic centre of this pleasant city.
Spacious modern rooms with fridge, minibar,TV.Very quiet air conditioning.All was new and very clean inside: furniture, night lamps, towels, .Free wifi.The bathroom was fine, with hair drier and toiletries.The receptionist Michaela was exceptionally helpful and friendly.She prepared every morning a delicious breakfast with cappuccino, natural juices, delicious sandwiches..The owner, a beautiful woman speaking fluently English language was very flexible with the hour of checkin/checkout.
The bus station is in front of this guesthouse.
Unfortunatelly my stay was very short, just a night.I have a lot of regrets staying just a night because this place is an excellent base to explore Sicily.May be next year I will stay more days.

Room Tip: No lift, slippery stairs, but Michaela is ready to help you.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LELIA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We have stayed at this B&B many times because of it's easy location to Catania airport and all the action of the city center. Don't let the exterior of this Baroque building that needs a little TLC fool you...this B&B has an elegant decor inside, very clean spacious rooms, and a friendly staff make it a great place to stay and enjoy time in Catania. The Pescheria, Castello Ursino, Piazza Duomo are just steps away. If you are coming with a car there is parking in the gated courtyard. Highly recommended. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank countach570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Pros:

Good location within easy walking distance of the centre of city of Catania, bus station, close to the fish market, Piazza Duomo, Castello Ursino, etc.
The owner ( all the best to Mr. Giuseppe !! ) and staff are extremely kind and helpful.
Our room was clean, pleasantly furnished, comfortable, large and elegant.
The breakfast was good, into an verry nice room.
The B&B have only 4 rooms, so is quiet from inside.


Cons:

Bathroom was very humid and the ventilation sistem don't work very well, is hard to put fresh air in there.
TV lcd don't worked, some problems with the aerial antena.
No lift/elevator in the building.
Some noisy from outside busy street, in the night.

All in all, my final note is 9 from 10.
Recomanded !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Metalactual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My wife, daughter and I arrived at Catania airport on May 29th, 2012 and proceeded to the Avis rent-a-car office. We hired a small Fiat Punto Evo and drove to the Acquadellarte B & B.

We arrived in the street just outside the entrance and were trying to locate the exact location of the place when a man opened the right side rear door and leaned in and grabbed my wife's handbag. She was screaming but I was unaware that a robbery was taking place. He managed to take it and escaped on the back of a motor scooter with an accomplice. The bag contained all of our cash which amounted to A$3,000 + Euro 2,500 and all of my wife's credit cards, driver's license etc. etc.

It was a huge shock to say the least! Welcome to Sicily!

My wife and daughter made a police report while I called the banks and reported the stolen cards.

The operators of the B & B were kind and understanding but we did wonder if they were in on it all.

The room was comfortable and the service excellent. Just be very aware of your surroundings at all times....

We will never return to Sicily!!

John

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JKP634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

A wonderfully stylish and reasonable B&B within 5 minutes walk of the Duomo. Very friendly staff and the owners speak good English. The exterior is bleak but the rooms are palatial. Breakfast filled us up for the day and there are restaurants nearby [ not tried but looked OK]. We would be glad to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildbill_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The B&B is in a wonderful old building and has been totally renovated, whilst keeping many of the original features. It is in a great location within easy walking distance of the centre of the beautiful city of Catania. It is also possible to park in the courtyard of the buiding. Our room was spotlessly clean, pleasantly furnished, comfortable and quiet. The owner and staff are extremely kind and helpful, giving us useful advice about the city.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Centro Catania
Hotel Biscari
Hotel Biscari
#21 of 49 in Catania
182 reviews
Centro Catania
Bad Catania
Bad Catania
#19 of 317 in Catania
366 reviews
Duca di Uzeda
#72 of 317 in Catania
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
5 Balconi
5 Balconi
#12 of 317 in Catania
258 reviews
Centro Catania
Suite Inn
Suite Inn
#32 of 317 in Catania
271 reviews
Centro Catania
B&B Angel's House
B&B Angel's House
#62 of 317 in Catania
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acqua dell'Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acqua dell'Arte

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 46, 95121 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 317 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range: £66 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acqua dell'Arte 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placed in the Baroque hearth of Catania historical center, Acqua dell'Arte is an historical house, totally renewed, in a XVIII century building closed to the charming fish market, in front of the terminal bus connected with the airport (10 minutes) and the main attractive Sicilian cities. The B&B offers 3 double rooms with '800 decorated ceilings, furnished in a classic smart style, with private bathrooms, equipped with climatizer, TV and WI-FI connection for your note-book. Pc with Broad-band internet WI-FI connection is also available in the hall. Each morning to start your day the Breakfast is served in a smart and designer dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Acqua dell'Arte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acqua Dell'Arte Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing